These Violent Delights (Hardback)
  • These Violent Delights (Hardback)
zoom

These Violent Delights (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 464 Pages / Published: 17/11/2020
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

The brilliantly imaginative New York Times bestselling fantasy retelling of Romeo and Juliet set against the immersive backdrop of 1920s Shanghai.

In glittering Shanghai, a monster awakens . . .

A blood feud between two gangs runs the streets red, leaving the city in the grip of chaos. At its heart is eighteen-year-old Juliette Cai, a former flapper who has returned to assume her role as the proud heir of the Scarlet Gang - a network of criminals far above the law. Their only rivals in power are the White Flowers, who have fought the Scarlets for generations. And behind every move is their heir, Roma Montagov, Juliette's first love . . . and first betrayal.

But when gangsters on both sides show signs of instability culminating in clawing their own throats out, the people start to whisper. Of a contagion, a madness. Of a monster in the shadows. As the deaths stack up, Juliette and Roma must set their guns - and grudges - aside and work together, for if they can't stop this mayhem, then there will be no city left for either to rule.

Filled with romance, intrigue and betrayal, this heart-stopping debut is perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane.


'Heady, smart, and vicious' Tessa Gratton, author of The Queens of Innis Lear

'Deliciously dark'
Natasha Ngan, New York Times bestselling author of Girls of Paper and Fire

'Dark and beautiful' Emiko Jean, author of Empress of all Seasons

'A terrific, deliciously unputdownable read' June Hur, author of The Silence of Bones

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781529344523
Number of pages: 464
Weight: 700 g
Dimensions: 242 x 164 x 44 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A deliciously dark twist on Romeo and Juliet that feels vibrant, modern, and wholly exciting. Gong's writing brims with energy. I was swept away to her dark Shanghai from the first page and never wanted to leave! * Natasha Ngan, New York Times bestselling author of Girls of Paper and Fire *
Heady, smart, and vicious, These Violent Delights strikes every note with precision, layering romance and politics into a roaring 20s Shanghai of both monsters and monstrous imperialism * Tessa Gratton, author of The Queens of Innis Lear *
Chloe Gong's These Violent Delights plants a Shakespearean classic in the rich soil of 1920s Shanghai, allowing her characters to grow, flourish, and steal your heart while warring against their own * Joan He, author of Descendant of the Crane *
Chloe Gong does expertly what all the best retellings do. She doesn't simply transpose her source material into a new setting, she engages with the spirit of the original and in doing so crafts a story that is entirely and beautifully her own . . . I cannot recommend this book strongly enough * Chaipters *
Gong ensnares readers with a delicious tale of family rivalries and forbidden love all set against the glittering backdrop of 1920s Shanghai. Don't miss this dark and beautiful retelling of Romeo and Juliet! * Emiko Jean, author of Empress of All Seasons *
Full of glitter, suspense and gore, These Violent Delights takes readers into the perilous world of 1926 Shanghai . . . Chloe Gong's debut is a terrific, deliciously unputdownable read! * June Hur, author of The Silence of Bones *
Gong's debut is not to be missed. With a dazzling setting, a mysterious series of murders, and diverse, unapologetically criminal characters, this novel ranks with the greatest YA retellings * School Library Journal, starred review *
An unforgettable reimagining of Romeo and Juliet * ALA Booklist, starred review *
A lush, wholly original debut that will satiate Shakespeare aficionados and draw those seeking an engrossing, multifaceted historical fantasy * Publishers Weekly, Starred Review *
These Violent Delights is a phenomenal book and a wonder of a debut . . . Chloe has written star-crossed lovers/lovers-to-enemies like I've never read before, and if you love yearning, then trust me: you'll love These Violent Delights * The Quiet Pond *
A must-read with a conclusion that will leave readers craving more * Kirkus Starred Review *
This is the kind of book where I sort of just want to open my mouth and let the words expressing my love tumble out with abandon . . . I truly loved everything about this book * The Elven Warrior *
Gong's darkly seductive YA debut transplants Romeo and Juliet to 20s Shanghai for a gripping story of rival gangs, forbidden love and a plague that threatens to tear the city asunder * The i *
Filled with Gong's lush prose, These Violent Delights brings 1920s Shanghai to life, along with a romance that is weighed with history * BookRiot *
Stylish and engrossing * Popsugar *
The setting's brilliant, a city split by merchant colonies and divided into gang territories, in a country itself fractured politically and on the verge of revolution * SFX *
These Violent Delights combines strong characterisation, skilfully interwoven political insight and an atmospheric portrayal of a Shanghai in the throes of change * Guardian *
A rip-roaring, magic-tinged epic of cabarets and speakeasies, dens and divas . . . Gong's vivid Shanghai is a place to get enjoyably lost in * Financial Times *

You may also be interested in...

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Added to basket
Midnight Sun
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Christmasaurus and the Winter Witch
Added to basket
Six of Crows
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Ickabog
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Ten Minutes to Bed: Little Dinosaur
Added to basket
The Midnight Guardians
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Added to basket
The Desolations of Devil's Acre
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Serpentine
Added to basket
£7.99
Hardback
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
The Gilded Ones
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Dead or Alive
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Dragon Mountain
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Danger Gang
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback

“ADORED THIS”

No tagline for a book has ever grabbed me as much as:

"The year is 1926, and Shanghai hums to the tune of debauchery."

When I tell you I audibly gasped multiple times throughout this book, not... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Easily one of my favourite books in 2020...”

I think it’s safe to say These Violent Delights is easily one of my favourite books in 2020 and of all time. I was completely hooked from the start - between the blood-feud, the characters backstories, the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Stabby but romantic”

These Violent Delights is a loose Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai. Sold yet? I was. We mostly follow the perspective of Juliette Cai, heiress gangster, who has returned from America to Shanghai in a... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.