Traitor in the Ice: Treachery has gripped the nation. But the King has spies everywhere. - Daniel Pursglove (Paperback)
  • Traitor in the Ice: Treachery has gripped the nation. But the King has spies everywhere. - Daniel Pursglove (Paperback)
zoom

Traitor in the Ice: Treachery has gripped the nation. But the King has spies everywhere. - Daniel Pursglove (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 432 Pages
Published: 29/09/2022
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'Full of tension and danger... powerfully atmospheric' JENNIFER SAINT

'A beautifully crafted thriller... Breathtaking and bone-chilling' MANDA SCOTT

'Maitland is a superlative historical novelist' REBECCA MASCULL

---

Whispers haunt the walls and treachery darkens the shadows in this captivating historical novel for readers of C.J. Sansom, Andrew Taylor's Ashes of London and Kate Mosse.

Winter, 1607. A man is struck down in the grounds of Battle Abbey, Sussex. Before dawn breaks, he is dead.

Home to the Montagues, Battle has caught the paranoid eye of King James. The Catholic household is rumoured to shelter those loyal to the Pope, disguising them as servants within the abbey walls. And the last man sent to expose them was silenced before his report could reach London.

Daniel Pursglove is summoned to infiltrate Battle and find proof of treachery. He soon discovers that nearly everyone at the abbey has something to hide - for deeds far more dangerous than religious dissent. But one lone figure he senses only in the shadows, carefully concealed from the world. Could the notorious traitor Spero Pettingar finally be close at hand?

As more bodies are unearthed, Daniel determines to catch the culprit. But how do you unmask a killer when nobody is who they seem?

DANIEL PURSGLOVE BOOK TWO

---

Praise for THE DROWNED CITY

'Dark and enthralling' ANDREW TAYLOR

'This gripping thriller shows what a wonderful storyteller Maitland is' THE TIMES

'Colourful and compelling' SUNDAY TIMES

'Goes right to the heart of the Jacobean court' TRACY BORMAN

'Devilishly good' DAILY MAIL

'Spies, thieves, murderers and King James I? Brilliant' CONN IGGULDEN

'There are few authors who can bring the past to life so compellingly... Brilliant writing and more importantly, riveting reading' SIMON SCARROW

'The intrigues of Jacobean court politics simmer beneath the surface in this gripping and masterful crime novel' KATHERINE CLEMENTS

'Beautifully written with a dark heart, Maitland knows how to pull you deep into the early Jacobean period' RHIANNON WARD

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472275493
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 302 g
Dimensions: 196 x 130 x 34 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A dark and enthralling historical novel with a powerful narrative. The mysterious Daniel Pursglove has all the qualifications for a memorable series hero - Andrew Taylor

Spies, thieves, murderers and King James I? Brilliant. Wonderful, exciting story - Conn Iggulden

You may also be interested in...

Traitors Gate
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Maiden
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Death Under a Little Sky
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Golden Library
Added to basket
The Winter List
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Betrayal of Thomas True
Added to basket
The Golden Gate
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Puzzle Wood
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Homecoming
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Lock-Up
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Munich Wolf
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Cast a Cold Eye
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Ashes of London
Added to basket
The Square of Sevens
Added to basket

“A good series”

Daniel Pursgrove number 2.
3.5 rounded up.

'Hark, hark! The dogs do bark,
The beggars are coming to town:
Some in rags, some in jags,
And some in velvet gowns' - a rhyme that may well be heard on early 17th... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Perfect blend of history and mystery”

It is not necessary for you to have read the first book featuring Daniel Pursglove for you to be able to understand and enjoy The Traitor in the Ice, it works perfectly well as a standalone novel, although it would... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Entertaining Historical Mystery”

1607 Daniel Pursglove is sent to Battle Abbey to infiltrate the home of the Catholic Montagues to discover traitors to King James.Also to discover what happened to pursuivant Benet and what did he unearth. But it... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: