Down By The Water (Hardback)
  • Down By The Water (Hardback)
zoom

Down By The Water (Hardback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£18.99
Hardback 416 Pages / Published: 08/07/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

They wanted to get away. But now they can't get out.

A page-turning thriller perfect for fans of Ruth Ware's IN A DARK, DARK WOOD and Lucy Foley's THE HUNTING PARTY.

"Down By The Water takes the reader on a weekend trip from hell... I loved the classy writing and ever-growing sense of unease in this clever subversion of a classic country house mystery" - Harriet Tyce

"Sinister and atmospheric" - Chris Brookmyre


"Tense, mesmerising and heartbreaking, I was truly gripped" - Susi Holliday


"A psychological thriller with both depth and drive, Down By The Water is a gripping mystery." - Nathan Ripley

Seven friends gather at a castle in the Scottish Borders. One last weekend before Georgie's wedding. Near the castle, through a path in the woods, is a loch. After a few drinks, they head down to the water to take photos. The loch is wild, lonely, and stunningly beautiful. They set their camera to self-timer and take some group shots. Later, looking back at the pictures, they see something impossible.

Behind them, eyes wide, a small, drenched boy emerges from the water.

But none of them saw him, and nobody knows where he went. They're miles from the nearest town. How did he get there? Where did he go?

As the weekend unravels and terrible secrets come to light, it soon becomes clear that their perfect weekend is turning into a perfect nightmare. They're desperate to leave - but someone won't let them.

"A chilling drama" Sunday Times

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472272577
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 640 g
Dimensions: 242 x 164 x 42 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A chilling drama * Sunday Times *
All is not as it seems in this classy, clever mystery -- Harriet Tyce
Sinister and atmospheric, peeling back the superficial veneers of friendship to reveal the darker truths that lurk beneath. -- Chris Brookmyre
Tense, mesmerising and heartbreaking, I was truly gripped -- Susi Holliday
A psychological thriller with both depth and drive, Down By The Water is a gripping mystery. * Nathan Ripley *
Down by the Water is a dark and twisty tale of female friendship that commands your attention from start to finish. Elle Connel is a novelist at the top of her game. * Claire L. Heuchan *
Elle Connel picks away the veneer of old friendships in this sinister and compelling tale of sorrow, secrets, and betrayal. * E. S. Thomson *

You may also be interested in...

American Dirt
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Judas Horse
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Therapist
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Leave the World Behind
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Daylight
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Castaways
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Time for Mercy
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
People of Abandoned Character
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Law of Innocence
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
BOX 88
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Missing Pieces
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Marlow Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Very Good”

Down By the Water is a psychological thriller by Elle Connel set in a remote castle in the Scottish Borders. Seven friends are at a hen party weekend staying near a picturesque sea-loch. The seven women think they all... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0
booklover

“Suspenseful Twists and Turns”

This is the last girls' weekend before Georgina's wedding. Seven friends, in total will be participating in the wedding. They're staying in a castle near the woods and a loch. After imbibing quite a... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“What could go wrong at a hen party?”

Seven young women (Tessa, Rachel, Georgie, Bea, Melissa, Alice and Rachel) are on the overnight sleeper train to Scotland for a hen party for Georgies up coming wedding and although she hadn't seen the rest of... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.