Evvie Drake Starts Over (Hardback)
  • Evvie Drake Starts Over (Hardback)
zoom

Evvie Drake Starts Over (Hardback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 304 Pages / Published: 27/06/2019
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'I guzzled it up' Pandora Sykes, The High Low Show

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER A BOOK CLUB PICK AS FEATURED ON THE TODAY SHOW

'Everything a romantic comedy should be: witty, relatable, and a little complicated' People

'Effortlessly enjoyable . . . [a] pitch-perfect . . . adult love story that is as romantic as it is real' USA Today

It's been a year since Evvie Drake's husband died, but she still can't leave the house. Her best friend Andy thinks it's because she's grieving, and she does nothing to make him think otherwise.

Dean Tenney was once a sports star. Now he's a former sports star who has lost his ability to throw a ball better than anyone else, and he can't even explain why.

When Dean moves into the apartment at the back of Evvie's house, the two make a deal: Dean won't ask about Evvie's dead husband, and Evvie won't ask about Dean's failed career.

But as Dean and Evvie grow closer, could it be that these rules are the one thing in the way of them starting over?

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781529396393
Number of pages: 304
Weight: 422 g
Dimensions: 219 x 143 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Charming, hopeful and gently romantic. Evvie Drake is great company -- Rainbow Rowell
A quirky, sweet, and splendid story of a woman coming into her own . . . an absolute delight -- Taylor Jenkins Reid, author of DAISY JONES AND THE SIX
Holmes writes with an easy warmth about kind people who are trying their best but messing things up anyway. . . . A warm and lovely romance, perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell and Louise Miller * Kirkus *
A witty blend of romance and reflection . . . wraps you in the cozy warmth of small-town Maine and delves into the complexities of the human heart -- Helen Hoag, author of THE KISS QUOTIENT
I was utterly charmed by Evvie Drake Starts Over - a book that shows us that just because you're broken doesn't mean you can't be put back together again. You'll want to stay cozied up with these delightful, unique, and incredibly human characters long after you turn the last page -- Doree Shafrir, author of STARTUP: A NOVEL and co-host of Forever35 Podcast
Evvie Drake Starts Over is what happens when great writing, complex and charming characters, and a not-quite-what-you-expect ending collide, making this lovely novel much more than just another romantic comedy. Deeply moving while simultaneously hilarious, you will want to share it with your best friend, but keep your own copy so you can read it again and again -- Karen White, New York Times bestselling author of DREAMS OF FALLING
A sweet and sincere grown-up love story. Fans of grounded romance will fall hard for Evvie Drake and Dean Tenney, two broken people who help each other mend. Refreshing and real, with a huge heart. I loved it -- Georgia Clark, author of THE REGULARS and THE BUCKET LIST
Evvie Drake Starts Over is a warm, witty, and wonderful romance about the art of creating second chances-or a whole second act. Linda Holmes's moving, smartly written debut is so engaging, you'll be tempted to wish Evvie could start over yet again, just for a sequel -- Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan, bestselling authors of THE ROYAL WIFE

You may also be interested in...

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
The Strawberry Thief
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Because of You
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Home Stretch
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Utopia Avenue
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Leave the World Behind
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Mayflies
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Us Three
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Girl with the Louding Voice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Perfect Summer Holiday Reading”

Evvie Drake Starts Over by Linda Holmes

Thanks to Hodder and Stoughton for a proof copy provided in exchange for an unbiased review.
I was attracted to this story because it is set in the beautiful state of Maine,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 23

“A charming story of an ordinary life gone wayward and then back on track”

I really loved reading Evvie's story and i think it's brilliant that these books confronting what it's like to be lost in the ordinary world are becoming more prevalent.
Evvie lost her husband at the... More

Micky - bookphenomena

“Quietly fantastic read”

Linda Holmes took a story that was rather ordinary and turned it into something quite special. Evvie Drake was like many women, many people; she didn’t feel good enough, she felt the guilt of life and her past and she... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.