Whitethroat - DI Nick Lowry Thrillers (Paperback)
  • Whitethroat - DI Nick Lowry Thrillers (Paperback)
zoom

Whitethroat - DI Nick Lowry Thrillers (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 448 Pages / Published: 24/11/2022
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

The third book in the DI Nicholas Lowry series, for fans of Peter James and Stuart Macbride.

It's November 1983 in Essex and there are reasons to be cheerful. Uptown Girl is sitting pretty at the top of the charts, Risky Business is raking it in at the box office, and there are now four channels on the telly. However, social tensions are beginning to bubble beneath the surface: Mrs Thatcher has embarked on her second controversial term, and the situation in Northern Ireland is ever-escalating.

Yet in the garrison town of Colchester, it's another deadly standoff that is hogging the headlines. The body of a nineteen-year-old Lance Corporal has been discovered on the local High Street, the result of what appears to be a bizarre, chivalrous duel. It seems he was the victim of a doomed army love triangle. As such, the military police are wishing to keep the matter confined within military ranks.

This is all just fine, as far as Colchester CID is concerned. They have enough on their plate as is: with DI Nick Lowry in a tailspin following the breakdown of his marriage, WPC Jane Gabriel exasperated by the male-favoured system, Detective Daniel Kenton relying on substance abuse to quieten his demons from his last case; and their boss, DCS Sparks, shortly to become a first-time father at 55.

However, it is not long before the blood from the duel runs into civilian police affairs, and the trail presents CID with a local rogues' gallery. A savvy entrepreneur. A wayward skinhead. A member of the landed gentry. And a shadowy Mauritian travel agent with a chilling reputation. Soon, they will discover, a real estate deal, a racist, and the town's Robin Hood pub hold the key to the killing...

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781529401110
Number of pages: 448
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Whitethroat is an intricate picture of provincial Britain in the 80s - Thatcher, Northern Ireland, racial tensions, drugs, skinheads. It's also a portrait of Colchester - an army-run garrison town of feuding squaddies and their secrets. Policing all that, & digging up past crimes thought long forgotten, is an explosive mix -- Paul French
Whitethroat is bleak, downbeat and mesmerising; a subtle, compassionate and beautifully written novel that is something of an elegy to a way of policing - and living - that is gone for ever. -- FullyBooked2017
With a satisfyingly labyrinthine plot, Whitethroat is a story of males in crisis: young soldiers plagued by the memories of Derry firebombs; businessmen with scores to settle; police officers trying to self-medicate for work-induced trauma. Then there's Lowry himself, lonely and adrift after the breakup of his marriage. It's downbeat and beautifully written * Guardian *
Brilliant characters that ooze with all the excesses of the age * Scottish Sun *

You may also be interested in...

The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Twyford Code
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Locked Room
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Flicker in the Dark
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Ink Black Heart
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
The Jealousy Man
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Bullet That Missed
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Undiscovered Deaths of Grace McGill
Added to basket
Give Unto Others
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Secret History
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Slow Fire Burning
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Trees
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Verity
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“Recommended”

This book was a weird reading experience because I struggled with the characters and the plot but couldn't put it down.
I wanted to know what was going to happen and I was not in the mood for this faulted and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“I hope there's a fourth!”

I love this series, I'm really hoping there's a fourth. The deeply flawed and human characters, great sense of time and place, labyrinthine plots, messy and complex like life....I just can't put them... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.