Memphis (Hardback)
  • Memphis (Hardback)
zoom

Memphis (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 272 Pages / Published: 07/04/2022
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Charting the story of three generations of women from a family in Memphis, Stringfellow‘s assured and evocative debut delivers an epic yet intimate history of black womanhood that is perfect for fans of The Vanishing Half and An American Marriage.

Joan can't change her family's past. But she can create her future.

Joan was only a child the last time she visited Memphis. She doesn't remember the bustle of Beale Street on a summer's night. She doesn't know she's as likely to hear a gunshot ring out as the sound of children playing. How the smell of honeysuckle is almost overwhelming as she climbs the porch steps to the house where her mother grew up. But when the front door opens, she does remember Derek.

This house full of history is home to the women of the North family. They are no strangers to adversity; resilience runs in their blood. Fifty years ago, Hazel's husband was lynched by his all-white police squad, yet she made a life for herself and her daughters in the majestic house he built for them. August lives there still, running a salon where the neighbourhood women gather. And now this house is the only place Joan has left. It is in sketching portraits of the women in her life, her aunt and her mother, the women who come to have their hair done, the women who come to chat and gossip, that Joan begins laughing again, begins living.

Memphis is a celebration of the enduring strength of female bonds, of what we pass down, from mother to daughter. Epic in scope yet intimate in detail, it is a vivid portrait of three generations of a Southern black family, as well as an ode to the city they call home.

Publisher: John Murray Press
ISBN: 9781529339239
Number of pages: 272
Weight: 460 g
Dimensions: 238 x 158 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Written with the grace of a poet, Memphis is as hopeful as it is heartbreaking. I fell in love with this family, from Joan's fierce heart to her grandmother Hazel's determined resilience. Tara Stringfellow will be an author to watch for years to come... A stellar debut' - Jacqueline Woodson

'In luminous, lyrical prose, Tara Stringfellow sings the song of the North women - and the North men - with wisdom, humor, and deep humanity. Memphis is an American epic, a tribute to life in all of its sorrow and joyful resilience' - Chloe Benjamin

'An evocative, compelling tale... Tara M Stringfellow assembles an endearing and unforgettable cast of characters who find strength in vulnerability, safety in art, and liberation in telling the truth. This is a shining, splendid testimony in the vein of Gloria Naylor, Delores Phillips, Ayana Mathis, and Honoree Jeffers' - Robert Jones, Jr.

'This vivid debut novel examines the tragedies, joys, and deep connections of one extraordinary Memphis family... A powerful family saga from a promising writer' - Booklist 

'This beautifully written debut will transport, challenge and transfix you... The novel is an ode to the city and the Black women living there. There's a great sense of the women's enigma and enchantment, humour and fortitude' - Adele Parks

'A stunning debut, a deeply affecting portrait of familial bonds. Rich with indelible black women and Southern charm' - Irenosen Okojie

You may also be interested in...

The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Sorrow and Bliss
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Khan
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Book Lovers
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Island of Missing Trees
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Paper Palace
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Oh William!
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Malibu Rising
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
Death and Croissants
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Katy Wheatley

“A Celebration of Black Women and Their Power”

I was utterly absorbed by this book. Following several generations of black women, Stringfellow weaves their stories together, flitting back and forth in time and between characters and events. This is a celebration... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 7
Romany

“An emotional ode to black women”

My thanks to NetGalley and the publishers for this advance copy in exchange for an honest review.

An interesting novel, at times unsettling, dealing with the lives of three generations of a black family. It is... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6

“A Strong Contemporary Saga Of Strong Memphis Women”

Tara M. Stringfellow’s debut novel focusing on three generations of a family living in Memphis could only have been written by a poet. There’s a voluptuousness to her words, a richness in description, an... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.