The Lost Daughter: A Jean Brash Mystery 2 (Paperback)
  • The Lost Daughter: A Jean Brash Mystery 2 (Paperback)
zoom

The Lost Daughter: A Jean Brash Mystery 2 (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 352 Pages
Published: 07/09/2017
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket

For fans of Elementary, Ripper Street and Sherlock Holmes - meet Jean Brash, a feisty, self-made woman turned sleuth in murky Victorian Edinburgh where crime and high society meet.

Jean Brash is beautiful, intelligent and in her prime. Owner of The Just Land, the best and most successful brothel in Victorian Edinburgh, she's seen the highs and lows of society and been on both sides of the law, much to the frustration of her sparring partner, Inspector James McLevy. And Jean has a mind to do some sleuthing of her own ...

It's Spring and Jean Brash is raring to go. A theatre company arrives in Leith to perform King Lear. A ruthless robbery is planned, a gruesome murder committed, both of which set off unwanted events and unearth long buried connections from Jean's past.

Even more lethally, her own lost family life explodes in the present, as a wild young actress who trails violence and death behind her, involves Jean in a dangerous complex game that threatens to destroy the very root of her identity and everything Jean has fought to achieve.

Jean Brash is my favourite character and David Ashton's writing is as delicious, elegant and compelling as she is' Siobhan Redmond (Jean Brash in BBC Radio 4's McLevy series)

Publisher: John Murray Press
ISBN: 9781473632295
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 247 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

PRAISE FOR THE INSPECTOR McLEVY AND JEAN BRASH SERIESAshton is an old hand at milking the Old Town, New Town and Leith for their maximum atmosphere, suspense and air of criminality. That, combined with the intriguing premise of a crime-solving brotel-keeper, makes Mistress of the Just Land a most diverting page turner - Herald

Here is Jean Brash centre stage in all her splendour - clever, cheeky, generous, alluring, hard-headed, yet prone to the occasional burst of crazy romanticism, an old friend who is full of surprises. I find her as irresistible as McLevy does: she's my favourite character and David Ashton's writing is as delicious, elegant and compelling as she is. - Siobhan Redmond (Jean Brash in BBC Radio 4’s McLevy series)

An intriguing Victorian story... elegant and convincing - The Times

McLevy is one of the greatest psychological creations and Ashton the direct heir to Robert Louis Stevenson - Brian Cox, CBE - Award-winning actor

Mclevy is a sort of Victorian Morse with a heart, prowling the mean wynds and tenements of the endlessly fascinating city. David Ashton impeccably evokes Edinburgh so vividly that you feel the cold in your bones and the menace of the Old Town's steep cobbles and dark corners - Financial Times

David Ashton's writing is excellent, his characters thoroughly convincing and his narrative grabs you - The Sherlock Holmes Society

Ashton's McLevy is a man obsessed with meting out justice and with demons of his own - Scotsman

You may also be interested in...

The Housekeepers
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Bookseller of Inverness
Added to basket
Munich Wolf
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Betrayal of Thomas True
Added to basket
The Lock-Up
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Burial Plot
Added to basket
The Winter List
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Golden Library
Added to basket
The Ashes of London
Added to basket
The Great Deceiver
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Turnglass
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Cast a Cold Eye
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
The Maiden
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Death Under a Little Sky
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: