Skin: a gripping historical page-turner perfect for fans of Game of Thrones (Paperback)
  • Skin: a gripping historical page-turner perfect for fans of Game of Thrones (Paperback)
zoom

Skin: a gripping historical page-turner perfect for fans of Game of Thrones (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 16/06/2016
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

A thrilling historical novel of one woman's journey to protect her people, perfect for fans of Outlander, Game of Thrones, and Sky Atlantic's Britannia.

***

'A visceral tale of ritual, magic and violence' THE SUNDAY TIMES

'Filled with drama and passion... I was captivated' ANTONIA HODGSON

'Those who root for Game of Thrones' Daenerys Targaryen will find much to love in Ailia's quest' NEW DAILY

***

Ailia has never truly belonged, for she has no totem, no 'skin'. Without skin, she is not allowed to learn the traditions of her ancestors, or to marry.

But this is Celtic Britain, and the dark power of the Roman Empire is gathering in the distance.

As Ailia's people prepare to face a brutal enemy and an uncertain future, it is Ailia who must embrace the extraordinary power which lies within her... and who must stand, alone, to protect the people she loves from the end of everything they've ever known.

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781473616431
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 271 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'What a brilliant and original idea for a novel. I couldn't resist reading the first line and then the first paragraph, then the first chapter, even though I was supposed to be doing something else. I am hooked! [Ilka] is an amazing writer.' -- Karen Maitland, author of The Vanishing Witch
'Skin is a mesmerising read, set in a distant past that feels both real and magical. Filled with drama and passion, it is also an intensely soulful story about courage, sacrifice and belonging. I was captivated.' -- Antonia Hodgson, author of THE DEVIL IN THE MARSHALSEA
I am in awe of Ilka's ability to recreate a Britain of AD 43. Caer Cad is alive and I felt I was there, standing by its fires, from page one. A great book -- Cecilia Ekback, author of WOLF WINTER
This book gripped me from the first, with a haunting scene of spirit and sacrifice in the opening pages that left me horrified and intrigued; from there I could barely pull myself away from the book and Ailia's journey -- Alphareader.com
I loved the depth, sincerity and beauty of Skin. It gives a name and a shape to our capacity for yearning. -- Isobelle Carmody, author of the Obernewtyn Chronicles
[An] enticing and immensely satisfying debut * Good Reading Australia *
Powerful and assured...Skin will appeal to lovers of historical fiction and lovers of literary fiction equally as well. It is an accomplished, absorbing and powerful debut. * The Hoopla *
`Skin is a beautiful and brilliant book, a masterpiece' -- John Marsden, author of the Tomorrow series
'Ilka Tampke's intriguing Skin is a cracker...A thrilling debut, it throbs with the passions of a young woman's sexual awakening and paints a brutal world teeming with enticing detail that teases out a pagan past soon to be subsumed by Christianity...Those who root for Game of Thrones' Daenerys Targaryen will find much to love in Ailia's personal quest, with Tampke more successfully navigating the realms of almost fantasy than Ishiguro, marking her out as an exciting talent to watch.' * New Daily Australia *
'Conjuring up a wholly alien world with impressive imagination, Tampke has created a visceral tale of ritual, magic and violence' * The Sunday Times *
'[Skin] slowly sucks you in and before you know it you've been completely hooked...At its core, Skin is a young girl's coming of age story, but its resonant prose, distinct characters, thematic depth and emotional sensitivity all combine to form a tale as evocative as it is compelling. 9/10' * Starburst Magazine *

You may also be interested in...

Tipping The Velvet
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Lords of the North
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Grand Sophy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Boleyn Inheritance
Added to basket
Written in My Own Heart's Blood
Added to basket
Remarkable Creatures
Added to basket
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Name of the Rose
Added to basket
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
Cinderella Sister
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Master and Commander
Added to basket
The Siege Of Krishnapur
Added to basket
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Emperor's Babe
Added to basket

“Fabulous Celtic Tale !”

Set in the last twenty years before the Roman Invasion this is a fascinating story of the Druids . Ailia is part of them , yet set aside also for she was born without " Skin " This means she is always on... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 81
Charis Bookseller Inverness

“Skin - Ilka Tampke”

This novel combines the loud themes of fantasy - battle, religion, sacrifice - with the whispering themes of folklore - hidden passageways, magical beings, animal totems - to create an engaging and enchanting story.... More

Charlie Hay at Brentwood

“Coming of Age ”

The year is AD 43, Celtic Britain. For the Caer Cad, 'skin' name determines lineage and identity. Ailia was left on a doorstep and has no skin. She feels as though she doesn't belong; despite her... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 65

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.