An Armful of Babies and a Cup of Tea: Memoirs of a 1950s NHS Health Visitor (Paperback)
  • An Armful of Babies and a Cup of Tea: Memoirs of a 1950s NHS Health Visitor (Paperback)
zoom

An Armful of Babies and a Cup of Tea: Memoirs of a 1950s NHS Health Visitor (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 336 Pages
Published: 26/07/2018
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

A touching and warm-hearted memoir of a young health visitor in postwar England, for fans of Call the Midwife and The Language of Kindness.

After serving as a nurse in WW2, Molly Corbally joined the brand new NHS and became one of the first official District Health Visitors, attending to mothers and babies from all walks of life in the picturesque village near Coventry she came to call home. Social work was uncharted territory at the time, and Britain was very much worse for wear - TB, polio, measles and whooping cough were just some of the hazards new babies faced. Social conditions could also add to the problems, at a time when poverty and alcoholism were rife.

Armed with only her nursing training, her common sense and a desire to serve, Molly set out to win over a community and provide a new and valuable service in times of great change. As well as the challenges there was also joy and laughter, from the woman who finally had a baby after fifteen years of trying, to the woman who thought she should use marmalade as nappy cream, because the hospital had never taken the label off the jar they were using to store it.

Warm, witty and moving, An Armful of Babies is a vivid portrait of rural England in the post-war years, a testament to an NHS in its own infancy and a celebration of nurses and midwives. Their tireless care saves lives, and we need them now more than ever.

Publisher: John Murray Press
ISBN: 9781473671492
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 236 g
Dimensions: 199 x 168 x 21 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A great discovery ... a wonderfully intimate sense of everyday life in a now-vanished Britain - Reader's Digest

Enchanting - Sunday Post

You may also be interested in...

brother. do. you. love. me.
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Keira & Me
Added to basket
£18.99   £13.99
Hardback
Abroad in Japan
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
Friendaholic
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
The Twat Files
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
Surviving to Drive
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Friends, Lovers and the Big Terrible Thing
Added to basket
Rambling Man
Added to basket
£25.00
Hardback
And Away...
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Very Private School
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.99
Hardback
The Making of the Modern Middle East
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Everything I Know About Love
Added to basket
Landlines
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
Politics On the Edge
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
Knife
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Shakespeare
Added to basket
£25.00   £21.99
Hardback

“A very human view of the beginnings of the NHS and the Welfare State”

This “Memoirs of a 1950s Health Visitor” is not usually the sort of book I would read if I’m honest, but having been offered a copy to review I picked it up and soon found myself hooked on this gentle recollection of... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 20

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: