Realm of Darkness (Hugh Corbett 23) (Hardback)
  • Realm of Darkness (Hugh Corbett 23) (Hardback)
zoom

Realm of Darkness (Hugh Corbett 23) (Hardback)

(author)
£21.99
Hardback 368 Pages / Published: 07/07/2022
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

Paul Doherty's twenty-third medieval mystery featuring Sir Hugh Corbett is a gripping and gruesome tale of murder and mayhem sure to appeal to fans of C. J. Sansom and Bernard Cornwell.

Spring, 1312. Edward II of England is absorbed with his favourite, Peter Gaveston, while his young wife, Isabella, is about to give birth. Isabella's father, the ruthless Philip of France, dreams of a grandson wearing the Crown of the Confessor and starts to meddle - even if that means murder...
Amaury de Craon, Philip's Master of Secrets, is despatched to carry out his deadly deeds and Edward II summons Sir Hugh Corbett, Keeper of the Secret Seal, to intercept. Both master spies lodge at the Benedictine abbey of St Michael's in the forest of Ashdown. Supposedly a house of prayer, the abbey holds sinister secrets and treasures which include the world's most exquisite diamond, The Glory of Heaven. However, shortly after their arrival, the diamond is stolen and its guardian murdered. Other macabre incidents follow, Satan is seen walking through God's Acre and a nearby tavern is burnt to the ground and no one escapes. Corbett, assisted by his henchmen, prepares to navigate this hazardous maze of murder...

What readers say about Paul Doherty:
'Good plots, clever twists and mostly impossible to work out'
'Paul Doherty's depictions of medieval England are truly outstanding'
'Another brilliant story in the excellent Hugh Corbett series by a superb historical author'

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472284792
Number of pages: 368
Dimensions: 240 x 156 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

His fascination for history comes off the page

* Daily Express *
Deliciously suspenseful, gorgeously written and atmospheric * Historical Novels Review *
Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history . . . evocative and lyrical descriptions * New Statesman *
An opulent banquet to satisfy the most murderous appetite * Northern Echo *
Supremely evocative, scrupulously researched * Publishers Weekly *

You may also be interested in...

The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
If We Were Villains
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Death and Croissants
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Appeal
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Black Drop
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
JUDAS 62
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Line to Kill
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Hour
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Khan
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Not a Happy Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Heron's Cry
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.