What Planet Can I Blame This On? (Paperback)
  • What Planet Can I Blame This On? (Paperback)
zoom

What Planet Can I Blame This On? (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 03/06/2021
  • 5+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Perfect job. Perfect boyfriend. Perfect life. But the universe had other ideas...

The funniest book you'll read all year! Perfect for fans of Beth O'Leary, Mhairi McFarlane and Lucy Vine.

'Utterly swoon worthy'
'Just great fun'
'Fresh, funny and fascinating'
'A stunning debut'

The stars are not in position
- and Krystal Baker is determined to make them fall in line.

It's Krystal's 29th birthday. This year:

* Her boyfriend finally proposed after six years of dating (only for her to find out he cheated on her for five and a half of them)

* She landed her dream job as a writer at Craze magazine (which swiftly fell into administration)

* She moved into her dream flat overlooking the city (just for the pipes to explode making the place unliveable)

As she mourns everything wrong in her life, her best friend mutters the dreaded words: Saturn Return. The time in a woman's life where Saturn returns to the position it was in on the day of their birth, 29.5 years ago, and, according to legend, everything falls apart. Krystal has never bought into astrology but maybe it's time to re-evaluate - because if the stars got her into this mess, they can get her out of it. And she only has six months to make things right.

Loaded with crystals, horoscopes, tarot cards and a carefully aligned chakra or two, Krystal's determined to have her life back on track by the time Saturn returns. No longer shall she brand herself a 'human disaster' because this time it's not her fault, it's written in the treacherous stars.

But can Krystal learn to follow her heart, not her horoscope?


Praise for Ellie Pilcher:

'Laugh-out-loud funny, brilliantly written and utterly swoon worthy, What Planet Can I Blame This On? is the book we all need right now. Such a fun read!' - Holly Martin, author of Autumn Skies over Ruby Falls

'Perfect reading for twenty and thirty-somethings, written in the language of failed relationships and the hope for something better. Wry, witty, insightful, fast-paced and just great fun, this is a fabulous debut. It represents so much of what people go through on the pathway to finding out what they really want. It's going to be a hugely popular read.' - Helen Fields, author of the DI Callanach thrillers

'It's rare that a book really makes me laugh out loud, but this one did. Krystal's sassy, authentic narration carries the reader effortlessly as she prepares for her 'Saturn Return' and delves into its meaning. I felt as if I were living her problematic life with her! I think I fell in love with Ryan a little before she did . . .' - Sue Moorcroft, author of One Summer in Italy

'A joyous romp into the highs and pitfalls of following your stars.' - Beth Corby, author of Leave It To Fate

'What a stunning debut this is! I loved the cast of Krystal and her friends. Throw in a new interest in horoscopes and an episode of Hoarders (I've watched the whole series during lockdown) then this is the perfect read, even if it isn't always written in the stars! An author to look out for!' - Catherine Miller, author of Waiting For You

'Fresh, fun and fascinating from an exciting new talent.' - Bella Osborne, author of Meet Me at Pebble Beach

'It's fresh, wise and hugely funny and real - a celebration of that tricky late twenties stage when you reckon you should have it all figured out - but definitely haven't. When neither your horoscopes - nor even your very best friends - have all the answers. I loved it!' - Fiona Gibson, author of The Dog Share

'Delightful, fun and full of laugh-out-loud moments' - Gillian Harvey, author of Perfect On Paper

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781529363722
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 240 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Laugh-out-loud funny, brilliantly written and utterly swoon worthy, What Planet Can I Blame This On? is the book we all need right now. Such a fun read! -- Holly Martin, author of Autumn Skies over Ruby Falls
Perfect reading for twenty and thirty-somethings, written in the language of failed relationships and the hope for something better. Wry, witty, insightful, fast-paced and just great fun, this is a fabulous debut. It represents so much of what people go through on the pathway to finding out what they really want. It's going to be a hugely popular read. -- Helen Fields, author of the DI Callanach thrillers
It's rare that a book really makes me laugh out loud, but this one did. Krystal's sassy, authentic narration carries the reader effortlessly as she prepares for her 'Saturn Return' and delves into its meaning. I felt as if I were living her problematic life with her! I think I fell in love with Ryan a little before she did . . . -- Sue Moorcroft, author of One Summer in Italy
A joyous romp into the highs and pitfalls of following your stars. -- Beth Corby, author of Leave It To Fate
What a stunning debut this is! I loved the cast of Krystal and her friends. Throw in a new interest in horoscopes and an episode of Hoarders (I've watched the whole series during lockdown) then this is the perfect read, even if it isn't always written in the stars! An author to look out for! -- Catherine Miller, author of Waiting For You
Fresh, fun and fascinating from an exciting new talent. -- Bella Osborne, author of Meet Me at Pebble Beach
It's fresh, wise and hugely funny and real - a celebration of that tricky late twenties stage when you reckon you should have it all figured out - but definitely haven't. When neither your horoscopes - nor even your very best friends - have all the answers. I loved it! -- Fiona Gibson, author of The Dog Share
Delightful, fun and full of laugh-out-loud moments -- Gillian Harvey, author of Perfect On Paper

You may also be interested in...

Did I Mention I Love You?
Added to basket
Entwined with You
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
This Girl
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Maybe Someday
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
After We Fell
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
You Had Me At Hello
Added to basket
A Country Wedding
Added to basket
After We Collided
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Mariana
Added to basket
£12.00
Paperback
Confess
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
After Ever Happy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Losing Hope
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Possession
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Bane Chronicles
Added to basket
Giovanni's Room
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback

“Cosmic fun”

This was an interesting look into the world of astrology through the eyes of the lead character Kris. I found her journey and deep dive into astrology quite interesting, although it became clear that she was using... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2
Natasha Leighton

“A witty look at the peaks and pitfalls of the 20-something lifestyle.”

“Could my life get any worse right now?”

Krystal Baker is turning 29 and has become the living embodiment of Murphy’s Law.First she finds out her fiancée has been cheating on her (for 5 and a half years), she’s just... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Hilariously funny and much to learn!”

Krystal Baker is having just the worst week when she discovers it may be down to astrology and what is set in the stars. Following her horoscope leads her on a journey of coping with what has been thrown her way, and... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.