The Garden of Empire - Pact and Pattern (Paperback)
  • The Garden of Empire - Pact and Pattern (Paperback)
zoom

The Garden of Empire - Pact and Pattern (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 480 Pages
Published: 18/05/2023
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

WAR MAKES MONSTERS OF EVERYONE.

Foolish Cur, once named Wen Alder, finds that his allies in the rebellion might cross any line if it means freedom from the Empire. But he can't overcome a foe as strong as Emperor Tenet alone.

REBELLION HAS UNINTENDED CONSEQUENCES.

Koro Ha, Foolish Cur's former tutor, discovers the Empire is not so forgiving of those who raise a traitor. And their suspicion may cost him and his people more than he can imagine.

THE GODS ARE LURKING IN THE SHADOWS.

As war against the Empire rages, Foolish Cur knows there is a greater threat. The emperor plans his own coup against the gods, and they will wreak destruction if he tries. To stop him, Foolish Cur might have to risk everything - and resort to ancient magics that could tear the world apart.

This is perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Shelley Parker-Chan.

Readers can't get enough of The Garden of Empire:

'This book is a complete package of beautiful prose, well written characters, well explained magic with good battle scenes and immersive world-building' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'A gripping, riveting, highly entertaining, well plotted, and well told story. A page turner that kept me hooked. A story which is epic and intimate and the same time. Loved it, loved it, loved it' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'The plot was amazing. It kept me engaging and there was not even a small moment throughout the book when I didn't enjoy it. It had a huge twist in the story that I didn't see coming. The themes of rebellion, war and its consequences, leadership, betrayals, family, friendship, duties, power are employed very well' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'We are treated to rich characterization, vivid description, a believable lush world, amazing magic, and wrenching moral conflicts' Goodreads review, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'A thrilling sequel to The Hand of the Sun King. The magic system is still one of the most unique I've read' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'Magic in this series feels like a magic of an old style. While I love some of the more mechanistic descriptions of magic in some modern books, I love the way magic is more of an art than a science' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'This focus on wider, ancient powers is elegant and vividly described, the increasing complexity was cleverly integrated and really opens the plot up to something that I think, come the third book, could be utterly shattering' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781473232938
Number of pages: 480
Weight: 340 g
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 34 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

There were several scenes which left me in complete shock while the slow build up kept me sweating like a tea kettle waiting to scream . . . Wild twists and shocking revelations will leave you begging for the finale - Under the Rader SFF Books

J.T. Greathouse writes fantastically rich and complex characters . . . the prose remains both rich and elegant. The plot is masterfully executed . . . The Garden of Empire is simply an absolutely amazing piece of fantasy fiction - Fantasy Book Nerd

Some lines took my breath away or sent shivers up and down my spine because of the delivery. I adored it immensely - The Quill to Live

An incredibly fascinating fantasy tale, with a few twists I definitely did not see coming - The Bibliophile Chronicles

Superb and on par with the finest moments I've read in SFF so far this year . . . I'm all-in for the final novel in this series - Grimdark Magazine

The characters are the strongest point in this book, and J.T does a brilliant job of showcasing these characters. Honestly, it's a great sequel, and I really recommend it! - Al Alhambra Book Reviews

A worthy read for those who like their fantasy epic. I think it is one of the best fantasy series I have read - SFF World

Broader in scope, seeped in electrifying magic and topped with a heart stopping finale, this is a sequel not to be missed - The Fantasy Hive

The Garden of Empire is a great novel, it's quite the novel indeed . . . I really recommend it! - FanFiAddict

This book is a complete package of beautiful prose, well written characters , well explained magic with good battle scenes and immersive world-building - The Reading Notions

You may also be interested in...

Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Before Your Memory Fades
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The City of Stardust
Added to basket
The Black Bird Oracle
Added to basket
A Day of Fallen Night
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Voyage of the Damned
Added to basket
The Harry Potter Wizarding Almanac
Added to basket
£30.00   £23.99
Hardback
House of Flame and Shadow
Added to basket
One Dark Window
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Godkiller
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Caraval
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Spectacular
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Familiar
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Empire of the Damned
Added to basket
Good Omens
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Neil Sharma

“Fantastic novel!”

The Garden of Empire is a great novel, it’s quite the novel indeed. It mixes first and third person very well, creating an overall arching story of perhaps an Empire that is going to fall. Specifically, the Siennese... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

““We all have a moral compass, boy, though not every needle points true north. This is where your own will start to drift, if you let it””

This was easily one of my most anticipated reads of this year so a MASSIVE thanks to @netgallry and @orionbooks for the advanced reading copy – I absolutely demolished this book in two sittings.

'The Garden of... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2
Chelsea A

“Rebellions, Witches, and Empires”

The Garden of Empire follows on from the Hand of the Sun King. The story follows three characters - Wen Alder (Foolish Cur), Hand Pinion, and Koro Ha. Foolish Cur's chapters are in first person, while the latter... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: