Down By The Water (Paperback)
  • Down By The Water (Paperback)
zoom

Down By The Water (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 416 Pages
Published: 26/05/2022
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket

One photo. Seven friends. And a strange face, none of them recognise.

"I loved it - a classy and clever subversion of a country house mystery" Harriet Tyce

** A Sunday Times crime book of the month**

'The end, when it comes, is as unexpected and smart as it gets' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ READER REVIEW
'I was kept up all night' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ READER REVIEW
'I loved this book, and read the whole thing in two sittings' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ READER REVIEW

A group of old friends gather at a remote Scottish castle, one last weekend before Georgie's wedding. Down at the loch, they take a group photo - but what they see stops them cold.

Because there's a stranger behind them.

None of them saw him, and nobody knows where he went. They're miles from the nearest town. Where did he come from, and where did he go?

As the weekend unravels and terrible secrets come to light, it soon becomes clear that their perfect weekend is turning into a perfect nightmare. They're desperate to leave - but someone won't let them.


A page-turning thriller perfect for fans of Catherine Cooper's THE CHALET and Lucy Foley's THE HUNTING PARTY.

Praise for Down By The Water:

"Down By The Water takes the reader on a weekend trip from hell... I loved the classy writing and ever-growing sense of unease in this clever subversion of a classic country house mystery" - Harriet Tyce
"A chilling drama" Sunday Times
"Sinister and atmospheric" - Chris Brookmyre
"Tense, mesmerising and heartbreaking, I was truly gripped" - Susi Holliday
"A gripping mystery." - Nathan Ripley

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472272614
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 288 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A chilling drama - Sunday Times

All is not as it seems in this classy, clever mystery - Harriet Tyce

Sinister and atmospheric, peeling back the superficial veneers of friendship to reveal the darker truths that lurk beneath. - Chris Brookmyre

Tense, mesmerising and heartbreaking, I was truly gripped - Susi Holliday

A psychological thriller with both depth and drive, Down By The Water is a gripping mystery. - Nathan Ripley

Down by the Water is a dark and twisty tale of female friendship that commands your attention from start to finish. Elle Connel is a novelist at the top of her game. - Claire L. Heuchan

Elle Connel picks away the veneer of old friendships in this sinister and compelling tale of sorrow, secrets, and betrayal. - E. S. Thomson

You may also be interested in...

I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Housemaid Is Watching
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Yellowface
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Wrong Sister
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The List
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Stop Them Dead
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
The Year of the Locust
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Traitors Gate
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Yellowface
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Trial
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Secret Hours
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
In Too Deep
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
booklover

“Suspenseful Twists and Turns”

This is the last girls' weekend before Georgina's wedding. Seven friends, in total will be participating in the wedding. They're staying in a castle near the woods and a loch. After imbibing quite a... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Very Good”

Down By the Water is a psychological thriller by Elle Connel set in a remote castle in the Scottish Borders. Seven friends are at a hen party weekend staying near a picturesque sea-loch. The seven women think they all... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Hen party without a conscience”

Having got to know the many vastly different characters meeting miles from home for a hen party, I realised they didn’t really all like or enjoy each other’s company. They had a great bond from being at University... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: