Map's Edge: The Tethered Citadel Book 1 - The Tethered Citadel (Paperback)
  • Map's Edge: The Tethered Citadel Book 1 - The Tethered Citadel (Paperback)
zoom

Map's Edge: The Tethered Citadel Book 1 - The Tethered Citadel (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£10.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 08/07/2021
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

Follow a renegade sorcerer off the edge of the map, in a thrilling adventure perfect for fans of Scott Lynch, Brandon Sanderson and Sebastien de Castell . . .

Dashryn Cowl has run out of places to hide. The erstwhile sorcerer of the Imperial College fled the Bolgravian Empire when his high-flying family fell from grace, but the tyrannical empire is still hunting for him.

So when he gets his hands on a map showing a place outside the known lands rich in istariol, the mineral that fuels sorcery, he sees a way back to power. There's only one problem: it means masquerading as an Imperial Cartomancer (an instant death sentence) and finding some dupes to help him mine the istariol in secret, no questions asked.

But somehow, amid the dangers of the road (floods and avalanches, beasts, barbarians and monsters), a strange thing begins to happen: Dashryn starts to care about his ragtag followers and their strange odyssey into the ruins of an ancient forgotten civilisation.

But his past won't let him be: the implacable Imperial Bloodhound Toran Zorne has caught his scent, and Zorne has never yet failed to bring his quarry to ground.

At the edge of the map, there's no going forward and no going back . . .

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781529401929
Number of pages: 400
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
For anyone looking for a new sprawling fantasy epic to stick their teeth into, Empress Of The Fall is an ultimately satisfying journey into a fascinating and chaotic landscape * SciFiNow on Empress of the Fall *
Promises to recall epic fantasy's finest * Tor.com on the Moontide Quartet *
Represents modern epic fantasy at its best * Fantasy Book Critic on the Moontide Quartet *
A page-turning adventure filled with excitement and intriguing characters. For those loving an epic fantasy with plenty of sword-fights, gun-play, bare-fisted combat and battles between sorcerers, this book's for you * Amazing Stories *
I thoroughly enjoyed this magic- and quest-filled fantasy. I love the way David Hair writes . . . and the world he has created is a very solid one that holds the story perfectly * Dawn's Book Reviews *

There's a lot of cool stuff, ancient civilisations, magic, a heist, personal loss, love, and humour. I enjoyed this so much

* Alalhambra Book Reviews *
A fast-paced, entertaining read, set within a world that I want to explore more of * Beneath A Thousand Skies *
Hair is a talented storyteller and Map's Edge a satisfying and fun read, entertaining and rewarding that will sate the appetite of any fantasy lover looking for an epic adventure * The Tattooed Book Geek *
Hair fills the journey with enough internal and external threats that the pace never feels slow . . . an entertaining novel * SciFi Online *

You may also be interested in...

The Last Hours: Chain of Iron
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Mask Falling
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Tales from the Cafe
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue
Added to basket
£17.99   £15.99
Hardback
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two
Added to basket
Realm Breaker
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Piranesi
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
Added to basket
A Court of Silver Flames
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Starless Sea
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Added to basket
The Last Wish
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
What Abigail Did That Summer
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Added to basket

“Fun and fast paced”

I enjoyed this book and I'm looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

The author weaves together a whole bunch of familiar elements into a fast paced and fun story.

It's not a taxing book to read,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“This was a fast-paced, entertaining read, set within a world that I want to explore more of. It has the breadth and depth of epic fantasy, the action and excitement of a heist, and it has left me wanting more.”

I was first drawn to this book because of the title and cover, and that lovely, tantalising ‘At the edge of the map, there’s no going back…’ I am obsessed with maps and cartography, so Map’s Edge had me hooked from... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1
Neil Sharma

“A thrilling fantasy heist that you need to read”

Map’s Edge’s, in a nutshell, is this: A bunch of Otravians, Pelarians are led by Dashryn Cowl to find the ‘secret’ Istariol that has long been funneling the source of sorcery in this distant land. All I can say is... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.