The Old Enemy - Paul Samson Spy Thriller (Paperback)
  • The Old Enemy - Paul Samson Spy Thriller (Paperback)
zoom

The Old Enemy - Paul Samson Spy Thriller (Paperback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 416 Pages / Published: 28/10/2021
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

'A timeless ripping espionage yarn'
'An up-to-the-minute political novel'
'Characters who become richer with every appearance'
Sunday Times Thriller of the Month

Heart-stopping international spy thriller from 'An espionage master' (Charles Cumming) starring ex-MI6 officer Paul Samson for fans of Mick Herron, Lee Child and John le Carre

Ex-MI6 officer Paul Samson has been tasked with secretly guarding a gifted young woman, Zoe Freemantle. He is just beginning to tire of the job when he is attacked in the street by a freakish looking knifeman. It's clear the target is on his back not hers. What he doesn't know is who put it there.

At that moment, his mentor, the MI6 legend Robert Harland lies dead on a remote stretch of the Baltic coastline. Who needed to end the old spy's life when he was, in any case, dying from a terminal illness? And what or who is Berlin Blue, the name scratched in the sketchbook beside his body?

A few hours later, Samson watches footage from the US Congress where billionaire philanthropist Denis Hisami is poisoned with a nerve agent while testifying - an attack that is as spectacular as it is lethal, but spares Anastasia Hisami, the love of Samson's life.

Two things become clear. One, it was a big mistake to lose the mysterious Zoe Freemantle. And two, Robert Harland is making a final play from beyond the grave.

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781529403299
Number of pages: 416
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Porter skilfully tugs the taut threads of his global conspiracy towards a stirring climax * The Times *
The story is complex and the sense of danger spreading across the world gives it urgency * Literary Review *
At once an up-to-the-minute political novel about an emergent second Cold War, a timeless, ripping, espionage yarn and a continuation of the lives of characters who become richer with each appearance. An impressive achievement and, as ever with Porter, told in an addictive blend of tangy dialogue and polished prose * Sunday Times Thriller of the Month *
Porter has an extra human depth to his stories that gives him the edge over others. Tense and packed with action, intrigue and great characters, you'll be hard pressed to find a better spy novel * Weekend Sport *
Fast paced, uber-topical thriller... a roller-coaster ride of a story ... Porter deftly mixes well-structured storytelling with complex, engaging characters * Financial Times Best Thrillers of 2019 on White Hot Silence *
Henry Porter is now one of the most accomplished practitioners of the modern thriller * Crime Time *
Porter is both his own man and the proud carrier of the flag first unfurled by John le Carre more than fifty years ago. British espionage fiction is the best in the world, and Porter is part of the reason why -- Lee Child
Enigmatic, pacy and international * Strong Words magazine *

You may also be interested in...

The Family Upstairs
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
Added to basket
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Spy by Nature
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Night Manager
Added to basket
Codename Villanelle
Added to basket
Joe Country
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Two Lost Mountains
Added to basket
Dominion
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Kill A Stranger
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Foreign Country
Added to basket
The Sentence is Death
Added to basket
The Spy Who Came in from the Cold
Added to basket
A Perfect Spy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Westwind
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Fifty-Fifty
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
TripFiction

“Spy thriller set in LONDON - WASHINGTON - ESTONIA”

Henry Porter has been compared with John le Carré – and with good reason. The Old Enemy is far ranging both in terms of its geographical locations and in terms of its characters and timelines. It is a complex book.... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Really enjoyable third book of the series”

I have enjoyed all three of these books. It's always a worry when you get to a third and you think it might not live up to the previous two but this really did. I would suggest it to anyone who is a thriller fan.... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Espionage thriller!”

This novel concerns the murder of a retired spy and the investigation of a company, Greenstate, which is involved in some nefarious business. Paul Samson, a former MI6 operative, is asked to keep an eye on Zoe... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.