A Girl Made of Air (Hardback)
  • A Girl Made of Air (Hardback)
zoom

A Girl Made of Air (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 400 Pages / Published: 03/09/2020
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

A phantasmagoria perfect for readers of Angela Carter and The Night Circus, Hetherington’s luminous debut centres on a nameless tightrope artiste and the mystery of a child who went missing from the big top. 

A lyrical and atmospheric homage to the strange and extraordinary, perfect for fans of Angela Carter and Erin Morgenstern.

This is the story of The Greatest Funambulist Who Ever Lived...

Born into a post-war circus family, our nameless star was unwanted and forgotten, abandoned in the shadows of the big top. Until the bright light of Serendipity Wilson threw her into focus.

Now an adult, haunted by an incident in which a child was lost from the circus, our narrator, a tightrope artiste, weaves together her spellbinding tales of circus legends, earthy magic and folklore, all in the hope of finding the child... But will her story be enough to bring the pair together again?

Beautiful and intoxicating, A Girl Made of Air brings the circus to life in all of its grime and glory; Marina, Manu, Serendipity Wilson, Fausto, Big Gen and Mouse will live long in the hearts of readers. As will this story of loss and reconciliation, of storytelling and truth.

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781529408874
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 598 g
Dimensions: 238 x 158 x 38 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'A captivating tale of love and loss and finding connection in the most unexpected places' - Nikki Marmery, author of On Wilder Seas

'Hetherington tells her captivating tale from deep within the sequinned heart of the circus, with characters as darkly flawed as they are brilliantly talented. A Girl Made of Air is a poignant story of regret and redemption, brilliantly interlaced with magic and folklore' - Sonia Velton, author of Blackberry & Wild Rose

'Tells a story about stories in rich, lyrical magic realism . . . the language is elegant and beautiful and an atmospheric success in itself' - Starburst

'An enchanting tale steeped in circus legend - a truly magical debut!' - My Weekly

'Fantasy, folklore and funambulism tread an impressive line in this richly imagined debut. Hetherington spins a kaleidoscopic patchwork of memory and magic, secrets and lies, ideal for fans of The Night Circus' - Emma Stonex, author of The Lamplighters

'This novel had me under its spell from start to finish, each page conjuring up such vivid imagery that I was utterly captivated. Breathtaking' - Emma Cooper, author of If I Could Say Goodbye

You may also be interested in...

Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
The White Queen
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Lords of the North
Added to basket
The Boleyn Inheritance
Added to basket
Sword Song
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Grand Sophy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Leopard
Added to basket
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Emperor's Babe
Added to basket
The Red Queen
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
Rachel Bridgeman

“A Dark and etehereal fairy tale”

As a life long admirer of writers Angela Carter and Katherine Dunn, the hook of this novel immediately caught my attention. Who, as a child, has not wanted to run away to join a circus? But if your entire life is the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 16

“Beautiful, immersive and magical..”

This is the most beautiful book, both inside and out.

You'll find yourself completely immersed in the weird and wonderful world of the circus. The author truly has a way with words, her writing is full of the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 11
Dan at Cribbs Causeway Store

“Lose yourself in this must-read!”

Born unwanted into a post-war circus family, Mouse is abandoned to grow up alone in the shadows of the big top.
Until a mysterious stranger with glowing flame-coloured hair joins the troupe.
Serendipity Wilson turns... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 11

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.