The Music of Bees (Hardback)
  • The Music of Bees (Hardback)
zoom

The Music of Bees (Hardback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£18.99
Hardback 336 Pages / Published: 27/04/2021
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Set in the gorgeous, sprawling countryside of the Pacific Northwest, Eileen Garvin's THE MUSIC OF BEES is about finding friendship in the most unlikely of places, and the families we choose for ourselves. Heart-warming, inspirational and redemptive, it is perfect for fans of THE LANGUAGE OF FLOWERS and Rachel Joyce.

'It's simultaneously heart-breaking and uplifting, and I loved it' Abi Dare, New York Times bestselling author of The Girl with the Louding Voice

'This heart-warming, uplifting story will make you want to call your own friends, not to mention grab some honey' Good Housekeeping

* A Good Housekeeping Book Club Pick * Named a Most Anticipated Book of 2021 by BookRiot and the New York Post *

After the sudden death of her husband, Alice Holtzman finds herself a social outsider. Reclusive, middle-aged, childless, and with only 850,000 honeybees for company.

On the other side of town, Jake Stevenson and his enormous black mohawk had a bright future in front of them studying music, all until an accident at a high school party leaves him in a wheelchair.

So when Alice nearly crashes her pick-up truck, packed with thousands of restless honeybees, into Jake, the last thing she expects from the near-miss is to find that Jake has a gift: not only is he a natural with bees, but he can hear their buzzing as a form of music. . .

And when Harry, a twenty-four-year-old with debilitating social anxiety, also arrives at the farm looking for work, unexpected friendships begin to blossom.

As these new friends begin to heal one another, all seems right with their world - until the buzzing stops. With a pesticide company threatening the local honeybee population, and everything they have worked for, this trio must unite to defend their bees.

Praise for The Music of Bees. . .

'Genuinely touching'
Publishers Weekly

'A hopeful, heart-warming, uplifting story about the power of chosen family'
Laurie Frankel, New York Times bestselling author of This Is How It Always Is

'A special treat for nature lovers, The Music of Bees is full of warmth and hope and decency'
Rebecca Hardiman, author of Good Eggs

'The Music of Bees is an enchanting book of belonging, overcoming adversity and the journey to find a hive of one's own'
Kira Jane Buxton, author of Hollow Kingdom

'The Music of Bees sings!'
Adriana Trigiani

'A delightful book!'
Netgalley Reviewer, 5 stars

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472277817
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 520 g
Dimensions: 238 x 160 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A hopeful, heart-warming, uplifting story about the power of chosen family . . . but it's the bees, with all their wonder and intricacy and intrigue, that make this story sing * Laurie Frankel, New York Times bestselling author of This Is How It Always Is *
A special treat for nature lovers, The Music of Bees is full of warmth and hope and decency * Rebecca Hardiman, author of Good Eggs *
The Music of Bees is a transportive tale to lighten the heart. Eileen Garvin has woven a hypnotic human story of perseverance and second chances with a glittering love letter to our pollinators. It combines a cast of marvellous characters with an utterly exquisite excursion into the buzzy life of bees. Every page hums with hope, gleaming with a message of our inextricable interconnectedness, both within our own species and to our home of the natural world. The Music of Bees is an enchanting book of belonging, overcoming adversity and the journey to find a hive of one's own. * Kira Jane Buxton *

You may also be interested in...

The Golden Age of Murder
Added to basket
Crime Beat
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The History of the Hobbit
Added to basket
The Man Who Saved Britain
Added to basket
The New Annotated Dracula
Added to basket
Midsomer Murders on Location
Added to basket
The Cream of Tank Girl
Added to basket
Orc Warfare
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Frood
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Patrick O'Brian Muster Book
Added to basket
The Science Of Discworld II
Added to basket
Falco: The Official Companion
Added to basket
From the Desk of Jane Austen
Added to basket
The Secret Garden
Added to basket

“Heartwarming read”

The Music of Bees focuses on three strangers; Alice, a hobbyist beekeeper struggling to cope with grief and anxiety after the death of her husband; Jake, who is still getting to grips with using a wheelchair after... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“Lovely!”

A bit slow to get going but turned out to be a lovely story with memorable characters. I really enjoyed it.
Thanks to NetGalley and the author for the opportunity to read this book.

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“Wonderful read”

Are you looking for your next feel good read? Looking to escape Covid for a little while and disappear inside an book? Look no further than Eileen Garvin's just released debut novel, The Music of Bees.

Alice has... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.