Stormblood (Paperback)
  • Stormblood (Paperback)
zoom

Stormblood (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£10.99
Paperback 544 Pages / Published: 21/01/2021
  • 5+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Vakov Fukasawa used to be a Reaper: a bio-enhanced soldier fighting for the Harmony, against a brutal invading empire. He's still fighting now, on a different battlefield: taking on stormtech. To make him a perfect soldier, Harmony injected him with the DNA of an extinct alien race, altering his body chemistry and leaving him permanently addicted to adrenaline and aggression. But although they meant to create soldiers, at the same time Harmony created a new drug market that has millions hopelessly addicted to their own body chemistry.

Vakov may have walked away from Harmony, but they still know where to find him, and his former Reaper colleagues are being murdered by someone, or something - and Vakov is appalled to learn his estranged brother is involved. Suddenly it's an investigation he can't turn down . . . but the closer he comes to the truth, the more addicted to stormtech he becomes.
And it's possible the war isn't over, after all . . .

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781473227439
Number of pages: 544
Weight: 380 g
Dimensions: 194 x 128 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
STORMBLOOD is a high stakes adrenaline filled adventure featuring two estranged brothers suddenly on opposite ends of an addict's war. And it's real damn good * Nick Martell, author of THE KINGDOM OF LIARS *
A captivating military sci-fi debut. Stormblood tells a splendid story about two brothers divided by war that is full of comradeship, actions, and conflict * Novel Notions *
A magnificent and explosive adrenaline-fest . . . Szal's debut is an absolute must read for fans of gritty, action-packed, detective and military SF * Grimdark Magazine *
Stormblood feels like a superb combination of the actions in Red Rising Saga and the world-building of Mass Effect. Exciting, thought-provoking, and full of incredibly intense moments. Military sci-fi readers would be treating themselves well by putting Stormblood on their radar * Novel Notions *
This frenetic, grisly sucker-punch of a book manages to be everything you could want from sci-fi, while also carving out its own niche with a rusty slingshiv. * Fantasy Book Review *
Szal's world is an insane, twisted place, and STORMBLOOD is one of the best scifi stories you'll ever read * Rob Boffard *
Razor sharp and vicious, Stormblood is an adrenaline-driven vision of a dark future. Highly recommended! * Michael R. Fletcher *
Vakov Fukasawa is a former soldier, addicted to the biotech inside his own body that makes him constantly crave for action. And there is plenty of action in this fast moving novel, but not at the expense of ideas, or of humanity, or of vivid descriptions of Szal's carefully imagined war-torn galaxy * Chris Beckett *
An intriguing mix of rich worldbuilding, meaty twists and ballistic ultraviolence * SFX *
Delivers visceral, bone-crunching fight sequences and a strong emotional core * SFX *
Highly recommended, a visceral trip into the darker side of SF. . .a rich setting replete with many alien races and a constant undertone of threat * Jamie Sawyer, Author of THE LAZARUS WAR *
The prose was visceral, the plot packed a punch and the emotional scenes aimed for the gut. Jeremy just burst through the door and blew away the competition with this powerful action sci-fi debut * Gray Williams, author of END OF THE LINE *
STORMBLOOD is sci-fi with an edge. It's a gritty, action-packed story that fans of Richard Morgan will eat right up, but it's got a ton of heart as well. The characters - especially Vakov - are exceptional, and the future-noir setting is extremely well-crafted. You'll want two things when you're finished this book: a glass of gin and a sequel. * Nicholas Eames, author of KINGS OF THE WYLDE *
Stormblood gets under your skin. It's like a prose torpedo packing a hefty payload of deep space opera noir, chrome-edged and irresistible * Michael Cobley author of Humanity's Fire *

You may also be interested in...

Ready Player Two
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Last House on Needless Street
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
These Violent Delights
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Great Dune Trilogy
Added to basket
Solo Leveling, Vol. 1 (manga)
Added to basket
Attack on Titan 34
Added to basket
The Haunting Season
Added to basket
Children Of Dune
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Deadly Education
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Dune Messiah
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Lore Olympus: Volume One
Added to basket
Six Crimson Cranes
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Attack on Titan Omnibus 1 (Vol. 1-3)
Added to basket
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
Dune
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback

“A non-stop space opera with plenty of grit and lots of heart”

Stormblood is an action-packed space opera that's equal parts a noir, mystery thriller, and a military space opera in the vein of Star Wars, Red Rising, and Mass Effect. The world-building is incredibly engaging,... More

Paperback edition
10 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.