The Lost Storyteller (Paperback)
  • The Lost Storyteller (Paperback)
zoom

The Lost Storyteller (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 28/04/2022
  • 10+ in stock

UK delivery within 5 days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

The captivating story of a woman attempting to reconnect to her absent father through a book of fairy tales he wrote and dedicated to her, Block's engrossing debut touches on themes of family, loss and mental illness with immense skill and sensitivity.

Waterstones Scottish Book of the Month for May 2022

The Lost Storyteller is the heartwarming and evocative debut novel from a stunning new voice in fiction, Amanda Block. Perfect for fans of Ruth Hogan, Jessie Burton and Diane Setterfield.

Rebecca hasn't seen her father Leo since she was six. Her family never talk about him, and she has long since pushed him firmly to the back of her mind. All she knows is that, once upon a time, he was a well-loved children's TV star.

But when a journalist turns up uninvited at her office, asking questions about her once-famous father, Rebecca starts to wonder whether there is more to Leo's absence than she realised. Then, looking for answers, she unearths a book of fairy tales written by Leo and dedicated to her - but what use are children's stories to her now, all these years later?

Tentatively, Rebecca tries to piece together her father's life, from the people he used to know and her own hazy memories. Yet her mind keeps returning to the magical, melancholic fairy tales, which seem to contain more truth than make-believe. Perhaps they are the key to unlocking the mystery of her father, the lost storyteller; to revealing who he was, what he went through - and even where he might be now...

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781529360806
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 280 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'A powerful novel about the bond between fathers and daughters, and how stories connect us all. I loved it' - Jenny Colgan

'I've been lost in The Lost Storyteller's marvellous pages... brilliantly written and high concept with a moving story and vivid characters. But it also has that special indefinable SOMETHING. One of my books of the year' - Tracy Rees, author of The Rose Garden

'Captivating, moving and profound. I loved it! A spellbinding novel about the power of the stories we tell both to ourselves and to others' - Tracey Emerson

'Absolutely beautiful... A cleverly wrought tale of fathers and daughters, and a bond buried so deep that it is lost to folklore' - Polly Crosby, author of The Illustrated Child

'The Lost Storyteller is a deeply evocative book about family and the redemptive power of stories, all wrapped up in some of the most beautifully affecting fairy tales I've ever read. If you like stories that tug at your heart and show you a different way of looking at love, loss, betrayal and redemption, you will enjoy this heartwarming tale... I loved this book' - Buki Papillon, author of An Ordinary Wonder

'Completely engaging... A lovely reflection on the power and magic of stories' - Marianne Cronin, author of The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot

You may also be interested in...

The Bullet that Missed
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Flicker in the Dark
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Ink Black Heart
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
The Island of Missing Trees
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Oh William!
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Fairy Tale
Added to basket
£22.00   £17.99
Hardback
The Paper Palace
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Treacle Walker
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The American Roommate Experiment
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Lessons
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Act of Oblivion
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback

“Captivating story of love, loss and finding a lost parent”

This book weaves it spell on you, dragging the reader through the mystery of a lost father (Leo Sampson) and a daughter (Rebecca) desperately trying to unlock the clues that he left her, some twenty years ago to find... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“A brilliant new storyteller has been found in Amanda Block”

Magical, emotional and unique, 'The Lost Storyteller' follows Rebecca as she searches for clues to the whereabouts of her absent father, Leo Sampson.

The mystery of Leo is beautifully woven into a set of... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2
Elite Reviewing Group

“A rare insightful look at mental illness.”

A rare insightful look at mental illness.

Rebecca Chase is nonplussed when journalist, Ellis Bailey arrives at her office – unannounced – he wants to trace her father, Leo Sampson. Leo had played the hero in a... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.