Diamond: BEHIND EVERY STRONG WOMAN IS AN EPIC STORY: historical crime fiction at its most gripping (Hardback)
  • Diamond: BEHIND EVERY STRONG WOMAN IS AN EPIC STORY: historical crime fiction at its most gripping (Hardback)
zoom

Diamond: BEHIND EVERY STRONG WOMAN IS AN EPIC STORY: historical crime fiction at its most gripping (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 544 Pages / Published: 03/02/2022
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

*** THE SUNDAY TIMES TOP TEN BESTSELLER ***

'A brilliant historical crime read' Bella
'This thrilling and twisty crime novel is perfect for fans of Martina Cole' My Weekly
'A rollercoaster of crime, revenge and murder' The Sun

BEHIND EVERY STRONG WOMAN IS AN EPIC STORY...

In the early years of the last century, a desperate young girl changes her name and flees the confines of her brutal, dominating gangland family in London. Now calling herself 'Diamond Dupree', she goes to Paris to become an artist's model but the world there is different to what she had supposed it would be and she soon falls on hard times. When she manages to escape at the end of the First World War, she leaves behind her a mystery - and a dead man.

Back home in London, she reluctantly re-joins the Soho family 'firm' she'd once been glad to leave behind. Having grown tougher during her time in Paris, she soon becomes a force to be reckoned with, a feared and respected gangland queen. But then she meets Richard Beaumont, the youngest son of a wealthy aristocratic family, and sparks fly. But can she escape the long arm of the law and the hangman's noose, when the crimes of her past finally catch up with her?

For fans of Martina Cole and Kimberley Chambers, as well as viewers of Peaky Blinders, this is historical crime fiction at its most compelling.

'No one delves into the underworld like Keane!' Woman's Weekly

'A gritty and enlightening read' Yours

'Authentically gritty' Crime Monthly

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781529363043
Number of pages: 544
Weight: 791 g
Dimensions: 236 x 160 x 48 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A brilliant historical crime read * Bella *
An epic drama starring an unforgettable heroine. Keane...has a wicked eye for the ruthless, fiercely factional criminal underworld and her books never fail to pack a powerful punch... Every story that Keane writes transports her readers into the heart of a terrifying but addictive underworld, and into the lives of people of every shade... And this cracking page-turner is certainly packed with Keane's trademark cast of larger-than-life characters - each superbly fleshed out and each inhabiting a world so palpably real that we can feel the menace... Brimming with drama, suspense, cruelty and the kind of gobsmacking violence that has made Keane one of the most powerful writers in contemporary crime fiction, this is full-on, eye-watering (of every kind!) entertainment from start to finish * Lancashire Evening Post *
This thrilling and twisty crime novel is perfect for fans of Martina Cole * My Weekly *
Mills & Boon meets Peaky Blinders in a mix of heaving bosoms and cut-throat razors * The Sun *
A gritty and enlightening read * Yours *
No one delves into the underworld like Keane! * Woman's Weekly *
Authentically gritty * Crime Monthly *

You may also be interested in...

Verity
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Daughters of Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Black Drop
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Death and Croissants
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Not a Happy Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Slow Horses
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Khan
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
If We Were Villains
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Appeal
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Greenwich Park
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Line to Kill
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
1979
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.