Lake Life: A Novel (Paperback)
  • Lake Life: A Novel (Paperback)
zoom

Lake Life: A Novel (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 304 Pages / Published: 02/09/2021
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket
From the award-winning author of the acclaimed story collection The Heaven of Animals, called "a wise debut...beautiful [stories] with a rogue touch" (The New York Times Book Review), comes a sweeping, domestic novel about a family that reunites at their North Carolina lake house for one last vacation before the home is sold-and the long-buried secrets that are finally revealed.

The Starling family is scattered across the country. Parents Richard and Lisa live in Ithaca, New York, and work at Cornell University. Their son Michael, a salesperson, lives in Dallas with his elementary school teacher wife, Diane. Michael's brother, Thad, an aspiring poet, makes his home in New York City with his famous painter boyfriend, Jake. For years they've traveled to North Carolina to share a summer vacation at the family lake house.

That tradition is coming to an end, as Richard and Lisa have decided to sell the treasured summer home and retire to Florida. Before they do, the family will spend one last weekend at the lake. But what should to be a joyous farewell takes a nightmarish turn when the family witnesses a tragedy that triggers a series of dramatic revelations among the Starlings-alcoholism, infidelity, pregnancy, and a secret the parents have kept from their sons for over thirty years. As the weekend unfolds, relationships fray, bonds are tested, and the Starlings are forced to reckon with who they are and what they want from this life.

Set in today's America, Lake Life is a beautifully rendered, emotionally compelling novel in the tradition of Jonathan Franzen's The Corrections, Elizabeth Strout's Olive Kitteridge, and Ann Patchett's Commonwealth.

Publisher: Simon & Schuster
ISBN: 9781476730004
Number of pages: 304
Dimensions: 203 x 133 x 19 mm

You may also be interested in...

Sorrow and Bliss
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
Utopia Avenue
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Girl with the Louding Voice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Freed
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Missing Sister
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Strawberry Thief
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Exciting Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.