Traitor in the Ice: Treachery has gripped the nation. But the King has spies everywhere. - Daniel Pursglove (Hardback)
  • Traitor in the Ice: Treachery has gripped the nation. But the King has spies everywhere. - Daniel Pursglove (Hardback)
zoom

Traitor in the Ice: Treachery has gripped the nation. But the King has spies everywhere. - Daniel Pursglove (Hardback)

(author)
£16.99
Hardback 432 Pages
Published: 31/03/2022
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'Full of tension and danger... powerfully atmospheric' JENNIFER SAINT

'A beautifully crafted thriller... Breathtaking and bone-chilling' MANDA SCOTT

'Maitland is a superlative historical novelist' REBECCA MASCULL

---

Whispers haunt the walls and treachery darkens the shadows in this captivating historical novel for readers of C.J. Sansom, Andrew Taylor's Ashes of London and Kate Mosse.

Winter, 1607. A man is struck down in the grounds of Battle Abbey, Sussex. Before dawn breaks, he is dead.

Home to the Montagues, Battle has caught the paranoid eye of King James. The Catholic household is rumoured to shelter those loyal to the Pope, disguising them as servants within the abbey walls. And the last man sent to expose them was silenced before his report could reach London.

Daniel Pursglove is summoned to infiltrate Battle and find proof of treachery. He soon discovers that nearly everyone at the abbey has something to hide - for deeds far more dangerous than religious dissent. But one lone figure he senses only in the shadows, carefully concealed from the world. Could the notorious traitor Spero Pettingar finally be close at hand?

As more bodies are unearthed, Daniel determines to catch the culprit. But how do you unmask a killer when nobody is who they seem?

DANIEL PURSGLOVE BOOK TWO

---

Praise for THE DROWNED CITY

'Dark and enthralling' ANDREW TAYLOR

'This gripping thriller shows what a wonderful storyteller Maitland is' THE TIMES

'Colourful and compelling' SUNDAY TIMES

'Goes right to the heart of the Jacobean court' TRACY BORMAN

'Devilishly good' DAILY MAIL

'Spies, thieves, murderers and King James I? Brilliant' CONN IGGULDEN

'There are few authors who can bring the past to life so compellingly... Brilliant writing and more importantly, riveting reading' SIMON SCARROW

'The intrigues of Jacobean court politics simmer beneath the surface in this gripping and masterful crime novel' KATHERINE CLEMENTS

'Beautifully written with a dark heart, Maitland knows how to pull you deep into the early Jacobean period' RHIANNON WARD

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472275455
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 660 g
Dimensions: 238 x 160 x 42 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A dark and enthralling historical novel with a powerful narrative. The mysterious Daniel Pursglove has all the qualifications for a memorable series hero - Andrew Taylor

Spies, thieves, murderers and King James I? Brilliant. Wonderful, exciting story - Conn Iggulden

You may also be interested in...

Betrayal
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Murder at Holly House
Added to basket
Traitors Gate
Added to basket
£22.00   £17.99
Hardback
Death Under a Little Sky
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Maiden
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Beholders
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Blue Water
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Alchemy
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Homecoming
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Other Side of Mrs Wood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Silver Bone
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The Book of Eve
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Ashes of London
Added to basket
The Lock-Up
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Shadows of London
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket

“Entertaining Historical Mystery”

1607 Daniel Pursglove is sent to Battle Abbey to infiltrate the home of the Catholic Montagues to discover traitors to King James.Also to discover what happened to pursuivant Benet and what did he unearth. But it... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“A series to follow”

Winter 1607. A time of King James, spies everywhere, no one is whom he seems. 2nd story of Daniel Pursglove who has been told to infiltrate the household of The Montagues at Battle who have sympathy with those loyal... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2
Vivienne O'Regan

“An excellent work of historical spy fiction set in Jacobean England”

My thanks to Headline Review for an eARC via NetGalley of ‘Traitor in the Ice’ by K. J. Maitland in exchange for an honest review.

This is Book 2 in Maitland’s series of historical mysteries set in Jacobean England... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: