While Paris Slept: A mother in wartime Paris. A heartwrenching choice. A remarkable story. (Hardback)
  • While Paris Slept: A mother in wartime Paris. A heartwrenching choice. A remarkable story. (Hardback)
zoom

While Paris Slept: A mother in wartime Paris. A heartwrenching choice. A remarkable story. (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 512 Pages / Published: 04/03/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

On a platform in occupied Paris, a mother whispers goodbye.
It is the end. But also the beginning...

'What a book... Emotional and heartrending...absolutely phenomenal. I was on tenterhooks throughout. A wonderful achievement' Jill Mansell

*** THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER ***

Beautiful. Powerful. Unforgettable. A stunning portrait of the brutality of war and the tenacity of love. In the tradition of Virginia Baily's Early One Morning and M. L. Stedman's The Light Between Oceans.

Paris 1944
A young woman's future is torn away in a heartbeat. Herded on to a train bound for Auschwitz, in an act of desperation she entrusts her most precious possession to a stranger. All she has left now is hope.

Santa Cruz 1953
Jean-Luc thought he had left it all behind. The scar on his face a small price to pay for surviving the horrors of Nazi Occupation. Now, he has a new life in California, a family. He never expected the past to come knocking on his door.

On a darkened platform, two destinies become entangled. Their choice will change the future in ways neither could have imagined...

'Historical fiction fans, rejoice! A new voice has entered the arena and she's one to watch. A heartrending story told from the perspectives of two families living very different lives, it is also one of hope amid tragedy. Perfectly paced and plotted, and evocatively written' Woman & Home

'You'll have your heart in your mouth and tears on your cheeks as it reaches its rich, life-affirming conclusion. Both epic and intimate, this unexpected story had me completely and utterly enraptured' Louise Candlish

'Brace yourself for a brilliant read. This will tug at your heartstrings' Best

'While Paris Slept made me think and cry and rage and smile at mankind's capacity for both beautiful, selfless love and terrible, heartbreaking cruelty. Prepare to be thoroughly engrossed in this compelling book' Natasha Lester

'What a book, I absolutely loved it. An ingenious plot, wonderful believable characters and it moved me to tears. A fabulous read' Lesley Pearse

'A heartbreaking debut. The novel delves into eternal questions: How far will we go to protect our child? Is love holding tightly or letting go?' Janet Skeslien Charles, author of The Paris Library

'A powerful and poignant debut from a brilliant and bold new novelist.' Imogen Kealey, author of Liberation

JUST SOME OF THE FIVE-STAR REAL READER REVIEWS FOR WHILE PARIS SLEPT...

'I loved this novel, I'm still crying. A truly beautiful book that captures the meaning of parental love in all its forms. I highly recommend this book to all my book groups. *****'

'A heartbreaking and emotional read based around WW2. Absolutely fantastic. I have no hesitation in giving this 5 stars *****'

'This book was beautiful - a book on love and courage demonstrated in different ways, showing that there is no one way to love or be brave. I was unable to stop reading *****'

'I loved While Paris Slept. I finished the novel with tears in my eyes. An uplifting novel and will be great for book clubs' *****'

'Wow, what an emotional rollercoaster of a read. The characters so believable. Highly recommend'

'For fans of Sophie's Choice and Sarah's Key, While Paris Slept is an atmospheric debut about the cost of war and the consequences of love. Impressive *****'

'I really liked this book. It felt a lot like The Alice Network. Very well done. Highly recommend'

'An excellent and thrilling novel *****'

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472267962
Number of pages: 512
Weight: 760 g
Dimensions: 238 x 160 x 46 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Name of the Rose
Added to basket
HMS Surprise
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Troubles
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
Lady Of The English
Added to basket
Azincourt
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Tipping The Velvet
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Leopard
Added to basket
The Empty Throne
Added to basket
The Emperor's Babe
Added to basket
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
Bring Up the Bodies
Added to basket
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Siege Of Krishnapur
Added to basket
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Remarkable Creatures
Added to basket

“Paris during the Nazi occupation and its repercussions...”

While Paris Slept by Ruth Druart, narrated by Luke Thompson, Frazer Hadfield, Heather Long and Jane Collingwood

Ruth Druart's novel is deeply moving. It starts in Paris during WWII when Jean-Luc, a worker on... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

“A Wonderful Book”

This is a wonderful book,set in two timelines Paris 1944 and California 1953. The story is about two French Families who briefly connect during the war and the repercussions of their actions many years later .There is... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

“The strongest parts of the book are the ones that I disagree with the most.”

Seems my review is at odds with most of the others because I found the book to be good in parts but not enough parts. Starting at the end of the book, no Epilogue would have been better, leaving the reader to come to... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.