Widowland (Paperback)
  • Widowland (Paperback)
zoom

Widowland (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 28/04/2022
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'READING THIS TERRIFIC, ORWELLIAN NOVEL YOU ALMOST HOLD YOUR BREATH' Bel Mooney

An alternative history with a strong feminist twist, perfect for fans of Robert Harris' Fatherland, Christina Dalcher's Vox and the dystopian novels of Margaret Atwood.

'A TRIUMPH'
Amanda Craig
'CONVINCING AND GRIPPING' Elizabeth Buchan
'BRILLIANTLY IMAGINED' Clare Chambers
'TERRIFIC HEROINE' Adele Geras
'VIVIDLY IMAGINED' Nicci French

To control the past, they edited history. To control the future, they edited literature.

London, 1953, Coronation year - but not the Coronation of Elizabeth II.


Thirteen years have passed since a Grand Alliance between Great Britain and Germany was formalized. George VI and his family have been murdered and Edward VIII rules as King. Yet, in practice, all power is vested in Alfred Rosenberg, Britain's Protector. The role and status of women is Rosenberg's particular interest.

Rose Ransom belongs to the elite caste of women and works at the Ministry of Culture, rewriting literature to correct the views of the past. But now she has been given a special task.

Outbreaks of insurgency have been seen across the country; graffiti daubed on public buildings. Disturbingly, the graffiti is made up of lines from forbidden works, subversive words from the voices of women. Suspicion has fallen on Widowland, the run-down slums where childless women over fifty have been banished. These women are known to be mutinous, for they have nothing to lose.

Before the Leader arrives for the Coronation ceremony of King Edward and Queen Wallis, Rose must infiltrate Widowland to find the source of this rebellion and ensure that it is quashed.

'THE MOST IMPORTANT FEMINIST NOVEL IN DECADES' Jane Harris
'A VERY SMART REIMAGINED HISTORY' Henry Porter
'BRIMMING WITH CRACKLING DETAIL, A GRIPPING THRILLER' Miranda Carter

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781529412000
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 312 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Clever and steeped in historical insight * The Times, book of the month *
For fans of dystopian stories (think Margaret Atwood and Naomi Alderman) this one's a must-read * Cosmopolitan *
Revelatory page-turning reading * Observer *
Powerfully imagined * Sunday Times *
A richly imagined treat * Independent *
Scary, pacy and packed with period detail, Widowland is a smart, inventive imagining of what might have been * Daily Mail *
An absorbing, Orwellian dystopia that makes a good case for the subversive power of literature * Guardian *
Austere and low-key, Widowland succeeds when it comes to evoking the drab atmosphere of an occupied nation * Financial Times *
Hugely atmospheric, rich in the way it evokes an austerity Britain that's both familiar and, because of the possibility of a grim fate for saying or doing the wrong thing, chilling * SFX *
Carey's meticulously-constructed alternative Britain in the 1950s is a huge imaginative feat * Independent *
Chilling and challenging in equal measure * Woman & Home *

A "what if?" dystopian novel which will send shivers down your spine

* Red *
A heady mixture: part romantic thriller, partly a book about the power of literature, an alternative history and, overall, a chilling piece of dystopian fiction * SHOTS *
The power of words is at the heart of this terrific and sometimes terrifying novel * Sci Fi Bulletin *
Astonishing * Perspective *
Widowland is a cut above the rest -- Sam Baker * Noon Bookclub *
Reading this terrific, Orwellian novel you almost hold your breath, so vivid is Carey's evocation of a dystopia which (you reflect) was surely just a hairsbreadth away. The engaging heroine, vivid scenario and enthralling plot are underpinned by a serious political sensibility - one which turns an accomplished thriller into a warning. -- Bel Mooney
Widowland is a triumph. One of the best counter-factual dystopias ever written about what a Nazi Britain might be like, it not only equals Fatherland and The Handmaid's Tale but, by placing literary heroines at its heart, supersedes them. As witty as it is withering, as thrilling as it is consummately imagined, this deserves to be the bestseller of 2021 -- Amanda Craig
A brilliantly convincing and gripping dystopian vision. Fantastically detailed and assured, I read it with huge admiration for having pulled off such a terrific novel -- Elizabeth Buchan
Clever, gripping and brilliantly imagined - a brave, bookish heroine takes on the forces of a chillingly convincing post-war dystopia -- Clare Chambers
Widowland is a very smart reimagined history executed with plenty of wit, energy and originality plus there's a rather subtle message for today. Excellent! -- Henry Porter
Widowland is a fully-realised 1950s dystopia brimming with crackling detail, a gripping thriller and, at a moment when we're having to face our own Imperial past, a slyly vivid account of living under a colonial power -- Miranda Carter
A terrifying, vividly imagined story of a Nazi Britain that might have been. Tense, utterly convincing and, in the end, very moving -- Nicci French
Widowland is not just a page-turning thriller and masterful work of suspense. This book is also the most important feminist novel to be published in decades because it speaks as much about contemporary tyranny and misogyny as it does about the re-imagined past that Carey has so skilfully created -- Jane Harris
All Jane Thynne fans should read her alter ego C J Carey whose Widowland is fabulous! A very stylish and exciting counterfactual set around the coronation of Edward VIII and Mrs Simpson. Hitler is still alive and in charge. Rose is a terrific heroine -- Adele Geras
I am in awe at the author's imagination, her ability to conjure and so cleverly convey an entire world - it manages to feel both chillingly dystopian and utterly realistic. I love the details of the office, and Rose's flat, and her bus rides, but most of all I loved the description of the Oxford Widowlands, and the women who inhabit it - Viva the Friedas! -- Sabine Durrant
I raced through Widowland and absolutely loved it. C J Carey plays with history and makes brilliant points about literature and feminism. Her amazing knowledge of Nazi ideology makes the story disturbingly relevant to the present day. -- Kate Saunders

You may also be interested in...

Stella Maris
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
1979
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
JUDAS 62
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Magpie
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Night She Disappeared
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Rabbit Hole
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Appeal
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Verity
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Passenger & Stella Maris: Boxed Set
Added to basket
Nothing Left Unsaid
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Heron's Cry
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Vivienne O'Regan

“Powerful dystopian thriller set in an alternative 1953 Britain”

“Just imagine, if things had gone differently, it might be a different monarch being crowned next week. We could have a Queen Elizabeth instead of a Queen Wallis” - ‘Widowland’

My thanks to Quercus Books for an eARC... More

Hardback edition
4 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 6

“Changing books to change minds”

“Where they burn books, they will ultimately burn people also”- Heinrich Heine
This is a very compelling, but terrifying book to read. Set in an alternate timeline where England formed an alliance with Nazi Germany,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

“A great story, highly recommended”

This is a powerful and gripping alternate history, one of the best I read in some time.
The author describes a world where woman are valued for their body and age, they are divided into castas and according to their... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.