When I Feel Red: A powerful story of dyspraxia, identity and finding your place in the world (Paperback)
  • When I Feel Red: A powerful story of dyspraxia, identity and finding your place in the world (Paperback)
zoom

When I Feel Red: A powerful story of dyspraxia, identity and finding your place in the world (Paperback)

(author)
7 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 368 Pages
Published: 15/02/2024
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'I feel like I'm always ... last. Like I'm running to try and keep up with everyone but it's no good.'

April has always marched to the beat of her own drum, but would life be easier if she learned to fit in? Now that she's in Year 8, things have got even worse. She's much more likely to be trying to rescue an animal in need than worrying about who's dating who at school, which April just finds BORING. Plus, her lessons feel like they're in a foreign language, and it suddenly seems impossible to make it through the week without landing in detention.

As family worries and classroom romances ramp up, it feels like everyone around her is pulling away - even her best friend Ben. But when the pressure's on, can she find a way to fit in and still be true to herself?

An empowering follow up to When I See Blue about finding your place in the world from the inspiring author and mental health activist, Lily Bailey. Perfect for fans of Elle McNicoll.

'An authentic and tender look at fitting in when you don't and being true to yourself' - A.M. Dassu
'This is a vivid account of being out of step with your peers, not limited to discussions about dyslexia and dyspraxia' - The Guardian
'April is one of the best main characters I've come across and you will root for her with your whole heart' - Jennifer Killick

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
ISBN: 9781510109933
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 320 g
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

An authentic and tender look at fitting in when you don't and being true to yourself. - A.M. Dassu

This is a vivid account of being out of step with your peers, not limited to discussions about dyslexia and dyspraxia. - The Guardian

April is one of the best main characters I've come across and you will root for her with your whole heart. - Jennifer Killick

An empowering story...I loved reading this book...the book helps the reader to understand the difficulties that other people may face and that we are not all the same. I would rate this book 5/5 and it is perfect for my age group (I am 11) I would 100% recommend reading it - Books Up North

I read Lily's first novel, When I Feel Blue in 2022 and was captivated...it was a delight to see that Lily had written a book about April...When I Feel Red is the perfect book to build anyone's empathy skills...It is a powerful, heart-warming read - K & O: Bonkers About Books blog

You may also be interested in...

Wolf Road
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Lottie Brooks's Totally Disastrous School-Trip
Added to basket
The Last Bear
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Wrath of the Triple Goddess
Added to basket
Murder Most Unladylike
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
Cluedle - The Case of the Dumpleton Diamond
Added to basket
Skandar and the Chaos Trials
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
Diary Of A Wimpy Kid (Book 1)
Added to basket
Howl’s Moving Castle
Added to basket

“A beautiful, empathetic read”

A couple of years ago, I was stuck in a Teams meeting that I really didn’t want to attend. The woman leading it was one of those annoyingly over-enthusiastic types, whose forced jollity I found somewhat insincere, and... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“A stunning middle-grade read”

Firstly, I wish this book had been around when I was at school. What a a fabulous plot focussing on not being pressured into doing what everything else around you is doing, it doesn’t necessarily mean that it is... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“A great read for teens and pre-teens who worry about fitting in.”

When April starts year 8 at school, it seems like everyone else has changed and moved on to teenage angst and dating boys whilst she is still interested in Animal Rescue and imaginative play. Her dyspraxia is making... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: