Luna: New Moon (Paperback)
  • Luna: New Moon (Paperback)
zoom

Luna: New Moon (Paperback)

(author)
8 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 416 Pages / Published: 14/07/2016
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Luna is a gripping thriller about five corporate families caught in a bitter battle for supremacy in the harsh environment of the moon. It's very easy to die on the moon, but with its vast mineral wealth it's also easy to make your fortune.

Following the fortunes of a handful of disparate characters, from one of the lowliest workers on the moon to the heads of one of the most powerful families, LUNA provides a vast mosaic of life on this airless and terrifying new home for humanity.

This is SF that will be perfect for fans of Kim Stanley Robinson and Ken Macleod alike.

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781473202245
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 286 g
Dimensions: 153 x 200 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Ian McDonald is one of the very best SF writers in the world. His novels are fearless, brilliant wise...they illuminate and entertain spectacularly * Kim Stanley Robinson *
I will read anything that man writes-he is the most underappreciated genius working in the field today * Cory Doctorow *
Provocative, gripping and prancingly adult, it's a stunning example of how good science-fiction can be, and proof that McDonald is one of the best writers currently working in the genre * SFX *
Luna: New Moon is a world that has been intricately woven together by its author. It's compelling and thought-provoking, and all without relying on overbearing sci-fi cliches. Brilliantly done. * Sci-Fi Now *
Imagine Ben Bova's Farside mixed up with Heinlein's Moon is a Harsh Mistress and David Wingrove's Chung Kuo series but then re-imagined for the 21st century, with a sexed-up, more global viewpoint and you'll get an idea of Luna. I foresee great things for this book and award nominations a-plenty. Recommended. * SFF World *
Luna is a remarkable novel! It is enormously clever and spectacularly visual and yet nothing overshadows the strength of its characterisation. A standout novel in a year that has been fantastic for science fiction. * For Winter's Nights *
There's a lot of intrigue, some violence, rather more sex - healthily polymorphous and energetic, this - and all the pleasures of a cut-throat soap opera in space: a sort of Moon-Dome Dallas. -- Adam Roberts * The Guardian *
In its gravitas and tension and, alas, tragedy, it's damn near Shakespearian. Add to that all the compulsive qualities of A Song of Ice and Fire, as I suggested in the header: a setting so brilliantly built and deftly embellished that buying into it isn't ever an issue; a vast cast of characters as satisfying and sympathetic individually as they are as part of McDonald's elaborate ensemble; and a plot composed of so many threads that you never know where it's going to go-except that when it ends, it's destined to end terribly. * Tor.com *
Luna: New Moon is the best moon novel I've seen in many years...Inasmuch as it challenges one of the cherished master narratives of SF, in which the moon is only a stepping-stone, and despite what it owes to the tropes of '70s-era social melodrama, McDon ald's novel has some formidable SF stingers not far beneath its densely textured surface. * Locus Mag *
McDonald creates a complex and fascinating civilization featuring believable technology, and the characters are fully developed, with individually gripping stories. Watch for this brilliantly constructed family saga on next year's award ballots. * Publishers Weekly *
Overall, it's a really good read - the environment is convincing, the characters wonderfully flawed and entirely believable, and the plot well-paced and gripping. It'll draw you into its world and refuse to let you out again. If you want to try an innovative piece of sci-fi, with a lot to say and a good means of exploring ways to say it, then this is the book for you. * SF&F Reviews *
McDonald has created a totally believable setting and does it with a deft touch....This is one of the best Science Fiction novels to reach the shelves this year. Indulge yourself. * SF Crowsnest *
"Luna: New Moon" is a refreshing and complex science fiction of the best kind - one that is universally clever and thought provoking, and one that stays with you long after you close the final page. * Upcoming 4 Me *
Luna is a remarkable novel! It is enormously clever and spectacularly visual and yet nothing overshadows the strength of its characterisation. A standout novel in a year that has been fantastic for science fiction. * For Winter's Nights *
This is masterful, adult SF and I can't wait to read the sequel. * BSFG *

You may also be interested in...

Mordew
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Blood of Elves
Added to basket
Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Haunting of Hill House
Added to basket
The House in the Cerulean Sea
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Six Crimson Cranes
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
Dune Messiah
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Empire of the Vampire
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Dune
Added to basket
£25.00
Hardback
Dune
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
Dune
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
Sensor
Added to basket
£15.99
Hardback
Kingdom of the Cursed
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Mexican Gothic
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Brilliant Dynastic Sci-Fi”

Luna: New Moon is fantastic new sci-fi! The complex dynastic struggles between the five main families are reminiscent of Herbert's Dune or Martin's Song of Ice and Fire novels, with a grim and compelling... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 69

“Science Fiction at it's best”

This hard SF novel is set on the Moon, a place that is as deadly on the inside as the outside.

The story follows the Corta family, one of the Five Dragons, who control the economics of the Moon. Following a failed... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 67

“Thoroughly worth a read...”

Luna: New Moon is fantastic new sci-fi. Combining gritty realism with a healthy dose of sci-fi noir, it feels unlike anything else I've read in a long time.
Five families control everything on the moon, with an... More

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.