The City of Tears: Exclusive Edition - The Burning Chambers (Hardback)
  • The City of Tears: Exclusive Edition - The Burning Chambers (Hardback)
zoom

The City of Tears: Exclusive Edition - The Burning Chambers (Hardback)

(author)
£20.00 £17.99
Hardback 560 Pages / Published: 19/01/2021
  • Save £2.01
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

The second captivating instalment of the Burning Chambers series finds Minou and her family facing ever greater peril as sixteenth-century France is plunged once more into religious strife and regal intrigue.

Exclusive Edition - includes a letter from Kate Mosse on her research behind the book.

Following on from the Sunday Times number one bestseller, The Burning Chambers, Kate Mosse's The City of Tears is the second thrilling historical epic in The Burning Chambers series, for fans of Ken Follett and Dan Brown.

June 1572: for ten, violent years the Wars of Religion have raged across France. Neighbours have become enemies, countless lives have been lost, and the country has been torn apart over matters of religion, citizenship and sovereignty. But now a precarious peace is in the balance: a royal wedding has been negotiated by Catherine de' Medici and Jeanne d'Albret, an alliance between the Catholic Crown and Henri, the Huguenot king of Navarre. It is a marriage that could see France reunited at last

Meanwhile in Puivert, an invitation has arrived for Minou Joubert and her family to attend this historic wedding in Paris in August. But what Minou does not know is that the Joubert family's oldest enemy, Vidal, will also be there. Nor that, within days of the marriage, on the eve of the Feast Day of St Bartholomew, Minou's family will be scattered to the four winds and one of her beloved children will have disappeared without trace . . .

A breath-taking novel of revenge, persecution and loss, sweeping from Paris and Chartres to the City of Tears itself - the great refugee city of Amsterdam - this is a story of one family's fight to stay together, to survive and to find each other, against the devastating tides of history . . .

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781509806874
Number of pages: 560
Weight: 812 g
Dimensions: 242 x 163 x 53 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'That rare thing, a novel with vast scope and ambition, brilliantly achieved, but also deeply personal, finely detailed and nuanced. I was utterly immersed in this spell-binding story.' - Rosamund Lupton, author of Three Hours

'A gorgeously written, utterly absorbing epic and, despite being set in the sixteenth century, has some very pertinent messages for our time about the evils of religious persecution and the transcendent power of love and family. In case it's not clear enough yet, I absolutely LOVED it.' - Lucy Foley, author of The Hunting Party

'This powerful story of love, secrets and deceit is pacy, rich and stylish - and as compelling as they come. One to stay up late for.' - Isabel Ashdown, author of Lake Child

'A vibrant sequel to 2018's Burning Chambers . . . The fascinating historical detail fuels the drama and keeps the plot zipping along.' - Publisher's Weekly

'Mosse's narrative lyricism, beautifully drawn female characters and deft journey from the past to the present day are a cut above.' - Scotland on Sunday on The Burning Chambers

'Mosse is a master storyteller.' - Madeline Miller, author of Circe

'A powerful storyteller with an abundant imagination.' - Daily Telegraph

'Mosse's fans will relish this tale of secrets, love and treachery.' - The Times on The Burning Chambers

'Another of Mosse's immersive dramas, which takes you to the heart of the past.' - Grazia on The Burning Chambers

'Gripping, complex and intensely atmospheric.' - Mail on Sunday on The Burning Chambers

You may also be interested in...

The Name of the Rose
Added to basket
Remarkable Creatures
Added to basket
Bring Up the Bodies
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
The Lords of the North
Added to basket
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Forgotten Legion
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
Tai-Pan
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Sword Song
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Doctor Zhivago
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The White Queen
Added to basket
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
The Siege Of Krishnapur
Added to basket

“Evocative landscapes and wonderfully drawn characters”

The City of Tears is the second in Kate Mosse’s Burning Chambers series and it really didn’t disappoint. It was an absolute joy to return to Mosse’s evocative landscape and characters. It’s ten years after The Burning... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 14

“Great historical fiction”

Kate Mosse is an expert in historical research and then reeling the reader into those lands of long ago and making them real again. This is historic fiction at its best.

I reread 'The Burning Chamber' just... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 11

“Superb”

Thank you to the publishers for this early review copy.
I was lucky enough to be able to dive straight into this as soon as I had finished The Burning Chambers and let me tell you this was an absolutely superb read... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.