Agatha: The International Bestseller (Paperback)
  • Agatha: The International Bestseller (Paperback)
zoom

Agatha: The International Bestseller (Paperback)

(author), (translator)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 160 Pages / Published: 09/07/2020
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Set in 1940s Paris, this bittersweet international bestseller this is the perfect novel for fans of A Man Called Ove, My Name is Lucy Barton and The Guest Cat

A psychiatrist is counting down towards his upcoming retirement. He lives alone in his childhood home and has neither friends nor family.

Often, he resorts to drawing bird caricatures of his patients instead of taking notes. His social life consists of brief conversations with his meticulous secretary Madame Surrugue, who has reigned over the clinic for more than thirty years. The two of them have no relationship outside the office, where everything runs smoothly and uneventfully.

Until one day, that is, when a young German woman called Agatha arrives and demands to see the doctor and he soon realizes that underneath her fragile exterior is a strong and fascinating woman. The doctor and Agatha embark upon a course of therapy together, a process that forces the doctor to confront his fear of true intimacy outside the clinic. But is it too late to reconsider your existence as a 71-year-old?

'A shrewd, skilful tale of loneliness, the search for meaning and a place in the world, and the problems of truly relating to another human being.' Independent

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781529361384
Number of pages: 160
Weight: 117 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 16 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A shrewd, skilful tale of loneliness, the search for meaning and a place in the world, and the problems of truly relating to another human being. The end is sorrowful and joyful. * Independent Books of the Month *
Short but satisfying . . . uplifting. * Herald *
Charming, funny and packed with insight. * Irish Times *
Astounding * Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung *
A touching, subtle and gently funny story of rediscovering one's purpose later in life. * Bookish Beck *

You may also be interested in...

Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Betty
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Troubled Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Summerwater
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Mayflies
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
One August Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Castaways
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Lying Life of Adults
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Ghosts
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Healing the healer...”

Set in 40s Paris, an elderly psychiatrist is counting down the number of appointments to his retirement. His secretary allows a new patient against his wishes. He soon realises that Agatha is not an ordinary patient... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 29

“Calming and reflective”

A quick to read novella, following the lead up to retirement of an elderly psychiatrist, who is literally counting down the number of sessions he has left until his last day.

However, a number of relatively small... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 15

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.