My Sardinian Summer (Paperback)
  • My Sardinian Summer (Paperback)
zoom

My Sardinian Summer (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 224 Pages / Published: 19/03/2020
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

A laugh-out-loud, poignant and uplifting ode to the simple pleasure and small joys in life. Perfect for fans of Gail Honeyman, Rosanna Ley and Ruth Hogan.

"A lovely feel-good story" -Lisa, NetGalley reviewer

"I adored this book... a wonderful discovery!" -Breves litteraires blog

How do you find where you're going, if you've forgotten where you're from...


WHAT READERS THINK

"A wonderful read" -Abby, NetGalley reviewer

"An ode to the simple pleasure and small joys in life." -Breves litteraires blog

"A real treat!" -RTBF

"A book full of light, sunshine and joy." -Lapresse.ca

"The writing is soft, luminous, and full of hope." -Blogger

"A delightful novel that celebrates the reading experience." -Tele 7 Jours


Giacomo is stuck in a funk he can't shake - and a translation he can't finish. When he's summoned home to Sardinia, to say a final goodbye to his dying grandmother, he's offered the perfect opportunity to escape.

On the noisy, sun-drenched island, Giacomo reconnects with long-lost friends and overbearing relatives, relives the childhood he once couldn't wait to leave behind, and rediscovers new joie-de-vivre within him. Never mind that he's making no progress on his translation. . .

When the time comes to leave once more, Giacomo wonders: has he fallen back in love with his home-island? Or has he been hiding from something which he needs the courage to return and confront?

But most importantly - is his grandma really as ill as she's claiming to be?

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781529351613
Number of pages: 224
Weight: 160 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
I adored this book... a wonderful discovery! -- Pauline * Breves litteraires blog *

An ode to the simple pleasure and small joys in life.

-- Pauline * Breves litteraires blog *
A real treat! * RTBF *
A book full of light, sunshine and joy. * Lapresse.ca *
The writing is soft, luminous, and full of hope. * Book blog *
"A delightful novel that celebrates the reading experience." * Tele 7 Jours *

You may also be interested in...

You Had Me At Hello
Added to basket
Finding Cinderella
Added to basket
Birdsong
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Bane Chronicles
Added to basket
Confess
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
After We Collided
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Doctor Zhivago
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
After We Fell
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Captive Prince
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Giovanni's Room
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
No One's Girl
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Safe Harbour
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Did I Mention I Love You?
Added to basket
Mariana
Added to basket
£12.00
Paperback
Love & Misadventure
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

“A pleasant read”

Giacomo is 35, is from Sardinia but lives in Marseille. He’s a translator and is currently working on an unpublished version of Moby Dick and there are plenty of Captain Ahab and Ishmael references in the book. He... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 18

“Hard to get into”

The description of this book made me intrigued enough to request it.
Unfortunately, the story failed to capture my attention enough.
A Sardinian translator travels back home to see his grandmother who is on her... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 15

“A good holiday read .”

My Sardinian Summer is the story of Giacomo a translater who is back in his home village as his Family are sure his Nonna is on her death bed .I found the story a little slow but quite quirky and humourous at times .... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 11

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.