An Enchantment of Ravens (Paperback)
  • An Enchantment of Ravens (Paperback)
zoom

An Enchantment of Ravens (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 15/11/2018
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
An instant New York Times bestseller!
An Indie Next Top 10 Pick
A Parents' Choice Silver Honor Winner

"A funny, action-packed, and sweet romance." -School Library Journal (starred review)
"A phenomenal read." -RT Book Reviews

A skilled painter must stand up to the ancient power of the faerie courts-even as she falls in love with a faerie prince-in this gorgeous bestseller that's "an ideal pick for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor" (Publishers Weekly, starred review).

Isobel is an artistic prodigy with a dangerous set of clients: the sinister fair folk, immortal creatures who cannot bake bread or put a pen to paper without crumbling to dust. They crave human Craft with a terrible thirst, and Isobel's paintings are highly prized. But when she receives her first royal patron-Rook, the autumn prince-she makes a terrible mistake. She paints mortal sorrow in his eyes-a weakness that could cost him his life.

Furious, Rook spirits her away to his kingdom to stand trial for her crime. But something is seriously wrong in his world, and they are attacked from every side. With Isobel and Rook depending on each other for survival, their alliance blossoms into trust, then love-and that love violates the fair folks' ruthless laws. Now both of their lives are forfeit, unless Isobel can use her skill as an artist to fight the fairy courts. Because secretly, her Craft represents a threat the fair folk have never faced in all the millennia of their unchanging lives: for the first time, her portraits have the power to make them feel.

Publisher: Simon & Schuster
ISBN: 9781481497596
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 247 g
Dimensions: 210 x 140 x 20 mm
Edition: Reprint


MEDIA REVIEWS
* "Rogerson ably builds this fantasy world through canny details and contemporary dialogue, allowing for an enjoyable read by fantasy and non-fantasy readers alike. She also craftily depicts the power imbalance between Isobel and Rook, offering a refreshing dynamic in which Isobel often comes out on top. VERDICT A funny, action-packed, and sweet romance sure to appeal to fans of Holly Black, Diana Wynne Jones, and Sarah J. Maas."
* School Library Journal, starred review *
* "Rogerson turns forbidden love into fresh adventure with danger, chases, a glorious ball, and unexpected narrative turns. Readers will delight in her interpretation of classic fairy themes and lore, and in the humor laced into the story...An ideal pick for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor."
* Publishers Weekly, starred review *
"An Enchantment of Ravens offers a beautifully built world and swiftly paced adventure with exactly the right amount of danger, heroics and romance."
* Shelf Awareness *
"Rogerson's deft way with words and world building lifts tension and interest to a high point. An excellent choice for fans of Holly Black and Neil Gaiman."
* Booklist online exclusive *
"Rogerson draws on fairy lore while changing myriad details to suit her story, and in Isobel she provides a strong, confident heroine who may lose her heart but never her head. No glamour is needed to make readers fall for this one."
* Kirkus Reviews *
"This fabulous, flowing read will engage readers quickly and many will not be able to put it down. The forbidden, romantic tension, fast-paced action sequences, and engaging narrative...will make this book a first choice."
* VOYA *
"The setting is deftly conveyed through dialogue and character interactions, thus avoiding any heavy exposition, and Rogerson keeps a nice balance between the development of Isobel and Rook's relationship and the action of the plot. The book's final clash between faerie and mortal is thrilling, but the motivations of the major villain have a touching resonance with Isobel and Rook's inescapable reality as mortal and immortal lovers. Fans of May's The Falconer (BCCB 6/14) will happily flock to this tale"
* BCCB *

You may also be interested in...

Dragon City
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Hunger Games
Added to basket
Legendborn
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.49
Paperback
This Lie Will Kill You
Added to basket
Shadow and Bone: Ruin and Rising
Added to basket
Dragons Don't Share
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Worst Witch
Added to basket
£5.99
Paperback
A Court of Wings and Ruin
Added to basket
We're Going on a Bear Hunt
Added to basket
Funnybones
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
As Good As Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Girl in Pieces
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Supertato: Bubbly Troubly
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Sophie Elaina

“One of the most beautifully written books that I have ever had the pleasure of reading!”

An Enchantment of Ravens is possibly one of the most beautifully written books that I have ever had the pleasure of reading. I can't get over what an wonderful experience reading this book was. It was so magical... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 10
Ashleigh

“A fun fantasy read!”

This was such a fun read! Which...isn't the word I'd usually choose for fantasy reads, because while I find them "fun" in the sense that I love to read them, they're often a touch too dark for... More

Paperback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Think ACOTAR”

I really liked this book, its a good quick read.
Based around the fair folk and humans it's interesting and a slightly different take then most of these usual stories. It was beautifully written and i liked the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.