The Ninth Child: The new novel from the author of The Sealwoman's Gift (Paperback)
  • The Ninth Child: The new novel from the author of The Sealwoman's Gift (Paperback)
zoom

The Ninth Child: The new novel from the author of The Sealwoman's Gift (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 01/10/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Perfect reading for fans of Sarah Perry and Bridget Collins, Magnusson's enchanting fable blends folklore and realism in the tale of a doctor's wife succumbing to ancient myths and mysterious strangers in the Highland wilderness.

Waterstones Scottish Book of the Month for November 2020

Loch Katrine waterworks, 1856. A Highland wilderness fast becoming an industrial wasteland. No place for a lady.

Isabel Aird is aghast when her husband is appointed doctor to an extraordinary waterworks being built miles from the city. But Isabel, denied the motherhood role that is expected of her by a succession of miscarriages, finds unexpected consolations in a place where she can feel the presence of her unborn children and begin to work out what her life in Victorian society is for.

The hills echo with the gunpowder blasts of hundreds of navvies tunnelling day and night to bring clean water to diseased Glasgow thirty miles away - digging so deep that there are those who worry they are disturbing the land of faery itself. Here, just inside the Highland line, the membrane between the modern world and the ancient unseen places is very thin.

With new life quickening within her again, Isabel can only wait. But a darker presence has also emerged from the gunpowder smoke. And he is waiting too.

Inspired by the mysterious death of the seventeenth-century minister Robert Kirke and set in a pivotal era two centuries later when engineering innovation flourished but women did not, The Ninth Child blends folklore with historical realism in a spellbinding narrative.

Publisher: John Murray Press
ISBN: 9781473696624
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 236 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 34 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Sally Magnusson's classy new novel The Ninth Child has snared me . . . Suffice to say I'm hooked, and I'm only on page 50. It's wonderful and I daren't stop. One never messes with the faeries.' - Melanie Reid, The Times

'An absolute triumph! Such a clever interweaving of history and fairytale. I loved the lively intelligent heroine and the brooding sense of menace throughout. It had me gripped right to the end.' - Sarah Haywood, author of The Cactus

'Sally Magnusson has written a brilliant tour-de-force that blends together unlikely ingredients such as engineering, the Celtic Otherworld and 19th century medicine into a memorable, riveting, page-turning story. I savoured it!' - Alistair Moffatt, author of The Hidden Ways

'Not only did the book transport me while I read, but when I slept my dreams were extraordinarily vivid - I dreamt I was roaming in the highlands, smelling fresh air, feeling sunlight - far from my hospital bed. Few books have this impact on me.' - Michelle Gallen, author of Big Girl Small Town

'An engaging mix of folklore and Victorian history.' - Sunday Times

'This eerie tale blends Scottish folklore with historical fiction.' - The i

'Pacy and accomplished, with a supernatural chill .' - The Herald

'Enthralling.' - Scots Magazine

'Well-researched, fascinating . . . a strong sense of place . . . an accomplished piece of writing, cementing Magnusson's place, not just as one of Scotland's best-loved broadcasters, but one of Scotland's leading writers of historical fiction.' - Scotland on Sunday

'Entertaining, educational and thought-provoking, The Ninth Child is pacy and accomplished, with particular skill in capturing the supernatural chill attached to some of Scotland's most picturesque sights.' - Press Assocation

'A compassionate story of the clashing cultures of science and superstition, of male and female, rich and poor.' - Anne Goodwin Weekly

'A gripping plot, vivid period detail and a terrific touch of faery too.' - Caroline Sanderson

'A beguiling weave of fine imaginative writing and deft research into Celtic folklore and a triumph of Scottish engineering. The Ninth Child is a dramatic and magical novel told with enormous zest and wit. I am looking forward to Sally Magnusson's next fine novel.' - Les Wilson Author of The Drowned and the Saved

'A very impressive piece of work, drawing on a strong sense of place and a rich seam of history and folklore for its power.' - Donald Murray, author of As the Women Lay Dreaming

You may also be interested in...

The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
The White Princess
Added to basket
The White Queen
Added to basket
The Leopard
Added to basket
Written in My Own Heart's Blood
Added to basket
The Grand Sophy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Azincourt
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Name of the Rose
Added to basket
The Emperor's Babe
Added to basket
The Boleyn Inheritance
Added to basket
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
Remarkable Creatures
Added to basket
The Clan of the Cave Bear
Added to basket
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Dan at Cribbs Causeway Store

“A tale of fairies and Scottish folklore....”

This is a heavy mix of Victoriana story telling of loss, doubt, love and denial but then throw in the Scottish legends of fairies and a certain person who should not still be on this earth....
Sally Magnusson has... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 14

“Whimsical Fantasy”

Firstly, to begin with a thank you to John Murray Press and NetGalley for this absolutely fascinating arc.
I first opened this book on 3rd March. I actually started reading it properly on 15th March and finished it... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 11

“Suspend belief and dip into the world of Faerie”

Reverend Robert Kirke was a real 18th-century Episcopalian minister who wrote a book about fairies and was said to have been whisked away by them. In The Ninth Child, he has been let up into the human world in... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.