The Split (Hardback)
  • The Split (Hardback)
zoom

The Split (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 352 Pages / Published: 18/03/2021
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'The Split has everything I love in a novel. It's hilariously funny, it's so uplifting, and its characters are irresistibly loveable' - BETH O'LEARY

'Full of humour, kindness, cake and a cat, this is the novel to turn to in difficult times' - KATIE FFORDE

'A warm, funny, comforting read with such loveable characters!' - RUTH JONES

Brutally dumped by her girlfriend, Ally is homeless, friendless and jobless... but at least she has Malcolm. Wounded and betrayed, Ally has made off with the one thing she thinks might soothe the pain: Emily's cat.

After a long train journey she arrives home to her dad in Sheffield, ready to fold herself up in her duvet and remain on the sofa for the foreseeable. Her dad has other ideas. A phone call later, and Ally is reunited with her first ever beard and friend of old, Jeremy. He too is broken-hearted and living at home again.

In an inspired effort to hold each other up, the pair decide to sign up for the local half marathon in a bid to impress their exes with their commitment and athleticism.

Given neither of them can run, they enlist the support of athletic, not to mention beautiful, Jo. But will she have them running for the hills... or will their ridiculous plan pay off...?

A brilliant, heart-warming and intensely funny story of love, heartache, friendship and family. Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Dawn O'Porter.

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781529409819
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 569 g
Dimensions: 238 x 160 x 40 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Full of humour, kindness, cake and a cat, this is the novel to turn to in difficult times * Katie Fforde, bestselling author of A WEDDING IN THE COUNTRY *
The Split has everything I love in a novel. It's hilariously funny, it's so uplifting, and its characters are irresistibly loveable * Beth O'Leary, author of SUNDAY TIMES bestsellers THE FLATSHARE and THE SWITCH *
A warm, funny, comforting read with such loveable characters - and it actually made me want to start running again! * Ruth Jones *
The Split is an uplifting, warm and heartfelt story, with a cast of engaging characters who quickly became my friends. A feel-good depiction of love, friendship and family, which is very funny, but with moments of true poignancy too. An absolute must-read * Holly Miller, author of THE SIGHT OF YOU *
It's like meeting Marian Keyes and Dawn O'Porter in a cosy gay pub in Sheffield! * Matt Cain, author of THE MADONNA OF BOLTON *
Wise, wonderful and so much fun. I loved it! * Heidi Swain, bestselling author of THE WINTER GARDEN *
It was pure fun. Heart-warming and adorable * Julie Cohen, bestselling author of TOGETHER and LOUIS & LOUISE *
It's rare that a book so important to the literary canon is, at the same time, entertaining, heart-warming, and funny * Anstey Harris, author of WHERE WE BELONG *
I adored The Split - a hilarious but oh-so-relatable tale of how not to handle a break-up. It made me laugh and sigh and head out for a run * Holly Hepburn *
Such a lovely and heart-warming book. And it's hilarious! ... You'd be hard pushed to find a better group of characters to spend time with * Suzanne Ewart, author of forthcoming ONE MONTH OF YOU *
An absolute JOY from start to finish. If you're after a smart, funny romcom with characters to root for, this is one for you * Richard Roper *
Fun, sassy and a joy to read. I loved it! * Emma Cooper, author of IF I COULD SAY GOODBYE *
Guaranteed to have you chuckling, this is a book with heart * Prima *
This ferociously funny book about family, friendship and finding yourself will give you a warm glow * Red *
Perfectly capturing the agony of a break-up, you'll want to wrap them up in a hug, while eating a freshly baked cake * Heat *

Warm, wise and very funny, The Split is a modern romcom with characters you'll fall in love with. I can't wait to read more by Laura Kay

* Phoebe Luckhurst *
A hilarious tale of friendship and community * The Sun *
More than just a standard romcom but with gay characters, this nicely written, engaging debut squeezes in ambition, anxiety and cake galore * Daily Mail *
It's fresh, funny, foodie, and feel-good * NB magazine *
A brilliant, heart-warming and intensely funny rom com * My Weekly *
A very funny read * Bella *
A funny, uplifting and intensely human romantic comedy * Blackpool Gazette *

A heartwarming and unique story of self discovery

* Woman's Own *
Charming, funny and thoroughly enjoyable * Walthamstow Echo *
A brilliant, heartwarming and intensely funny romcom * BELFAST TELEGRAPH *

You may also be interested in...

Ugly Love
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Mariana
Added to basket
£13.00
Paperback
Birdsong
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Perfect Match
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Fire After Dark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Country Wedding
Added to basket
The Bane Chronicles
Added to basket
Love in the Time of Cholera
Added to basket
Finding Cinderella
Added to basket
Did I Mention I Love You?
Added to basket
Losing Hope
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Giovanni's Room
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Maybe Someday
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Bully
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
After We Fell
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

“A light hearted, laugh out loud read!”

Oh what a heart-warming read. I just didn't want to put this book down, a laugh out loud, light hearted read that you will not want to part with! 

Allys relationship is over, her girlfriend Emily has just split... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 22

“Fresh, funny, foodie and feel-good”

Oh my goodness, I loved The Split so much. I raced through it (a bit of a pun as you'll see in a moment) and I just didn't want to put it down. It's a brilliant debut from Laura Kay.

The book begins... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

“What a Book”

I really enjoyed this book and will defiantly be reading more from the author.

This book tells the Story of Ally who has split up with her girlfriend and takes the cat and moves back to Sheffield to live with her... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.