The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes (Paperback)
  • The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes (Paperback)
zoom

The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 352 Pages
Published: 06/09/2018
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

A brilliant new novel from Ruth Hogan, the author of acclaimed debut, The Keeper of Lost Things

The woman thrusts her hands into the pockets of her well-worn tweed coat, remembering with a smile a scarlet gown she wore in another life, many years ago. Almost the same shade as the scuffed, red shoes she is wearing now.

Masha's life has stopped. Once a spirited, independent woman with a rebellious streak, her life has been forever changed by a tragic event twelve years ago. Now, unable to let go of her grief, she finds solace in the silent company of the souls of her local Victorian cemetery and at the town's lido, where she seeks refuge underwater - safe from the noise and the pain.

But then a chance encounter introduces her to two extraordinary women - the fabulous and wise Kitty Muriel, a convent girl-turned-magician's wife-turned-seventy-something-roller-disco-fanatic, and the mysterious Sally Red Shoes, a bag lady with a prodigious voice – opening up a new world of possibilities, and the chance to start living again. But just as Masha dares to imagine the future, the past comes roaring back…

A book that unashamedly celebrates the small acts of everyday kindness that move and change a life. Like her bestselling debut, The Keeper of Lost Things, Ruth Hogan's second novel introduces a cast of wonderful characters, both ordinary and charmingly eccentric, who guide us through a moving exploration of the simple human connections that make life worth living.

Publisher: John Murray Press
ISBN: 9781473669017
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 240 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

The Lido by Libby Page and Ruth Hogan's The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes are both warm novels in which unlikely friendships help their protagonists tackle their demons - The Sunday Times

Warm and wise ... With her bestselling 2017 debut, The Keeper of Lost Things, Hogan won fans for her astute portrayal of grief and the human capacity for recovery. It is territory she revisits here, adding to her themes that of community and its power to heal. Her passages on loss are vivid and visceral ... But hope is never lost and catharsis is to be found in unlikely places' - Guardian

This is a work that packs in plenty of substance alongside the sweetness....Despite tackling such huge topics as bereavement and cancer - Hogan's work is filled with hope and the power of friendship - Best uplifting books to read this summer, Evening Standard

Subtle and poignant - Good Housekeeping

A whimsical, wistful affair - Sunday Express

We were huge fans of Ruth Hogan's The Keeper of Lost Things, and her second book is just as brilliantly written - though you may need tissues at the ready! - Sun

The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes will soften even the hardest of hearts - Red

From the author of breakout hit, The Keeper Of Lost Things, this is a book to really love. Exploring the aftermath of grief and the ways people carry on (with humour, with solace, with lidos ...) Hogan writes welcoming prose that makes reading a joy - Stylist

The wonder of new beginnings - Prima

An adorable heartfelt story - Nina Pottell, Prima

Vibrant - Nina Pottell, Prima

A novel that looks at how to live life to the full, even if you have suffered tragedy - Daily Mail

This book has plenty of spirit and heart - Daily Mail

Hogan establishes a slightly left-of-centre world that's just a little more brightly coloured than the real one and deploys a host of eccentric characters to soften what is a wrenching story of recovery - Metro

A compelling second novel, a powerful story about loss and healing . . . Fans of Karen White and Marian Keyes will especially enjoy Hogan's storytelling style. - The Booklist

Beautiful and unique - Take a Break

The Up-Lit Queen - Sunday Post

Thorny issues are explored with a sensitive humour that takes nothing away from what people are feeling - BookBag

Gloriously gorgeous in every way . . . Ruth Hogan has the very special ability to look beyond the veil of unremarkable to find a sometimes painful, yet beautifully quirky existence . . . The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes is a must-read, and I enjoyed every single second of it - Lovereading

One of the stars of "up lit" - a literary trend with friendship and small acts of kindness at its core - Radio Times

A lovely, gentle, uplifting read - The Book Scoop

Emotional - Love it!

A book that will tuck itself into your heart - Emma's Bookish Corner

Ruth Hogan has done a remarkable job. Once again she has proven that she has an uncanny ability to create a perfectly balanced, cosy and comforting read ... Her books are full of love, life, and human perseverance - The Bookish Bundle

Laced with wit and charm - The Coast

Extraordinarily wonderful - The Last Word Book Review

Uplifting - Corey Reads

Thoughtful and moving ... Ruth tells a good story, she writes beautifully, and is a genuine talent. I look forward to reading more of her work - The Terrified Writer

This book is brilliant, absolutely brilliant, I loved it - Wilde Reads

A highly original and quirky novel, it was well written and managed to balance moments of darkness with sensitivity, as well as light humour - Mrs B's Book Reviews

Brilliantly written - Clem Loves

Another beautiful story from an author who writes like a dream - Random Things Through My Letterbox blog

Sally Red Shoes has completely stolen my heart . . . Gentle, quirky, hopeful. So clever, so beautiful. LOVED it - Books and the City

A powerful story about coming alive . . . Ruth Hogan depicts Masha's life with grace, eloquence, melancholy and this elegant writing is even more exquisite than in The Keeper of Lost Things - Apple Tree Antiquarian Books

I love that the best and brightest characters were older women who had refused to live the life society would have dictated to them. The joy they offered in just being unapologetically themselves is a great invitation to us all. - Create Hope Inspire blog

A beautiful and inspiring tale that celebrates friendship that I am pretty sure will touch many hearts, it definitely touched mine - Alba in Bookland

Wonderfully warm and uplifting - Portobello Book Blog

She has got an amazing gift of creating such interesting and lovable characters . . . our new queen of heart-warming novels - Waterstones Bromley

What Ruth Hogan does beautifully is deals with really tough themes, but she does it with lightness and humour. She makes you see the joy and optimism in everything - Hannah Beckerman, BBC R2 Sara Cox Bookclub

The poster-child of the "up-lit" trend - The Bookseller

Heartfelt and radiating warmth, it's difficult to not be drawn into this book - Reviews by Chloe

What Ruth Hogan does beautifully is deals with really tough themes, but she does it with lightness and humour. She makes you see the joy and optimism in everything - Hannah Beckerman, Radio 2 Sara Cox's Bookclub

You may also be interested in...

The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Housekeepers
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Happy Place
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Bee Sting
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Ferryman
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
A Little Life
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Housemaid
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Last Devil To Die
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow
Added to basket
Long Island
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Seventh Son
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Someone Else’s Shoes
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Close to Home
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“Heartwarming story at its best.....”

Ruth Hogan's first novel " The Keeper of Lost Things " was a major bestseller, she won our hearts with her wonderful story.

I loved her second novel with stories of three different women all connected... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 81

“Worth reading ”

A wonderful writer, with a delightful turn of phrase and quirky characters. This is a beautiful story with amazing insight and depth.
The only problem is that the first couple of chapters are difficult to navigate,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 28
Penelope Bullock at Lancaster

“Filled with wonderful wisdom and joy for life. ”

A heartfelt and moving novel about loss, grief and learning to let go and live again. I thoroughly enjoyed the author's first novel 'The Keeper of Lost Things' and this was every bit as original and... More

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: