Shadow of Night - All Souls (Paperback)
  • Shadow of Night - All Souls (Paperback)
zoom

Shadow of Night - All Souls (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 656 Pages / Published: 26/11/2020
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

The bewitching sequel to the bestselling A Discovery of Witches blends romance and fantasy into an irresistible literary brew as Diana and Matthew seek sanctuary in Elizabethan London.

Fall deeper under the spell of Diana and Matthew in the captivating second volume of the No.1 internationally bestselling All Souls trilogy, following A Discovery of Witches. Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Diana Gabaldon and J. K. Rowling.

In a world of witches, daemons and vampires the fragile balance of peace is unravelling. Diana and Matthew's forbidden love has broken the laws dividing creatures. To discover the manuscript which holds their hope for the future, they must now travel back to the past.

When Diana Bishop, descended from a line of powerful witches, discovered a significant alchemical manuscript in the Bodleian Library, she sparked a struggle in which she became bound to long-lived vampire Matthew Clairmont. Now the coexistence of witches, daemons, vampires and humans is dangerously threatened.

Seeking safety, Diana and Matthew travel back in time to London, 1590. But they soon realise that the past may not provide a haven. Reclaiming his former identity as poet and spy for Queen Elizabeth, the vampire falls back in with a group of radicals known as the School of Night. Many are unruly daemons, the creative minds of the age, including playwright Christopher Marlowe and mathematician Thomas Harriot.

Together Matthew and Diana scour Tudor London for the elusive manuscript Ashmole 782, and search for the witch who will teach Diana how to control her remarkable powers...

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472276568
Number of pages: 656
Weight: 455 g
Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 48 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'What a rich, thrilling and educational tale it is. . . A captivating and romantic ripping yarn.' - E.L. James, The Guardian

'Deborah Harkness has done us proud with her magnificent, enthralling, engrossing sequel. . . Her weaving of time and ancient lore, of modern science and alchemy, of vampires, daemons and all-too-mortal humans is magical, wonderful and utterly additive. You won't be able to put it down.' - Manda Scott

'A bubbling cauldron of illicit desire. . . all the ingredients for an assured saga that blends romance with fantasy.' -  Daily Mail

'An inventive addition to the supernatural craze. . . has exciting amounts of spells, kisses and battles, and is recounted with enchanting, page-turning panache.' - Marie Claire

You may also be interested in...

Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
One August Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Oh William!
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Great Circle
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Trio
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Bewilderment
Added to basket
£18.99   £16.99
Hardback

“SO GOOD!!! I was blown away!”

If you've read Discovery of Witches - then you HAVE to read Shadow of Night!! It delves into Diana and Matthew's relationship more, and there are some fantastic characters that pop up. Set in London in 1590,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 109

“Excellent set up for book 3”

Sometimes sequels don't live up to the first book, not so with Shadow of Night. It rushes you off to Elizabethan England and keeps throwing new challenges at Matthew and Diana and barely seems to pause for... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 94

“Unforgettable”

At first I was slightly disappointed, missing the modern Oxford/medieval France settings of the first book in this trilogy. And I wondered whether the erotic charge between Diana and Matthew could be sustained now... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 78

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.