The Anniversary (Paperback)
  • The Anniversary (Paperback)
zoom

The Anniversary (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 432 Pages
Published: 30/05/2024
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Building an atmosphere of deliciously ominous dread, Bishop's masterly psychological thriller revolves around the shifting power dynamic between an up-and-coming young author and her older film director husband as they enjoy a wedding anniversary cruise.

Novelist J.B. Blackwood is on a cruise with her husband, Patrick, to celebrate their wedding anniversary. Patrick is older than J.B., a revered film director and formerly her professor. J.B's art has been forever overseen by him, now it may overshadow his.

For days they sail in the sun, with nothing but dark water all around them. Then a storm hits, and Patrick falls off the ship.

J.B. is left alone, as the search for what happened to Patrick - and the truth about their marriage - begins.

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781474626156
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 300 g
Dimensions: 196 x 130 x 34 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

The Anniversary is a haunting mystery, sophisticated, subtle and subversive. Bishop considers the discipline, scrupulous and otherwise, required to make a marriage, as well as to make art, capturing the longing and the disappointment inherent in the attempt to make one's self known to others. - Susanna Moore, author of IN THE CUT

The Anniversary is a disquieting, stunning book about marriage, art, power and creativity. - Anna Bonet, THE I PAPER

As clever as it is delicious. A masterclass in layered sophistication . . . The Anniversary is a fully-realised literary achievement. From its sensuous sentences to its thrilling genre-craft to its timely cultural provocations. It is a book that could be read under a beach umbrella or in a university classroom - 2024 Stella Prize Judges

The Anniversary is a compulsive yet redemptive book layered with nuances that will have those new to Bishop's work hunting out her backlist. - Susie Mesure, FINANCIAL TIMES

In The Anniversary Stephanie Bishop expertly and mercilessly builds an atmosphere of intense uncertainty and threat. You won't want to put it down. - Chris Power, author of MOTHERS

Dangerously readable . . . If only all literary novels were this engaging and this perceptive about human nature - Alexander Larman, THE OBSERVER

Electrifying - Claire Lowdon, SUNDAY TIMES

With a unique style and descriptions so real you can feel the salt-spray drift from the page, The Anniversary draws you in. Addictive and dynamic. - Charlotte Roberts, HEAT MAGAZINE

The dread that slowly creeps into your bones while reading The Anniversary is difficult to shake off, yet you cannot look away. I revelled in every bit of this astute, compelling, psychological novel. - Virginia Feito, author of MRS MARCH

The sense of foreboding increases as the narrative progresses and I found it impossible to put down. It's excellent on how a partner's resentment can grow until it explodes as if from nowhere. It's also wonderful on writing itself and how our protagonists both enable and block each other's process. I adored it. - Sara Lawrence, DAILY MAIL

Nothing in this exquisitely twisted tale is quite what it seems. But though the cool, sharp, disenchanted narrator is not to be trusted, one thing about her is for real - her ability to say things so witty and so pungently true I kept turning down pages to mark them. If I kept a commonplace book I would have filled it with lines from this compelling novel about creativity and its discontents - Lucy Hughes-Hallett, author of THE PIKE

I very much enjoyed The Anniversary. It put me in mind of Gone Girl and of Fleishman Is in Trouble too. It nails so much about how ruthless a writer of fiction needs to be both in relation to life and material - Polly Samson, author of A THEATRE FOR DREAMERS

Such a stylish, incisive novel, tight with suspense and powerful insight. I loved it and will be recommending it far and wide - Megan Hunter, author of THE END WE START FROM

Tense, elegant, sensuous. - Niamh Campbell, author of WE WERE YOUNG

Exquisite, profound, and utterly exhilarating: The Anniversary is a stunning achievement. - Mark Brandi, author of WIMMERA

I absolutely loved THE ANNIVERSARY, with its very rare combination of elegance and tension. The dark yet subtle sense of foreboding draws you into the story so cleverly. Magnificent writing that is utterly compelling - Joanna Cannon, author of THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP

Very addictive and so smart - a fever dream about a writer getting everything they want and living out all their nightmares at the same time - Rebecca May Johnson, author of SMALL FIRES

I absolutely loved The Anniversary, a literary thriller that is simultaneously addictive, compelling, and deeply clever - Cathy Rentzenbrink, author of EVERYONE IS STILL ALIVE

Stephanie Bishop's The Anniversary is literature at its very, very best - her talent shimmers off every single page, her prose is exquisite and her observations about the complexities and competitiveness of intimate relationships, the chaos of the human condition and the inexorable tension between love, family, creativity and art-making are second to none. This novel is an absolute triumph in every respect - Lucia Osborne-Crowley, author of MY BODY KEEPS YOUR SECRETS

Compelling and dark, a psychological thriller that makes you want to peel back the pages . . . The Anniversary lives up to the hype. For fans of Rachel Cusk and Siri Hustvedt - Books + Publishing

Stephanie Bishop's novel The Anniversary is seductive, mysterious, and fiercely intelligent. Bishop peels back, with great insight and artistry, layer after layer of her character's psyche, laying bare the singular pleasures and secret resentments at the centre of any marriage, any life. This is a book to be savoured for its elegant sentences and psychological depth, but you'll be hard-pressed not to devour it in a few voracious sittings. - Sara Freeman, author of TIDES

It is intelligent and literary in the best sense of the word: fluent in style, self-aware in its deployment of genre... in the metaphysical reach of this book, the writer I kept thinking of was Iris Murdoch - Weekend Australian

Absolutely addictive. When reading The Anniversary, I found myself forgetting who I am or where I was. Only art that exudes brilliance can conjure this state - Szilvia Molnar, author of THE NURSERY

Tense, elegant, sensuous - Niamh Campbell, author of WE WERE YOUNG

'The dread that slowly creeps into your bones while reading The Anniversary is difficult to shake off, yet you cannot look away. I revelled in every bit of this astute, compelling, psychological novel. - Virginia Feito, author of MRS MARCH

You may also be interested in...

Close to Home
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Ferryman
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Housemaid
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
You Like It Darker
Added to basket
£25.00   £12.50
Hardback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Kairos
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Happy Place
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Bee Sting
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Guest
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Little Life
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Long Island
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Yellowface
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“A bit longwinded in places”

Thanks to PH for letting me read this book. Unfortunately, I found it quite challenging to read given the author’s tendency to what I found long-winding and introspective pages which distracted me from the story. I... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

“Plenty of frills but no thrills.”

The Anniversary is the fourth novel by award-winning Australian author, Stephanie Bishop. After a decade and a half of writing, Lucie Blackwood is about to win a prestigious literary award. But, as she and her husband... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: