Down By The Water (Paperback)
  • Down By The Water (Paperback)
zoom

Down By The Water (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 416 Pages / Published: 26/05/2022
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

One photo. Seven friends. And a strange face, none of them recognise.

"I loved it - a classy and clever subversion of a country house mystery" Harriet Tyce

** A Sunday Times crime book of the month**

A group of old friends gather at a remote Scottish castle, one last weekend before Georgie's wedding. Down at the loch, they take a group photo - but what they see stops them cold.

Because there's a stranger behind them.

None of them saw him, and nobody knows where he went. They're miles from the nearest town. Where did he come from, and where did he go?

As the weekend unravels and terrible secrets come to light, it soon becomes clear that their perfect weekend is turning into a perfect nightmare. They're desperate to leave - but someone won't let them.


A page-turning thriller perfect for fans of Catherine Cooper's THE CHALET and Lucy Foley's THE HUNTING PARTY.

Praise for Down By The Water:

"Down By The Water takes the reader on a weekend trip from hell... I loved the classy writing and ever-growing sense of unease in this clever subversion of a classic country house mystery" - Harriet Tyce
"A chilling drama" Sunday Times
"Sinister and atmospheric" - Chris Brookmyre
"Tense, mesmerising and heartbreaking, I was truly gripped" - Susi Holliday
"A gripping mystery." - Nathan Ripley

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472272614
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 288 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A chilling drama * Sunday Times *
All is not as it seems in this classy, clever mystery -- Harriet Tyce
Sinister and atmospheric, peeling back the superficial veneers of friendship to reveal the darker truths that lurk beneath. -- Chris Brookmyre
Tense, mesmerising and heartbreaking, I was truly gripped -- Susi Holliday
A psychological thriller with both depth and drive, Down By The Water is a gripping mystery. * Nathan Ripley *
Down by the Water is a dark and twisty tale of female friendship that commands your attention from start to finish. Elle Connel is a novelist at the top of her game. * Claire L. Heuchan *
Elle Connel picks away the veneer of old friendships in this sinister and compelling tale of sorrow, secrets, and betrayal. * E. S. Thomson *

You may also be interested in...

1979
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Appeal
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Verity
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Night She Disappeared
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Line to Kill
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Not a Happy Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Sixteen Horses
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Passenger & Stella Maris: Boxed Set
Added to basket
The Maidens
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Over My Dead Body
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Heron's Cry
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
JUDAS 62
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Slow Horses
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
booklover

“Suspenseful Twists and Turns”

This is the last girls' weekend before Georgina's wedding. Seven friends, in total will be participating in the wedding. They're staying in a castle near the woods and a loch. After imbibing quite a... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Very Good”

Down By the Water is a psychological thriller by Elle Connel set in a remote castle in the Scottish Borders. Seven friends are at a hen party weekend staying near a picturesque sea-loch. The seven women think they all... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“What could go wrong at a hen party?”

Seven young women (Tessa, Rachel, Georgie, Bea, Melissa, Alice and Rachel) are on the overnight sleeper train to Scotland for a hen party for Georgies up coming wedding and although she hadn't seen the rest of... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.