The Keepsake: A thrilling dual-time novel of long-buried family secrets (Hardback)
  • The Keepsake: A thrilling dual-time novel of long-buried family secrets (Hardback)
zoom

The Keepsake: A thrilling dual-time novel of long-buried family secrets (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£21.99
Hardback 384 Pages / Published: 11/01/2023
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

A book of treasures. A wealth of secrets.

The Keepsake is a thrilling dual-time novel, with a fascinating, complex woman at its heart, wealth of twists, turns and secrets, and an absolute book club treat, perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Rachel Rhys and Hannah Richell.


'Wow! What a spellbindingly beautiful masterpiece of a book! . . . It is without doubt one of my top reads ever! Brilliantly researched, beautifully written . . . I guarantee you will love it and it will leave you changed' RENITA D'SILVA

'I love historical fiction and this added the extra touch of a mystery . . . I would love to read more from Julie Brooks!' reader review

'[An] interesting and captivating historical mystery and five stars from me' reader review

'I really enjoyed this story. It had an intriguing plot, excellent research . . . and a double love story to boot' reader review

'A totally engrossing dual time line novel that was both well researched and also had great depth with the characters' reader review

'This book was beautifully written . . . A story which kept me hooked, with mysteries to uncover' reader review

'A pure DELIGHT' reader review

..............................................

Saturday: Pot-au-feu for luncheon. Father willed away inheritance. Betrayed by Edward.

1832. The morning after her father's funeral, Prudence Merryfield wakes to the liberating thought that this is the first day of her new life. At thirty-five and unmarried, she is now mistress of her own fate. But a cruel revelation at the reading of her father's will forces Prudence to realise that taking only the most drastic action will set her free.

Present day. Eliza is gifted a family heirloom by her aunt - a Georgian pocket book, belonging to her ancestor, Prudence Merryfield, whose existence reverberates through the lives of generations of Eliza's family, the Ambroses. Intrigued by what she reads inside, Eliza is drawn more and more into the infamous 'Merryfield Mystery'. What happened to Prudence who so bravely dared to defy convention two hundred years ago - then disappeared?
..............................................

Praise for Julie Brooks's The Secrets of Bridgewater Bay:

'A sweeping tale of family secrets, betrayal, jealousy, ambition and forbidden romance . . . Fans of The Thorn Birds and Downton Abbey will love the epic scope of this novel' ALI MERCER

'I thoroughly enjoyed this immersive story which spans both generations and continents. The evocative details and impeccable research make for a delightful reading experience and I can pay it no greater compliment other than to say, I wish I'd written it' KATHRYN HUGHES

'This is an epic dual-time novel which draws the reader in right from the start and keeps you in thrall until the very last page. The writing is superb, the descriptions detailed, lush and evocative' CHRISTINA COURTENAY

'A gripping story full of family secrets: the price of love and loss within two generations . . . convincing and poignant' LEAH FLEMING

'Rich in evocative detail - the complex mystery kept me guessing right up to the last page' MUNA SHEHADI

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472279194
Number of pages: 384
Dimensions: 240 x 156 mm

You may also be interested in...

Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
The Other Queen
Added to basket
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Emperor's Babe
Added to basket
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
Bring Up the Bodies
Added to basket
Wolf Hall
Added to basket
£16.99
CD-Audio
A Place of Greater Safety
Added to basket
The Silver Pigs
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
American Pastoral
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Leopard
Added to basket
Lamentation
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

“An enjoyable historical mystery and it has a dual timeline!”

1832: Prudence Merryfield wakes up the morning after her father’s funeral feeling hopeful, a weight has been lifted from her shoulders and she’s free. After her father’s solicitor reads his will, Prudence is shocked,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.