Spin the Dawn - The Blood of Stars (Paperback)
  • Spin the Dawn - The Blood of Stars (Paperback)
zoom

Spin the Dawn - The Blood of Stars (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 416 Pages / Published: 04/03/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

A tailor in disguise. Three legendary dresses. The competition of a lifetime.

'An amazing creation!' Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars.

On the fringes of the Great Spice Road, Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land - but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. Then a royal messenger summons her ailing father to court, and Maia seizes her chance. Disguised as a man, she travels to the Summer Palace in her father's place to compete for the emperor's favour, and the coveted position of imperial tailor.

If Maia's ruse is discovered, her life will be forfeit. But if she wins, she will achieve her greatest dream.

Yet nothing could have prepared her for the challenge ahead: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor's bride-to-be. One from the laughter of the sun, one from the tears of the moon, and one from the blood of stars.

Accompanied by the mysterious court enchanter, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise, Maia's journey will take her to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined.

Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Renee Ahdieh.

Praise for Spin the Dawn

'Looking for your next big YA fantasy series? We've got our eye on this stylist blockbuster' Entertainment Weekly

'Spin the Dawn is proof that casting a wider net not only gives us a fresh story that feels unlike everything else on the shelves beside it but also allows for richer and more nuanced storytelling' NPR

'All the cutthroat competition of a runway fashion reality show and the thrilling exploits of an epic quest . . . a stunning tapestry of adventure' The Washington Post

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781529362909
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 292 g
Dimensions: 196 x 130 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Your next big YA series . . . We've got our eye on this stylist blockbuster * Entertainment Weekly *
Romance, artistry, and deep enchantment * Gregory Maguire, NYTimes bestselling author of Wicked *
What an amazing creation! Every time I thought I knew where it was going, I was wrong. This is a white-knuckle read! * Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Tempests and Slaughter *
Part epic adventure, part fairy tale, and part Project Runway, Spin the Dawn is a thrilling tale as rich as velvet and as exquisite as fine embroidery * Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl from Everywhere *
A stunning tapestry of adventure * Washington Post *
A fabulous fantasy . . . Sure to delight even the most jaded of fantasy readers * NPR *
Lim weaves an enchanting narrative, with all the magic of a fairytale and the guts and grit of an epic adventure. Diverse folklore, imaginative worldbuilding and a brilliant lead character who wields creativity as skillfully as a weapon - this is a gem for all lovers of whimsical fantasy! * Natasha Ngan, NYTimes bestselling author of Girls of Paper and Fire *

Beautifully written with a can't-wait-for-the-sequel ending, this breathtaking and
fast-paced Silk-road inspired fantasy from the author of Mulan-retelling Reflection (2018) is sure to enchant readers beginning to end

* Booklist *
With strong storytelling and characterization and a pleasing romance, this will have broad appeal * Kirkus *

You may also be interested in...

The Girl of Ink & Stars
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Serpent & Dove
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
You & Me at the End of the World
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Court of Frost and Starlight
Added to basket
Lore
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Curse So Dark and Lonely
Added to basket
Rule of Wolves (King of Scars Book 2)
Added to basket
Blood & Honey
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Heartless
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Coraline
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
King of Scars
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children
Added to basket
The Assassin's Blade
Added to basket
The Gilded Ones
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Twilight
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Mulan retelling steeped in folklore.”

As soon as the prologue started, I loved this book. I really enjoyed all the different elements that came throughout the story; from the growth of Maia to the endless culture and folklore references. 

Elizabeth Lim... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 14

“This read like a fairytale”

A unique twist on the Mulan tale we all know, with added Aladdin vibes which I did not expect.
Incredibly whimsical with our main character having to do a series of tasks but has magical help along the way.
The... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3
TheCaffeinatedReader

“Beautiful start to a duology”

With a beautiful start, this had my heart from the prologue. And I can’t help but want to completely and utterly root for Maia and contain so much faith for her! I enjoyed the story in its entirety but I really loved... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.