Fortune Favours the Dead - Pentecost and Parker (Paperback)
  • Fortune Favours the Dead - Pentecost and Parker (Paperback)
zoom

Fortune Favours the Dead - Pentecost and Parker (Paperback)

(author)
£10.99
Paperback 336 Pages
Published: 22/07/2021
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

The 'razor-sharp' first book in the charming, fast-paced Pentecost and Parker mystery series. Book Two, Murder Under Her Skin, coming December 2021!

Meet your new favourite duo, audacious and iconic, and perfect for fans of The Thursday Murder Club by Richard Osman, The Marvellous Mrs. Maisel, Agatha Christie and M. C. Beaton.

It's 1945 and Lillian Pentecost is the most successful private detective in New York City, but she needs help. Enter Willowjean Parker, a circus runaway - and the perfect assistant. Quick-witted and street-smart, she's a jack-of-all-trades with a unique skill-set. She can pick locks blindfolded, wrestle men twice her size, and throw knives with deadly precision - all of which come in handy working for Ms P.

When wealthy young widow Abigail Collins is murdered Pentecost and Parker are hired by the family to track down the culprit. On Halloween night, there was a costume party at the Collins' mansion, where a fortune teller performed a séance which greatly disturbed Abigail. Several hours later her body was discovered bludgeoned to death in her late husband's office. Problem is, the door to the office was locked from the inside. There was no-one else in the room, and the murder weapon was beside the victim; the fortune teller's crystal ball.

It looks like an impossible crime, but Pentecost and Parker know there is no such thing...

A 2020 Radio 2 Book Club pick.

Praise for Fortune Favours the Dead:

'Razor-sharp, tons of flair and a snappy sense of humour' Tana French

'Bullets, blood, bodies, and belly-laughs: all the ingredients of a classic mystery novel. Stephen Spotswood hard-boils with the best of 'em!' Alan Bradley, bestselling author of the Flavia de Luce Mystery Series

'Fortune Favours the Dead takes gritty 40s noir, shakes it up, gives it a charming twist, and serves it up with unforgettable style. My new favourite sleuthing duo.' Deanna Raybourn, author of the Veronica Speedwell Mysteries

'Spotswood's stellar debut puts a modern spin on classic hard-boiled fiction. . . a novel to remember.' Publishers Weekly

'This novel not only offers fun, offbeat characters and an exceptional flavour of the time, it's utterly charming too.'Woman's Weekly

'This hugely enjoyable debut is a deft melange of Agatha Christie-style locked-room murder mystery and 1940s Chandler-esque pulp crime fiction with a feisty narrator' Irish Independent Review

'A highly accomplished, auspicious first entry in what we must hope will be a long-running series' The Irish Times

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472274816
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 234 g
Dimensions: 194 x 126 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

This hugely enjoyable debut is a deft melange of Agatha Christie-style locked-room murder mystery and 1940s Chandler-esque pulp crime fiction with a feisty narrator . . . - Irish Independent Review

Persuasive in its attention to period detail and dialogue, with well-constructed set piece scenes deftly staged, this is a highly accomplished, auspicious first entry in what we must hope will be a long-running series - The Irish Times

A sprightly period debut. . . [A] provocative gender-flipping of Nero Wolfe and Archie Goodwin - Kirkus Reviews

Spotswood's stellar debut puts a modern spin on classic hard-boiled fiction. . . The deep and sensitive characterization of the two protagonists, coupled with rich description and tonally spot-on humour, make this a novel to remember. Spotswood is definitely a writer to watch. - Publishers Weekly

Will keep readers engaged from start to finish. . . [Pentecost is] reminiscent of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple - Library Journal

Witty prose. . . Humorous and fun [with] all the hallmarks of an Agatha Christie mystery, and there's a delightful dose of noir thrown in for the more hardcore pulp fiction crowd, too. . . As mysterious and fun a caper as you will ever read, with plenty of misdirection and intrigue to keep you guessing. You don't need a clairvoyant to realize this duo will be around for years to come. - Bookpage

If you've been dying for a fresh take on the sleuth genre, this book delivers that and more. A mix of classic noir aesthetics and tropes with an inclusive twist, Fortune Favours the Dead is the kind of mystery series that will capture your imagination in new and fun ways, and have you desperate to get your hands on more. - Get Literary

A relentlessly entertaining romp through 1940's New York City, and through the annals of mystery fiction, as well, with many sly nods to authors of the past and some invigorating reinventions of classic tropes and gambits. . . Spotswood's style is swift and witty, and the mystery at the novel's heart is a clever knot. - Crime Reads

Sparkles [with] wit and personality . . . Delightful. . . This mystery plot has all the twists and surprises a fan of the genre could ask for, but it is Will's distinctive, captivating voice and background [that] is Spotswood's real triumph. . . Gutsy Will, with her snappy, slangy narrative style, ultimately wins readers' hearts and carries the day. This classic noir-style mystery recast with humour, female leads and superb style is both satisfying and great fun. - Shelf Awareness

One of the most rewarding and entertaining books I've read in years, one that fully lives up to the promise of its synopsis. Every page--nay, every paragraph--is rich and compelling. . . When it comes to male authors penning feminist issues that ring true and female characters who are fully realized and complex characters, Spotswood joins Terry Pratchett at the very top of the list . . . This is an adventure you'll want to rave about to strangers on the streets. Personally, I'm already impatient for these ladies' next case. - Criminal Element

Another crime series? Where to go these days with the genre it seems? Well, in this instance to 1940s New York and a wonderful new dynamically different duo. This is the first in the Pentecost & Parker series and is a thoroughly entertaining murder mystery. - Philipa Coughlan, NB Magazine

'Fortune Favours the Dead is ultimately a murder mystery but there is so much more between the pages. Stephen Spotswood brilliantly captures this fascinating era giving it a more feminist twist with two intriguing and exciting protagonists who have no fear in a world that is very much a male-dominated one. In creating a detective/crime novel with such a wonderful feisty duo, Stephen Spotswood takes the reader on a rollicking adventure recreating the classic murder mystery. - Swirl and Thread Blog

This novel not only offers fun, offbeat characters and an exceptional flavour of the time, it's utterly charming too. - Woman's Weekly

This really is a cracking book that leads you on a merry dance, and delights you when the pieces finally fall into place - with more than a few nicely contrived surprises. - Brown Flopsy's Book Burrow Blog

You may also be interested in...

The Secret Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
The Last Devil to Die
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
The World of Hercule Poirot
Added to basket
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Trial
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Raging Storm
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Death in the Parish
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Bullet That Missed
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
In The Blink of An Eye
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Killing Moon
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Dan - Clifton, Bristol.

“Fabulous in every way!”

Lillian and Willowjean are the best private detectives in the city, but their latest case seems like an impossible crime...
Abigail Collins was found with a rather large crystal ball sized dent in her head during a... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

“Fascinating read”

post-WW2, private-investigators, murder-investigation, NYC, historical-fiction, historical-research, women-sleuths

WillowJean Parker has a lot of things in common with Archie Goodwin: swift critical thinking and a... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8
Blue Book Balloon

“Great start to a new series”

I'm grateful to Wildfire Books for an advance copy of Fortune Favours the Dead to consider for review.

If you're looking for your next detective series, and you want it to be smart, set in 1940s New York,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: