The Blacktongue Thief (Hardback)
  • The Blacktongue Thief (Hardback)
zoom

The Blacktongue Thief (Hardback)

(author)
£16.99
Hardback 416 Pages / Published: 27/05/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect


Set in a world of goblin wars, stag-sized battle ravens, and assassins who kill with deadly tattoos, Christopher Buehlman's The Blacktongue Thief begins a 'dazzling' (Robin Hobb) fantasy adventure unlike any other.

Kinch Na Shannack owes the Takers Guild a small fortune for his education as a thief, which includes (but is not limited to) lock-picking, knife-fighting, wall-scaling, fall-breaking, lie-weaving, trap-making, plus a few small magics. His debt has driven him to lie in wait by the old forest road, planning to rob the next traveler that crosses his path.

But today, Kinch Na Shannack has picked the wrong mark.

Galva is a knight, a survivor of the brutal goblin wars, and handmaiden of the goddess of death. She is searching for her queen, missing since a distant northern city fell to giants.

Unsuccessful in his robbery and lucky to escape with his life, Kinch now finds his fate entangled with Galva's. Common enemies and uncommon dangers force thief and knight on an epic journey where goblins hunger for human flesh, krakens hunt in dark waters, and honor is a luxury few can afford.

'The Blacktongue Thief is fast and fun and filled with crazy magic. I can't wait to see what Christopher Buehlman does next' - Brent Weeks, New York Times bestselling author of the Lightbringer series

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781473231153
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 620 g
Dimensions: 236 x 162 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
The Blacktongue Thief is a delight from start to finish. What begins as a sidekick's view of the hero's journey soon blossoms into a finely crafted and highly entertaining ride through a world as monstrous as it is wondrous. Christopher Buehlman takes the well-worn tropes of fantasy and weaves them into a new and vibrant tapestry * Anthony Ryan, New York Times bestselling author of Blood Song *
The Blacktongue Thief announces a remarkable new voice to the genre. It's fast and fun and filled with crazy magic balanced by tight characterization. I can't wait to see what Christopher Buehlman does next * Brent Weeks, New York Times bestselling author of The Black Prism *
Wow! Truly outstanding. I can't say enough about how good The Blacktongue Thief is. Damned good stuff * Glen Cook, author of The Black Company *
The Blacktongue Thief is equal parts fairy tale, D&D adventure, and acid trip. Buehlman has successfully blended the essences of these elements into something at once familiar and fresh. I look forward to returning to this evocative and f*cked up world! * Jonathan French, author of The Grey Bastards *
The Blacktongue Thief is a masterclass in voice and thoughtful world design, with a wonderful cast and a protagonist who grabs you instantly. Fans of Lynch's The Lies of Locke Lamora will love this one * Django Wexler, author of The Thousand Names *
Buehlman's prose floats nimbly from grisly to lyrical and back again, evoking a damaged world that's by turns bleak and starkly beautiful. A fantastical road trip with a hard-boiled sensibility, complete with shape-shifting assassins, murderous kraken and some delightfully gruesome magic * A. K. Larkwood, author of The Unspoken Name *
Instantly immersive, with wit as sharp as a thief's blade * David Dalglish, author of the Shadowdance series *

Dark, gritty, lightning-fast, intelligent, irreverent . . . I loved it

* Anna Smith Spark, author of The Court of Broken Knives *
I fell in love with Kinch on page one. He's a hilarious narrator and I was also touched by his sensitivity. Christopher's world building is unique, precise, and masterfully woven into a page-turning story. I couldn't put it down! A joyfully mischievous adventure, but also tragic and so heartfelt. Fans of Nicholas Eames and Joe Abercrombie will love The BlacktongueThief * Brian Naslund, author of Blood of an Exile *
Lyrical and visceral... Prepare to be transported * Andrew Pyper, author of The Demonologist *
THE BLACKTONGUE THIEF is my kind of book. Chock-full of wry wit, foul language, and characters who arrive on the page with savage, sordid pasts hot on their heels. Often humorous, occasionally horrifying, and sometimes incredibly poignant, I loved every single page of this book. Every sentence, even. It's that good. * Nicholas Eames, author of Kings of the Wyld *
This is an extraordinary debut. It has all the trappings of a traditional quest - the motley band of adventurers, the history and songs, magic and monsters - but told in the snarky, self-aware voice of first-person urban fantasy. It's salty and funny and vivid as a bruise, a rollicking adventure with a cast (and a cat) you won't forget. * Elspeth Cooper, author of SONGS OF THE EARTH *
Fast-paced and action-packed, funny and adventurous - great fantasy fun. * Edward Cox, author of The Song of the Sycamore *
Refreshingly original but reassuringly familiar, The Blacktongue Thief's cutthroat voice and deliciously dark world is sure to delight, shock and thrill * Jeremy Szal, author of Stormblood *

You may also be interested in...

The Marlow Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
You and Me on Vacation
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Book of Two Ways
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
One August Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Anxious People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Trio
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Entertaining epic fantasy with elements of comic romp”

My thanks to the Orion Publishing Group/Gollancz for an eARC via NetGalley of ‘The Blacktongue Thief’ by Christopher Buehlman in exchange for an honest review.

While his first fantasy novel Christopher Buehlman is an... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Brilliant!”

An amazing story, it's fast paced, filled with funny moments and draws the reader in completely. Highly recommended to fans of fantasy novels. I loved it and read it in two sittings. Thanks to NetGalley and the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Well written, gripping and highly entertaining”

This is going to be one of my favorite series as it's well written, gripping and highly entertaining.
I loved Kinch Na Shannack, our hero/antihero who is tasked with a quest. He's an interesting characters... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.