A Funny Thing Happened On The Way: Discover the 1960s trend for buying land on a Greek island and building a house. How hard could it be...? (Paperback)
  • A Funny Thing Happened On The Way: Discover the 1960s trend for buying land on a Greek island and building a house. How hard could it be...? (Paperback)
zoom

A Funny Thing Happened On The Way: Discover the 1960s trend for buying land on a Greek island and building a house. How hard could it be...? (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 288 Pages / Published: 12/08/2021
  • In stock

UK delivery within 5 days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

The superb classic memoir from a dazzlingly eccentric and endlessly fascinating author and feminist icon - a woman very much ahead of her time - including her time spent on the glorious island of Skiathos

'A happy, hilarious book' Daily Express

Nancy Spain was one of the most celebrated - and notorious - writers and broadcasters of the 50s and 60s. Witty, controversial and brilliant, she lived openly as a lesbian (sharing a household with her two lovers and their various children) and was frequently litigated against for her newspaper columns - Evelyn Waugh successfully sued her for libel... twice.

Nancy Spain had a deep love of the Mediterranean. So it was no surprise when, in the 1960s, she decided to build a place of her own on the Greek island of Skiathos. With an impractical nature surpassed only by her passion for the project, and despite many obstacles, she gloriously succeeded. This classic memoir is infused with all Spain's chaotic brilliance, zest for life and single-minded pursuit of a life worth living.

Perfect for fans of A PLACE IN THE SUN and ESCAPE TO THE COUNTRY

'Full of fun, and that zest of intelligence that never left her' Sunday Times

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781474618656
Number of pages: 288
Weight: 257 g
Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Full of fun, and that zest of intelligence that never left her after she had become famous and a "name" ... Sharing her own feelings of happiness was Nancy's art and privilege, a rare one in this day and place * SUNDAY TIMES *
It is a happy, hilarious book ... N Spain, as she liked to call herself, loved to make people laugh, very often at herself * DAILY EXPRESS *
Rumbustiously she rattles from childhood memories to TV gossip, anecdote, wisecrack, name-dropping and travelogue ... a high-spirited projection of the admired and lamented image * DAILY TELEGRAPH *
Nancy's great qualities were her zest for life and her warm, North-country heart * TATLER *
Have you ever read a book with this for a side-heading to a chapter: "put that angel down, you don't know where she's been"? No? Well, start right now * ILLUSTRATED LONDON NEWS *
A gay, generous autobiography-cum-travel book which the author finished only a few hours before her tragic last flight * SUNDAY EXPRESS *
Some people thought her merely bohemian, but others were grateful to have so engaging a role-model * INDEPENDENT *
As funny and warm and clever as Nancy herself. You can hear her voice in every line -- Frank Muir and Denis Norden

You may also be interested in...

Orwell's Roses
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Confessions
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
I Wanna Be Yours
Added to basket
Terry Pratchett: A Life With Footnotes
Added to basket
Walden
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Agatha Christie
Added to basket
£25.00
Hardback
Jane Austen Playing Cards
Added to basket
The Year of Magical Thinking
Added to basket
Free
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Back in the Day
Added to basket
£25.00   £22.99
Hardback
Terry Pratchett: A Life With Footnotes
Added to basket
On Writing
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Life Inside
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Agatha Christie
Added to basket
£25.00   £21.99
Hardback
Eve Bites Back
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Katy Wheatley

“Let Me Introduce You To the Mad World of Nancy Spain”

I was given this as a Netgalley proof for review. I discovered Nancy Spain several years ago when my mum gave me one of her celebrity cookery books as a joke gift. It was hilarious and brilliant and I enjoyed it so... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.