Kiss the Detective: A Lefty Mendieta Investigation (Book 4) (Paperback)
  • Kiss the Detective: A Lefty Mendieta Investigation (Book 4) (Paperback)
zoom

Kiss the Detective: A Lefty Mendieta Investigation (Book 4) (Paperback)

(author), (translator)
£9.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 29/04/2021
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

An intelligent, atmospheric police procedural series for fans of John Le Carre and Mick Heron

"The most important thing that's happened in Mexican literature in the last thirty years" Gaby Wood, Sunday Telegraph.

Detective Lefty Mendieta makes a deal with the devil in a gripping new novel from the Godfather of Narco Lit

Short of leads on the execution-style murder of a fortune-teller, Detective Lefty Mendieta turns to his contacts in the drug underworld. They oblige, but there is a quid pro quo: Help Samantha Valdes, head of the Pacific Cartel, slip through the net of Mexican army and federal police encircling the hospital where she is recovering after an attempt on her life. Grudgingly he agrees, but then gets caught on camera during the escape and becomes headline news.

Fired from the force and on the run from the Feds, Lefty again seeks Samantha's help when he learns that his son Jason has been kidnapped in Los Angeles. There, he must come to terms with the woman who broke his heart, while contending with a thicket of conspiracies, feints and double-crosses that further blur the distinction between crime and the law. Betrayal is certain. To save his son, who will Lefty sell out?

Translated from the Spanish by Mark Fried

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781529403992
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 220 g
Dimensions: 196 x 130 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
One of the biggest names in Mexican literature . . . A true novelist . . . No-one has captured the exciting and passionate nature of the Mexican vernacular like him. -- Arturo Perez-Reverte.
If you are fed up with formulaic noir novels and looking for something fresher, Elmer Mendoza . . . could be the answer. -- John Dugdale * Sunday Times. *

You may also be interested in...

If It Bleeds
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Killings at Kingfisher Hill
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Troubled Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Darkest Evening
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Windsor Knot
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
People of Abandoned Character
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
We Begin at the End
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Night She Disappeared
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Good Girl, Bad Blood
Added to basket
The Marlow Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Appeal
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Therapist
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.