Find your perfect holiday reading
Shadows of the Short Days (Hardback)
  • Shadows of the Short Days (Hardback)
zoom

Shadows of the Short Days (Hardback)

(author)
£18.99
Hardback 528 Pages / Published: 25/07/2019
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

A strikingly original Icelandic debut set in a strangely familiar alternate Reykjavik where wild and industrialised magic meet.

Perfect for fans of contemporary fantasy in the style of Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere or China Mieville's The City & The City

Saemundur the Mad, addict and sorcerer, has been expelled from the magical university, Svartiskoli, and can no longer study galdur, an esoteric source of magic. Obsessed with proving his peers wrong, he will stop at nothing to gain absolute power and knowledge, especially of that which is long forbidden.

Garun is an outcast: half-human, half-huldufolk, fighting against an unjust government that refuses to grant people like her basic rights. A militant revolutionary and graffiti artist, recklessly dismissive of the status quo, she will do anything to achieve a just society, including spark a revolution. Even if she has to do it alone.

This is a tale of revolution set in a twisted version of Reykjavik fuelled by industrialised magic and populated by humans, interdimensional exiles, otherworldly creatures, psychoactive graffiti and demonic familiars.

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781473224100
Number of pages: 528
Weight: 780 g
Dimensions: 240 x 154 x 50 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Norse mythology like you've never seen it before, set in a Reykjavik that you never knew existed - Shadows of the Short Days is a new breed of fantasy * Edward Cox, author of The Relic Guild *
Shadows of the Short Days is revolutionary fantasy fresher than a dip in a glacial stream. Definitely one for fans of Neil Gaiman and China Mieville. * Gavin Smith, author of The Bastard Legion *
A marvellous, quirky, original fantasy novel set in a magical steampunk version of Reykjavik: teeming with magic, dense with detail and with characters that not only leap off the page, but poke you in the eye as they do. Highly recommended. * Joanne Harris, bestselling author of Chocolat *
A masterfully crafted dark tale . . . one of the most ambitious, intense, original and thrilling debuts I've read in a long time * Grimdark Magazine *
Shadows of the Short Days is fresh and exciting: full of dark, demonic, revolutionary shenanigans * Peter Newman *
A heady mix of revolution, monsters and magic, this is a novel of alternative Reykjavik in which myth and religion are alive - and hungry * Anna Stephens *
A pacy, racy read that blends racial and political issues with traditional urban fantasy fare. A recommended purchase, it will bring an icy chill to your summer reading. * STARBURST MAGAZINE *

You may also be interested in...

A Clash of Kings (Reissue)
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Testament of Loki
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Added to basket
Pan's Labyrinth
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Good Omens
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
The Power
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Ghosts of the Shadow Market
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Added to basket
VOX
Added to basket
VOX
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Game of Thrones (Reissue)
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Lies Sleeping
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Girl in Red
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.