The Most Fun We Ever Had (Paperback)
  • The Most Fun We Ever Had (Paperback)
  • The Most Fun We Ever Had (Paperback)
  • The Most Fun We Ever Had (Paperback)
zoom
The Most Fun We Ever Had (Paperback) The Most Fun We Ever Had (Paperback)

The Most Fun We Ever Had (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 544 Pages / Published: 09/07/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Four Chicago sisters, bourgeois parents and a torrent of hormones and hairspray power a debut novel that marries it’s breezy tone to a more biting undercurrent of sibling rivalry and sensitively handled heartache. 

Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2020

At a family wedding, the four Sorenson sisters polka-dot the green lawn in their summer pastels, with varying shades of hair and varying degrees of unease. Their long-infatuated parents watch on with a combination of love and concern.

Sixteen years later, the already messy lives of the sisters are thrown into turmoil by the unexpected reappearance of a teenage boy given up for adoption years earlier - and the rich and varied tapestry of the Sorensons' past is revealed.

Weaving between past and present, The Most Fun We Ever Had portrays the delights and difficulties of family life and the endlessly complex mixture of affection and abhorrence we feel for those closest to us. A dazzlingly accomplished debut and an utterly immersive portrait of one family's becoming, it marks the arrival of a major new literary voice.

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781474611886
Number of pages: 544
Weight: 375 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Lombardo's impressive debut is a gripping and poignant ode to a messy, loving family in all its glory. She juggles a huge cast of characters with seeming effortlessness, bringing each to life with humour, vividness and acute psychological insight.' - Madeline Miller, author of Circe

'If ever there were to be a literary love child of Jonathan Franzen and Anne Tyler, then Claire Lombardo's outstanding debut, which ranges from ebullience to despair by way of caustic but intense familial bonds, would be a worthy offspring...This is a novel epic in scope-emotionally, psychologically and narratively. Combining a broad thematic canvas with impressive emotional nuance, it's an assured and highly enjoyable debut. - Hannah Beckerman, Guardian

'Beware this book, that will enmesh you in the psychic DNA of this utterly convincingly imagined family. You will encounter characters whose stories you're compelled to follow, you will recognise the bitterest and sweetest tastes of life, you will laugh, and you will want to discuss it with other people. (Possibly not your own family). John Irving has a literary daughter, and her name is Claire Lombardo.' - Laline Paull, author of The Bees

'I adored The Most Fun We Ever Had. It is such a shockingly tender and uncannily knowing novel about the reality of long term love and affection, and the sweetness and claustrophobia of relationships between sisters. Lombardo's writing is so elegant - she makes our most complex and fragmented feelings tangible, which is a very rare skill. This book will stay with me forever.' - Daisy Buchanan, author of How to be a Grown Up

'Remarkably alive and wise, Claire Lombardo's story of the Sorensons is a stunning vision - not just of family or love, but the funny, tender mystery of human connection itself, with all its intensity, charm, and wonder.' - Affinity Konar, author of Mischling

'Claire Lombardo has created a wonderful, subtle and sophisticated portrait of a family. The nuances, the secrets, the triumphs and tragedies light up this narrative with the many ways we love and the unremitting clarity with which we are known by our siblings. Epic and intimate, funny and delicate, this is a best friend of a book: curl up with it and lose yourself in the easy intimacy of the magnetic, loveable and flawed family of Sorensons.' - Raffaella Barker, author of Springtime

'I cancelled appointments to keep reading this totally gripping portrait of a marriage and the four daughters that it has produced. It is excellent on sisterhood, motherhood, marriage - in fact on all human relationships. Highly, highly recommended.' - Clover Stroud, author of The Wild Other

'In The Most Fun We Ever Had Claire Lombardo has given us a truly unforgettable American family. The book bristles on every page with intelligence and fierce wit. What a debut!' - Richard Russo, Author of Everybody's Fool

This amazing, sexy, moving, transfixing novel sweeps you up into the epic range of human emotion, from tenderness to exasperation, bafflement to pride, anger to unconditional love that is intrinsic to family life. And how those oh-so-familiar hairpin bends of parenthood and of marriage are so beautifully juxtaposed with the infinite complexities and blind corners of being a daughter, a sister, a friend, a lover! I couldn't quite think of what to do with myself when I came to the last page except read it all over again.' - Juliet Nicolson, author of A House Full of Daughters

'A novel to make a note to pack for summer travels ahead' - Laura Bailey, Vogue

'A rich, engrossing family saga, spiked with sisterly malice...[rendered] with such skill and finely tuned interest that it feels like a quiet subversion of the traditional family saga.' - The New York Times Book Review

'Ambitious and brilliantly written' - Jane Smiley, The Washington Post

'A wonderfully immersive read that packs more heart and heft than most first novels...A deliciously absorbing novel with-brace yourself-a tender and satisfyingly positive take on family.' - NPR

'The big family saga of the summer' - EW

'You'll be glad this loopy family isn't yours, but reading about them is a treat.' - People magazine

'A sharp, sly family story of feminine guile and guilt...A fun and brimming tale...Divine' - Kirkus

'An expansive U.S. family saga, expertly rendered' - Daily Mail

'Lombardo has a wry, often spiky humour and tightly written style that should appeal to fans of Maria Semple, Emma Straub and Jennifer Egan ... A moving, immersive, often very funny study of family and sisterhood.' - Sunday Times

'A spry, sly and funny read' - Sunday Express

'A funny, complex, tragic and immersive family sage which spans forty years. This is the perfect, engrossing holiday read' - Red

'An exploration of the complex tapestry that is family life, full of delights and difficulties' - Cosmopolitan

'I love this book, and the Sorensons, so much' - Bryony Gordon

You may also be interested in...

Leave the World Behind
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Mayflies
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Girl with the Louding Voice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Beekeeper of Aleppo
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Law of Innocence
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Missing Sister
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Freed
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Home Stretch
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Strawberry Thief
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Complex family dynamics...”

In this debut novel Claire Lombardo invites us into the funny, tragic and dramatic lives of a Chicago family.
The mother and father are still in love (after all these years); the four daughters have their own families... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 44

“Impressive debut novel”

This is a seductive, engaging novel. Over 500 pages and I read it in four sittings. It doesn’t happen very often. Claire Lombardo really impressed me, hard to believe The Most Fun We Ever Had is her first novel. I was... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 23

“Simply Superb!”

This début by Claire Lombardo is an easy 5 stars for me. The Most Fun We Ever Had is about as good as character driven family sagas can be!

I love character driven family saga/dramas and this one certainly has its... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 13

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.