Echoes of the Runes - Runes (Paperback)
  • Echoes of the Runes - Runes (Paperback)
zoom

Echoes of the Runes - Runes (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£10.99
Paperback 368 Pages
Published: 05/03/2020
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket

'Fabulous. Highly recommended for fans of Barbara Erskine and Susanna Kearsley - and if you want a thumping good read' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ reader review

'Wow! This book should come with warning! It's almost as addictive as chocolate!' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ reader review

Winner of the 2021 RNA Romantic Fantasy Novel Award.

Brimming with romance, adventure and vivid historical detail, Christina Courtenay does for the Vikings what Diana Gabaldon's Outlander and Clanlans does for Scottish history.
...........................................................................

Their love was forbidden. But echoed in eternity.

When Mia inherits her beloved grandmother's summer cottage, Birch Thorpe, in Sweden, she faces a dilemma. Her fiance Charles urges her to sell and buy a swanky London home, but Mia cannot let it go easily. The request to carry out an archaeological dig for more Viking artefacts like the gold ring Mia's grandmother also left her, offers her a reprieve from a decision - and from Charles.

Whilst Mia becomes absorbed in the dig's discoveries, she finds herself drawn to archaeologist Haakon Berger. Like her, he can sense the past inhabitants whose lives are becoming more vivid every day. Trying to resist the growing attraction between them, Mia and Haakon begin to piece together the story of a Welsh noblewoman, Ceri, and the mysterious Viking, known as the 'White Hawk', who stole her away from her people in 869 AD.

As the present begins to echo the past, and enemies threaten Birch Thorpe's inhabitants, they will all have to fight to protect what has become most precious to each of them...
...........................................................................

Just some of the rich praise for Christina Courtenay:

'Completely magical' NICOLA CORNICK

'A rich, dual-timeline story that totally drew me in' SUE MOORCROFT

'A fabulous adventure, with characters I loved!' JO THOMAS

'Courtenay's writing brings the past vividly to life, using dual-period narrative to brilliant effect' Historical Novels Review

'I was compelled to read on as I was caught up in the adventure, intrigue and romance of the dual timelines' SUE FORTIN

'Sparklingly authentic - and page-turning' MAGGIE SULLIVAN

'Rich in Viking history...intrigue, adventure and romance' GLYNIS PETERS

'Christina Courtenay weaves the threads of her contemporary and Viking love stories together expertly and the novel moves along at a cracking pace. The characters are appealing and the rural Swedish setting is engaging' JUDITH LENNOX

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472268266
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 258 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 34 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Last Devil To Die
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Once Upon A Broken Heart
Added to basket
Brotherless Night
Added to basket
The Running Grave
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow
Added to basket
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
You Are Here
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Talking at Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Happy Place
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Long Island
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Guest
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Housemaid
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
Added to basket
Someone Else’s Shoes
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Tom Lake
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“I strongly recommend it”

A engrossing and entertaining novel that made me dream and root for the characters.
I loved every moment of it and was sad when it ended.
I rooted for the well thought characters and liked the well crafted plot.
I... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 14

“A great storya”

A time slip story, between the 9th century and the 21st century Sweden. Mia and Haakon, are archeologists. When Mia's grandmother died she leaves mia her cottage in Sweden which has been in their family for... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 13
Bookread2day

“A must read”

When Mia is left her grandmothers cottage Birch Thorpe in Sweden Haakan Berger wants to do an archeological dig there as a suitable Viking settlement. As Mia has inherited her grandmothers cottage she agrees to an... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: