Evvie Drake Starts Over (Hardback)
  • Evvie Drake Starts Over (Hardback)
zoom

Evvie Drake Starts Over (Hardback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 304 Pages / Published: 27/06/2019
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

You don't always get to start your life over.
Sometimes, life starts itself over for you.

'Charming, hopeful, and gently romantic . . . Evvie Drake is great company.' Rainbow Rowell

One morning, Eveleth 'Evvie' Drake got up, packed her suitcase, and got ready to leave her life - and her perfect husband - behind. But before she walked out of the door, she received a phone call asking her to come to the hospital.

That day, Evvie's new life as a widow began.

Now wrestling with her guilt and grief, Evvie has found her independence, but not the way she planned. Unable to leave the house she once dreamed of escaping, it's clear to her best friend Andy that Evvie needs a change. And Andy might just have the answer. . .

Dean Tenney was a big-shot baseball star, until a bad case of the 'yips' meant he couldn't play anymore - or understand why. An invitation from his childhood friend Andy to stay in Maine for a few months seems like the perfect chance to hit the reset button.

When Dean moves into the apartment at the back of Evvie's house, the two make a deal: Dean won't ask about Evvie's late husband, and Evvie won't ask about Dean's baseball career. But rules have a funny way of being broken sometimes, and as a friendship begins to evolve, will Evvie and Dean be brave enough to let go of the past and start over again?

'A quirky, sweet, and splendid story of a woman coming into her own' Taylor Jenkins Reid, Sunday Times bestselling author of Daisy Jones & The Six

What reviewers have said about Evvie Drake Starts Over:

'You'll find yourself rapidly reading, wanting to know how it all turns out, and hoping for a happy ending for Dean and Evvie . . . do NOT miss this book this summer!'

'Joyous . . . I laughed, I cried and I thoroughly enjoyed this book'

'This book was an absolute DELIGHT . . . a story that is fun to read and has just the right amount of quirk'

'Just what I needed to get out of a book rut . . . such a heartwarming and uplifting read and so funny . . . You could not help but root for Evvie to find her way and her happiness'

'One of the best beach reads I've read in a long, long time'

'Tells a story of second chances with wit, compassion, and kinetic dialogue. Romantic and moving: an absolute joy to read. Five Stars'

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781529396393
Number of pages: 304
Weight: 422 g
Dimensions: 219 x 143 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Charming, hopeful and gently romantic. Evvie Drake is great company -- Rainbow Rowell
A quirky, sweet, and splendid story of a woman coming into her own . . . an absolute delight -- Taylor Jenkins Reid, author of DAISY JONES AND THE SIX
Holmes writes with an easy warmth about kind people who are trying their best but messing things up anyway. . . . A warm and lovely romance, perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell and Louise Miller * Kirkus *
A witty blend of romance and reflection . . . wraps you in the cozy warmth of small-town Maine and delves into the complexities of the human heart -- Helen Hoag, author of THE KISS QUOTIENT
I was utterly charmed by Evvie Drake Starts Over - a book that shows us that just because you're broken doesn't mean you can't be put back together again. You'll want to stay cozied up with these delightful, unique, and incredibly human characters long after you turn the last page -- Doree Shafrir, author of STARTUP: A NOVEL and co-host of Forever35 Podcast
Evvie Drake Starts Over is what happens when great writing, complex and charming characters, and a not-quite-what-you-expect ending collide, making this lovely novel much more than just another romantic comedy. Deeply moving while simultaneously hilarious, you will want to share it with your best friend, but keep your own copy so you can read it again and again -- Karen White, New York Times bestselling author of DREAMS OF FALLING
A sweet and sincere grown-up love story. Fans of grounded romance will fall hard for Evvie Drake and Dean Tenney, two broken people who help each other mend. Refreshing and real, with a huge heart. I loved it -- Georgia Clark, author of THE REGULARS and THE BUCKET LIST
Evvie Drake Starts Over is a warm, witty, and wonderful romance about the art of creating second chances-or a whole second act. Linda Holmes's moving, smartly written debut is so engaging, you'll be tempted to wish Evvie could start over yet again, just for a sequel -- Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan, bestselling authors of THE ROYAL WIFE

You may also be interested in...

Love is Blind
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Heads You Win
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
An American Marriage
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Good Omens
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The October Man
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
The Clockmaker's Daughter
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Lethal White
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Paris Echo
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Never Greener
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Past Tense
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Unsheltered
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“A charming story of an ordinary life gone wayward and then back on track”

I really loved reading Evvie's story and i think it's brilliant that these books confronting what it's like to be lost in the ordinary world are becoming more prevalent.
Evvie lost her husband at the... More

“Perfect Summer Holiday Reading”

Evvie Drake Starts Over by Linda Holmes

Thanks to Hodder and Stoughton for a proof copy provided in exchange for an unbiased review.
I was attracted to this story because it is set in the beautiful state of Maine,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.