The Camel Bookmobile (Paperback)
  • The Camel Bookmobile (Paperback)
zoom

The Camel Bookmobile (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 09/01/2020
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

A superb novel of a travelling library, the Kenyan landscape - and the threat to a fragile way of life.
Perfect for fans of Alexander McCall Smith

Deep in the heart of the dusty Kenyan desert a train of heavily laden camels wind their way slowly through the bush. The camels are not carrying grain or medical supplies, but books of every imaginable variety.

Into the remote nomadic settlement of Mididima comes an unexpected wealth of literature - tips for surviving an avalanche, the adventures of Tom Sawyer, vegetarian cookbooks - and all are eagerly devoured under the blazing Kenyan sunshine.

Volunteer Fi Sweeney, her heart filled with passion and possibilities, is surprised to discover that the project divides friends and neighbours. To Kanika, who reads every book she can lay her hands on, the Camel Bookmobile brings hope. But to some it represents the inevitable destruction of a fragile way of life ...

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781474615754
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 240 g
Dimensions: 198 x 128 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Hamilton vividly sketches the landscape of Africa ... the novel's greatest strength is in the way it puts forward a balanced argument about the significance of the written word, capturing its power to delight and liberate at the same time as acknowledging its limitations in a world where shelter and food are not certainties * NEW STATESMAN *
A warm and humorous novel, packed with bold characters, both human and animal * WATERSTONE'S QUARTERLY *
A vivid, thought-provoking and uplifting novel * GOOD BOOK GUIDE *
A book that will go straight to your heart * TELEGRAPH & ARGUS *
Captivating ... weaves memorable characters and elemental emotions in artful prose * PUBLISHERS WEEKLY *
I've always known books could change lives. Masha Hamilton has opened my eyes to how books can also change entire communities, and not always in the ways one might expect. THE CAMEL BOOKMOBILE is a brave and astonishing novel; it transported me to a world I hadn't known, and my life is all the richer for it -- Gayle Brandeis
Magical ... spellbinding ... broke my heart -- Amanda Eyre Ward
Vivid, absorbing ... Richly peopled, full of conflicts and surprises, THE CAMEL BOOKMOBILE made me think and feel in all the best ways. My only regret was that the book had to end -- Margot Livesey
A warm and humorous novel, packed with bold characters, both human and animal. * WATERSTONES BOOKS QUARTERLY *
A vivid, thought-provoking and uplifting novel * GOOD BOOK GUIDE *
a book that will go straight to your heart * TELEGRAPH & ARGUS *

You may also be interested in...

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Wish You Were Here
Added to basket
£16.99   £8.49
Hardback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
The Promise
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
One August Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Girl A
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Cat Who Saved Books
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Hardback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
The Judge's List
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.