The End of Us (Hardback)
  • The End of Us (Hardback)
zoom

The End of Us (Hardback)

(author)
£16.99
Hardback 352 Pages
Published: 22/06/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

The spectacular new standalone thriller from the author of the critically acclaimed Frankie Sheehan novels

'Brilliantly paced with constant twists and turns' Woman & Home
'A real rollercoaster' Prima

It all started to go wrong the day the Wrights moved in next door

Myles and Lana Butler live on a gorgeous new development in Wimbledon, leaning on a mortgage that is just within reach. When one of Myles' investments fails they are bound to lose everything.

Gabriel and Holly Wright have just moved in next door. The Wrights are sophisticated, ambitious and apparently very wealthy. At an after-dinner drink with their new neighbours, Myles and Lana share their worries and a solution is suggested between the couples. Life Insurance fraud. For a cut of the pay out, the Wrights would help them.

No one thought they were being serious. No one agreed they'd actually go through with it. And no one mentioned it would involve murder.

Then, one night, Lana doesn't come home.

Praise for The End of Us
'Witty, dark, unpredictable, well-written and with great insight into the darker side of human nature. A book to be devoured in one sitting' Karen Hamilton

'It reminded me of Hitchcock at his best. Tense, twisty, dark and so unpredictable. My favourite Olivia Kiernan book yet!' Claire Douglas

'The End Of Us is that rare book - beautifully written and impossible to put down. A dark, complex and nuanced thriller' Fiona Cummins

'I loved it - easily Kiernan's best yet' Cara Hunter

'I absolutely loved The End of Us. So clever, so twisty and so moreish. It was terrifically compelling. And that last line. Oh my. That is how a book should end' John Marrs

'Dark and twisty and kept me guessing right to the end. A superbly written tangled web
of utter brilliance' Joanna Cannon

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781529422009
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 560 g
Dimensions: 236 x 162 x 34 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Absolutely loved The End Of Us, it reminded me of Hitchcock at his best. Tense, twisty, dark and so unpredictable I couldn't read it fast enough to see how it all played out. The ending gave me shivers. My favourite Olivia Kiernan book yet! - Claire Douglas

The End Of Us is that rare book - beautifully written and impossible to put down. A dark, complex and nuanced thriller, its protagonist Myles Butler is a Ripley for the 21st century, rotten to the core of his luxury lifestyle, but impossible to resist - Fiona Cummins

The End of Us is exactly the type of book I love to read: witty, dark, unpredictable, well-written and with great insight into the darker side of human nature. A book to be devoured in one sitting - Karen Hamilton

I loved it - easily Kiernan's best yet - Cara Hunter

I loved everything about this stylish, addictive thriller from Olivia Kiernan. The End of Us entertains, it shocks, and it asks fascinating moral questions of its characters - and readers (my sympathies and allegiances were all over the place!) Beautifully written, masterfully executed. And THAT ending . . . - Caz Frear

A deliciously dark domestic noir - twisty, unpredictable and gripping - J P Delaney

A golden couple whose reach exceeds their grasp, and their new neighbours who suggest a deal-with-the-devil solution. Beautiful prose and a plot that tightens like a vice - Erin Kelly

Sickeningly good cat-and-mouse game of fraud with a spot of murder for good measure, in a bougie enclave of Wimbledon. Delicious right down to the last killer line. - Dom Nolan

Tense and twisty, this novel sits at the intersection of Hitchcock and Ripley - really enjoyed it. And that ending. Deliciously dark - Catherine Ryan Howard

Intoxicating, classy, twisty and just a total joy to read . . . I adored it - Charlotte Duckworth

The characters jumped out of the pages and the chilling twists just kept coming. - Nikki Smith

An unputdownable, gulp-in-one-sitting, utterly brilliant read - C S Green

This super chilling, heart-stoppingly suspenseful psychological thriller is not to be missed - Steph Broadribb

Dark and compelling, with complex relationships that reveal shocking twists, I was sucked into the world of Belvedere Court and its wealthy inhabitants, where the gloss of respectability is only a veneer. - Sam Blake

Compelling - Harriet Tyce

Kiernan's greatest achievement is to make Myles such a sympathetic character that his increasingly violent actions seem almost sensible. - Literary Review

Kiernan has delivered a standalone of style and substance. - Irish Times

A nerve-jangling thriller. - Woman's Own

If you love the old-style Hollywood glamour of films like Double Indemnity, this domestic noir tale, set in the contemporary opulence of a luxury Wimbledon housing estate, will do the trick. - Daily Mail

Strong characterisation, an unpredictable plot and an unexpected conclusion will keep readers gripped. Kiernan has proved she won't be confined to one genre and we look forward to what she does next. - Irish Independent

A gripping thriller - Bella

Beware, this psychological thriller is definitely a sit-up-all-night read - Woman's Weekly

It's a dark, twisted and satisfying read, which never lets up its pace. It's unpredictable, ingenious and brilliantly written. Read it. - Irish Examiner

Hitchcock and Highsmith would both have been proud if they'd written suburban horror-story The End of Us . . .You won't be able to stop reading. Each unfolding episode is unbearable. A bravura thriller. - The Tablet

Kiernan proves she's every bit as good at depicting the dark side of our interior lives as she is with her rollercoaster police procedurals. - Westmeath Examiner

Tom Ripley would see the narrator of this deliciously Highsmithian chiller as a soulmate. . . . - Telegraph (Best Books of 2023)

I really enjoyed this! Switchback Highsmith - Ian Rankin

I couldn't stop reading. Perfect for fans of Louise Candlish and Patricia Highsmith - Jo Callaghan

You may also be interested in...

I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
In Too Deep
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
The Secret
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
Damascus Station
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Fury
Added to basket
£18.99   £9.49
Hardback
No Plan B
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
A Heart Full of Headstones
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
The Running Grave
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
Past Lying
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
In The Blink of An Eye
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Murder Game
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Holly
Added to basket
£25.00   £19.99
Hardback
Verity
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Slow Horses
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
Stu Cummins

“Delicious slice of 21st century noir that packs a devious punch!”

I am a huge fan of the 1940s Hollywood film noir movement and I love a novel that captures that vibe and brings it into the 21st century. There’s only a handful that do it really well and Olivia Kiernan’s may just be... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

“I LOVED THIS BOOK!”

Thank you to the publishers for this early review copy. I'd not read any books by Olivia Kiernan before so I didn't know what to expect - but I loved it!
As I was reading I thought I had guessed it - please... More

Hardback edition
4 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 3

“A great plot - I could not wait to discover the ending”

The End of Us by Olivia Kiernan is a twisty psychological thriller that builds to an tense and unexpected climax.

Local GP Dr Myles Butler and his psychologist wife Lana live in an oversized house in an exclusive... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: