The Tropic of Eternity (Paperback)
  • The Tropic of Eternity (Paperback)
zoom

The Tropic of Eternity (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 448 Pages / Published: 13/06/2019
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Perfect for fans of Iain M. Banks and Peter F. Hamilton.

It is the 147th century. The mighty era of Homo Sapiens is at an end.

In the Westerly Provinces of the Old World, the hunt is on for the young queen Arabis, and the beast that holds her captive. In the brutal hominid Investiture, revolution has come. The warlord Cunctus, having seized the Vulgar worlds, invites every Prism to pick a side. In the Firmament, once the kingdom of the Immortal Amaranthine, all ships converge on the foundry of Gliese. The grandest battle in the history of mammalian kind has begun.

Perception, ancient machine spirit, must take back its mortal remains in a contest for the Firmament itself. Ghaldezuel, now the Grand Marshal of Cunctus' new empire, must travel to the deepest lagoon in the Investiture, a place where monsters dwell. Captain Maril, lost amongst the Hedron Stars, finds himself caught between colossal powers the likes of which he'd never dreamt. And for Aaron the Long-Life, he who has waited so very, very long for his revenge, things are only getting started . . .

'(An) unceasing display of wonders...This third novel honours the accomplishments of and promises of the first two, and serves as a fitting capstone to a unique creation...' Paul Di Filippo, Locus Magazine

'The final book in Toner's ridiculously ambitious trilogy will force you to redefine what space opera can do... ' Barnes & Noble

'Among the most significant works of science fiction released in recent years' TOR.COM [The Promise of the Child]

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781473211438
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 320 g
Dimensions: 198 x 128 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
One of the most ambitious and epic-scale pieces of worldbuilding I've read. Reading The Promise of the Child, you feel you're in the presence of an author at the height of his powers. If this is what Toner is like when he's just getting started, I think we can expect great things from him. Utterly absorbing; a tremendous adventure * Karl Schroeder, author of Lockstep and Sun of Suns *
Bold and intense from start to finish, The Promise of the Child is a master-class in innovative, evocative world-building. The entire book buzzes with imagination * Michael J. Martinez, author of The Daedalus Incident *
To call The Promise of the Child one of the most accomplished debuts of 2015 so far is to understate its weight-instead, let me moot that it is among the most significant works of science fiction released in recent years * Tor.com *
An amazing debut-a colorful space opera in the post-human tradition of Iain M. Banks, combined with the razor-sharp plotting of Alastair Reynolds. It left me feverish with delight * Loren Rhoads, author of The Dangerous Type *
Humming with energy, this is space opera like you've never seen it before. Absolutely brilliant * Adam Roberts, author of Salt and Jack Glass *
A gorgeously-written, wildly imaginative book. It's like no space opera I've ever read-compelling and addictive * Will McIntosh, Hugo-award winning author of Soft Apocalypse and Defenders *
An amazing debut. Intriguing, disorientating. Like Hannu Rajaniemi's The Quantum Thief or Moorcock's Dancers At The End OF Time, it's told with the heightened vibrancy of a fable, and the melancholic sense of age and decadence so prevalent in Jack Vance's Emphyrio
(An) unceasing display of wonders... Toner has a knack for maximum suspense and variation. His dialogue is precise, witty and revelatory. His neologisms and general nomenclature rivals that of Jack Vance. And his staging of action scenes, both small and large, is laudable. This third novel honours the accomplishments of and promises of the first two, and serves as a fitting capstone to a unique creation... tempering the challenging abstruseness of Ada Palmer's novels with the anything-goes action swerves of A.E. Van Vogt and with the poetry of Le Guin, Tom Toner's Amaranthine Spectrum delivers a new flavour of space opera that is bound to dazzle and delight * Paul Di Filippo (Locus) *
A series to savour and enjoy... The amazing thing about The Tropic of Eternity is its sheer ambition. This is a massive, sprawling epic that crosses timelines, galaxies and viewpoints as easily as crossing the road. Toner's lyrical prose is massively engaging... It's an almost Terry Pratchett-esque approach to worldbuilding, where you wonder how some things were even thought of, let alone put to paper. It's engaging, it's pretty bloody brilliant, and it's the kind of worldbuilding that will leave you wanting to dive into the world and explore for yourself... Vast, exotic and mind boggling * The Roaring Bookworm *
Fans of George R. R. Martin's works will appreciate Toner's similar ability to draw distinctive and compelling personalities out of such a vast cast... it will throw you in at the deep end, but richly reward your patience * Horror Hothouse *
Extraordinary, beautiful and original... there are moments, places and characters here that are described with such gorgeousness, as well as not a little horror, that the book bewitches... I'm in awe of Tom Toner's genius in creating this extraordinarily rich, warm, frightening, loving and rewarding future universe. There is so much to wonder at, puzzle over, be scared of and enjoy... glorious * ForWinterNights *
The final book in Toner's ridiculously ambitious trilogy will force you to redefine what space opera can do... To put it simply, this is bold, challenging science fiction... those who have challenged themselves to absorb the breadth of Toner's vision of the future will find themselves satisfied by its striking conclusion * Barnes & Noble *
to call The Promise of the Child one of the most accomplished debuts of 2015 so far is to understate its weight-instead, let me moot that is among the most significant works of science fiction released in recent years * Tor.com *
a beautifully crafted read that's evocative and hugely inventive * SFX [The Promise of the Child] *
a sprawling space opera likely to remind readers of complex works such as Gene Wolfe's Book of the New Sun . . . Readers who enjoy a challenge will appreciate both the book's complexities and its beautiful language * Publishers Weekly [The Weight of the World] *
Plenty to love * Publishers Weekly [Tropic of Eternity] *
Ambitious and well-executed * Kirkus Reviews [Tropic of Eternity] *

You may also be interested in...

Lies Sleeping
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Added to basket
VOX
Added to basket
VOX
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Institute
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
Good Omens
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Good Omens
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Psychology of Time Travel
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Outsider
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Good Omens
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Girl in Red
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Game of Thrones (Reissue)
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
A Clash of Kings (Reissue)
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Testaments
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.