Murder Under Her Skin - Pentecost and Parker (Paperback)
  • Murder Under Her Skin - Pentecost and Parker (Paperback)
zoom

Murder Under Her Skin - Pentecost and Parker (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 368 Pages
Published: 21/07/2022
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket

The perfect murder mystery for fans of Richard Osman and Robert Thorogood.

'Spotswood understands that [...] spending time with unforgettable characters is paramount.' - New York Times

'A loving, intricately plotted tribute to the great days of American noir.' - Daily Mail

New York, 1946: The last time Will Parker let a case get personal, she walked away with a broken face, a bruised ego, and the solemn promise never again to let her heart get in the way of her job. But she called Hart and Halloway's Travelling Circus and Sideshow home for five years, and Ruby Donner, the circus's tattooed ingenue, was her friend. To make matters worse the prime suspect is Valentin Kalishenko, the man who taught Will everything she knows about putting a knife where it needs to go.

To uncover the real killer and keep Kalishenko from a date with the electric chair, Will and Ms. Pentecost join the circus in sleepy Stoppard, Virginia, where the locals like their cocktails mild, the past buried, and big-city detectives not at all. The two swiftly find themselves lost in a funhouse of lies as Will begins to realize that her former circus compatriots aren't playing it straight, and that her murdered friend might have been hiding a lot of secrets beneath all that ink.

Dodging fistfights, firebombs, and flying lead, Will puts a lot more than her heart on the line in the search of the truth. Can she find it before someone stops her ticker for good?

Praise for Stephen Spotswood:

'Razor-sharp, tons of flair. A really good noir novel.' Tana French

'Spotswood's stellar debut puts a modern spin on classic hard-boiled fiction. . . The deep and sensitive characterization of the two protagonists, coupled with rich description and tonally spot-on humour, make this a novel to remember. Spotswood is definitely a writer to watch.' Publishers Weekly

'This novel not only offers fun, offbeat characters and an exceptional flavour of the time, it's utterly charming too.' Woman's Weekly

'This hugely enjoyable debut is a deft melange of Agatha Christie-style locked-room murder mystery and 1940s Chandler-esque pulp crime fiction with a feisty narrator' Irish Independent Review

'Persuasive in its attention to period detail and dialogue, with well-constructed set piece scenes deftly staged, this is a highly accomplished, auspicious first entry in what we must hope will be a long-running series' The Irish Times

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472291691
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 260 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

It's a pleasure to watch [Pentecost and Parker] sifting through red herrings and peeling secrets back like layers of an onion, all while revealing even more of themselves without guilt or shame. Just like his mystery-writing ancestor [Rex Stout], Spotswood understands that the detective story should be sound, but spending time with unforgettable characters is paramount. - New York Times

A loving, intricately plotted tribute to the great days of American noir. - Daily Mail

An excellent plot and brilliant characters - NB Magazine

Spotswood fluently blends vintage mystery and noir with a dash of old Hollywood - his wisecracking, side-of-the-mouth dialogue is first rate. - Irish Times

You may also be interested in...

Traitors Gate
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Shanghai
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Beholders
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Maiden
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Bookseller of Inverness
Added to basket
Voices of the Dead
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Burial Plot
Added to basket
The Square of Sevens
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Puzzle Wood
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
The Housekeepers
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Burial Plot
Added to basket
£18.99   £16.99
Hardback
The Turnglass
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Danger of Defeat
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Lock-Up
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Winter List
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Blue Book Balloon

“Welcome back Lilian and Will!”

It was a joy to return to the 1940s New York of detective duo Willowjean (Will) Parker and Lilian Pentecost following their debut in Fortune Favours the Dead.

In the opening pages of the new story we see Ms Pentecost... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 7
Vivienne O'Regan

“Brilliant 1940s pulp fiction in an atmospheric circus setting”

‘Ruby Donner. The Amazing Tattooed Woman. An impossible landscape of roses and sailor girls, hearts and mermaids and pirate ships, and an emerald-green serpent spiraling up her left leg from toe to thigh and places... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Simply Superb!”

It was immensely enjoyable to travel to 1940s New York and meet detective duo Willowjean (Will) Parker and Lilian Pentecost. Although I have yet to read Fortune Favors the Dead, book one in the series following the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: