Nothing More Dangerous (Paperback)
  • Nothing More Dangerous (Paperback)
zoom

Nothing More Dangerous (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Paperback 304 Pages / Published: 14/11/2019
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'This powerful, unforgettable crime novel is a coming-of-age book to rival some of the best, such as William Kent Krueger's Ordinary Grace or Larry Watson's Montana 1948 . . . A must-read.' Library Journal (starred review)

In a small town where loyalty is valued above all, defying unspoken rules can be deadly. A coming-of-age novel for fans of Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter.

At fifteen, Boady Sanden dreams of being anywhere other than Jessup, Missouri. Then the Elgins move in across the road. Getting to know his new neighbours - a black family in a community where notions of "us" and "them" still carry weight - Boady is forced to rethink the world he took for granted.

Secrets hidden in plain sight begin to unfold. There's the mother consumed by loss of her husband, the neighbour who carries the wounds of a mysterious past, the quiet boss fighting a hidden battle.

But the biggest secret of all is the disappearance of Lida Poe, the African-American woman who keeps the books at the local factory. Although Boady has never met the missing woman, he discovers that the threads of her life are woven into the deepest fabric of his world.

As the mystery of Lida's fate plays out, Boady begins to see the stark lines of race and class that both bind and divide this small town - and he will be forced to choose sides.

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781529327069
Number of pages: 304
Weight: 369 g
Dimensions: 232 x 152 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Praise for Allen Eskens * - *

Elegant but chilly prose, like winter in the blood

* New York Times Book Review *
A taut, intelligent, heart-ripping story that explores the darkest places in the human psyche -- William Kent Krueger
Satisfying in every way. I loved it -- Lee Child
The tension builds to an all-stops-out finale that works on every level. Thriller fans should keep their eyes on Eskens * Booklist *
Gripping...Eskens tells us in an author's note that he started this book in 1991 and kept putting it away, never quite feeling it was ready. He can proudly pronounce it ready now * Minneapolis Star Tribune *

You may also be interested in...

The Marlow Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sanatorium
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Night She Disappeared
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Twyford Code
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Rabbit Hole
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Snow
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Devil's Advocate
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Twyford Code
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Verity
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Dead Man's Grave
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Appeal
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Last House on Needless Street
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Christie Affair
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback

“Aimed at young adults”

This is almost an effective coming of age novel and almost a decent crime thriller. It is neither as it lacks depth, is undermined by clichés and is fixated on sending simplified political messages about identity,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 11

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.