Birthday Girl (Hardback)
  • Birthday Girl (Hardback)
zoom

Birthday Girl (Hardback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£18.99
Hardback 352 Pages / Published: 09/06/2022
  • We can order this from the publisher

UK delivery within 3-4 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket

He loved her. He lost her. But he should never have written her off.

'Birthday Girl is a real treat of a book, beautifully written and perfectly paced, slowly revealing secret after secret until you're not sure of anything anymore - only that you have to keep reading' - Elly Griffiths, author of The Ruth Galloway Novels

Jonathan's wife disappeared more than twenty years ago. Now he's seeing her everywhere . . .

New York in the 1990s - impoverished writer Jonathan Dainty takes his wife Maddie out to the beach for her birthday. Hours later he finds himself at the local police precinct trying to explain how on earth he let his wife get into a stranger's car, and allowed it to drive her away.

More than twenty years later, Maddie is presumed dead and Jonathan has channelled his grief into a best-selling series of crime novels. As far as he can, he is living the perfect life.

Then one day he catches a glimpse of his dead wife, moving through a throng of people. Is Maddie alive? Has she come back? And why does no one believe him? As Jonathan attempts to uncover the truth, it soon becomes clear that the people closest to him are hiding something, something that could change everything . . .

The propulsive thriller from debut talent Niko Wolf, perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Blood Orange

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781529366655
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 560 g
Dimensions: 236 x 156 x 34 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A sleek, suspenseful story with characters so real you could reach out and touch them and a deliciously sharp sting in its tail -- C.L. Pattison, author of The Guest Book
Birthday Girl is dark and fiendishly compelling, slowly revealing secret after secret until you're not sure of anything anymore - only that you have to keep reading -- Elly Griffiths, author of The Ruth Galloway Novels
What a read! An absorbing and complex thriller that will keep you guessing until the last shocking reveal -- Sophie Flynn, author of All My Lies
A wonderfully taut and tense exploration of success in the face of trauma, Birthday Girl is a hugely compelling and thoroughly twisted tale . Masterfully written, this novel will reel you in and hold you enthralled as the layers of story are revealed -- Sarah Bonner, author of Her Perfect Twin
An unusual plot line and a terrific ending mark Wolf out as one to watch for the future... Her psychological grasp of what drives Dainty and how he deals with his grief is particularly convincing * The Daily Mail *
An utterly captivating, sinister tale * Woman's Own *
This intricate mystery ticks along with the smooth precision of a Swiss watch [ . . . ] The truth in the twist will take your breath away * Peterborough Telegraph *
Wolf is a screenwriter and the book has a tightly honed cinematic structure as it moves fluently between present and past * The Irish Times *

You may also be interested in...

Stella Maris
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Verity
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Flicker in the Dark
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Fatal Crossing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hare House
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Next in Line
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
The Appeal
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Undiscovered Deaths of Grace McGill
Added to basket
A Slow Fire Burning
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Jealousy Man
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Twyford Code
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Apples Never Fall
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Verity
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Passenger & Stella Maris: Boxed Set
Added to basket
Vanished
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Lighthouse Witches
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Birthday Girl”

Back in the 90s Jonathan took his wife to the beach for a birthday treat. He was intending to surprise her with a wonderful gift that he knew she would love. To say that things did not go according to plan would be an... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“A slow burn”

3⭐️

This literary mystery is a debut. It is set in the US.

Johnathon’s wife (Maddie) disappeared more than 20 years ago, he had moved on with both life and love, planning his wedding to Laura until he thinks that... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“Cleverly crafted mystery”

Birthday Girl is a slow burning thriller, one in which nothing is quite as it seems and that is laced with mystery and atmosphere from the very start. Jonathan and Maddie are on vacation, a chance to celebrate... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.